Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Sydney, Australia

Close to city, a little more shabby than chic.

Posted Dec 22, 2013
The hotel itself was quite run down, and showers difficult to navigate. Clean bedding, but only one VERY FLAT pillow available each. First night we had no heat in our room, as it was broken. I informed the girl on reception, who said that yes it was broken, oh well. Given winter temperatures, this was not a great response. She eventually, after some prompting, begrudgingly moved us to another room. She was quite rude, giggling at our attempts at French, and rolling her eyes when we spoke to her at any point. The weekday manager, however, was SO lovely and helpful. We broke a bottle of wine in the room, told him and offered to clean it, and his main concern was whether we had injured ourselves, not the state of the room. He was lovely, professional, friendly and helpful at all points. Good location, easy to walk to attractions and shopping, but not much around to eat at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ilya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by francescq from singapore

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel location and cleanliness good. However it is extremely noisy at night till wee hours of the morning. Did not have a single good night's sleep. (Even with windows closed) note that there is no air conditioning so it will get very stuffy in summer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san Francisco, California

Good location. Walking distance to city center.

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Beddings.
Location: City center and shopping area. Also near museums.
The night staff could not understand any word of English. We tried our little knowledge of French but did not do it. Breakfast was good. The room was so small. The bed cover was dirty. The shower was 2x2ft. Luckily we are small to fit in it. If you stay in this hotel bring a room spray.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ted

Good location for seeing Lyon

Posted Jan 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is quite close to Perrache station, and not too far a walk from many of Lyon's interesting sites. Surrounding vicinity has places to eat and buy stuff, more restaurants around if you go a little further away. Room is very small, but clean, I slept well. Bathroom worked fine. Elevator quite small. Check in, check out were a breeze. Free internet, though constantly had to keep logging back in. TV had a few channels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveller from Australia

As expected

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Budget accommodation, but near the train station, and not too far from main sites, but it is very much on the fringe of those main sites. Pleasant and cheap enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agressive with international customers

Posted May 8, 2012
Based on all previous experiences of booking hotels online, the payment of the stay was directly charged on my credit card. This time, for some unclear reason, and not so explicit in the booking confirmation, I had to pay directly to the hotel. When I was about to leave the hotel, the front desk person asked me to pay for the stay. I tried to clarify the situation, saying I would not pay twice and needed to check online the booking information. The person became rude. As he did not speak english (my french is not good either), I think this was a factor. He even called the police saying I was refusing to pay, when actually I just wanted to clarify whether that was mistake or I was being double charged. I finally figured via online fine print information that I had to pay directly to the hotel. I did so. However, it's unacceptable that a hotel that expect to receive travellers from all over the world does not have someone with the minimum knowledge of a different language other than french. More importantly, you do not treat to call the police to solve a miscommunication issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Hotel des Savoies in Lyon

Posted Nov 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is close to the Metro, tram and Gare de Perrache which was ideal for a single, older woman managing her suitcase. My first room was a large family room in the front and was quiet at night, but when I returned my small room at the back was not as good, largely because it was noisy outside. The desk staff were very helpful, and I enjoyed my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joan from College Park, MD

Near train station

Posted May 16, 2009
This was a simple hotel near the Perrache train station. (Note that the train to Paris only goes twice a day from there.) Room was small, but clean. The breakfast was a good value. The TV had no English language channels.