Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Tee from Singapore

Hotel with great location

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location! The staffs are friendly. I've booked a double bed room and its very small and cramp, especially the toilet. Ok for a night stay or two, and one should manage the expectation for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Drjimmy from LONDON

C'est normale

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location for visiting the old town and the staff were all very pleasant but the room was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in and consequently was very warm.Unfortunately if you open the windows you got all the noise of the Lyon youth until the early hours (I definitely would avoid a saturday night stay the other nights were bearable).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Inexpensive, close to coast

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good price for the location. About a 10 minute walk from the water. Very basic accommodation. Impressively small. Not especially clean. Still a good value. The staff was extremely nice and eager to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LadyDenman from Paris

Fabulous value

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a great stay at Hôtel du Dauphin. It was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were small but adequate water pressure great. Breakfast, whether is was room service or in the breakfast alcove was plentiful and fresh. The location on Place Bellecour couldn't have made it more central to all sightseeing and transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RichPond from Massachusetts, USA

Pleasant, economical, great location.

Posted Oct 27, 2012
Pros: Clean, modern, good bed, good WiFI, perfect location, good staff.
Cons: Space was tight. No AC.
Location: Excellent.
Hotel Dauphin is in a perfect location, in the center of Lyon's tourist/shopping areas. We two could easily walk to all the places we wanted to visit, and didn't need a car for the week that we stayed. Our "deluxe" room was clean and modern, but quite small. There was about a meter of space around the comfortable bed on all sides, plus a small space at the entrance. There was one modest-size closet, and overall we had only limited space for our luggage and clothing. Some luggage and belongings had to be squeezed under the bed. There were few electric outlets, inconveniently located. WiFi was free and worked quite well. There was no air conditioning, which didn't bother us in October but could be a problem in summer. The large window opened fully, which did let air through well but also let in noise. The street level entry to the building is old and tired, but once you go up one stair (or take the elevator) and go in to the hotel proper everything is quite modern and pleasant. The staff was helpful and courteous. We'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nick

Value for money

Posted Jul 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Knowing Lyon, I didn't want to be south of Bellecour, certainly not at Perrache end. Whilst Dauphin is 'just' south of Bellecour, it's ideally located, 2 mins walk from the metro, 10mins walk from the old town. The hotel is very basic but nothing to complain about. The room was truly tiny, shower in one cupboard, toilet & sink in another, but perfectly functional. Spotlessly clean. Bed was comfy, street noise was nothing above normal, rooms are so tightly packed in that you can hear everyone coming in but hey, it's a minor point. The lady on reception was charming, the evening guy typically blunt French, but once the guard was down he was friendly. Stay here again? For sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant City Centre Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pleasant City Centre Hotel in a very good position in the centre of Lyon. Only criticism would be smallness of the room, and toilet and shower room but as we were out sightseeing most of the time this did not bother us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha,NE

Too small

Posted May 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel have a great location in the middle of downtown Lyon, 10 minutes walk to the train station and one minute walk to metro! But the rooms are tiny!! and the bed is too uncomfortable! and yeah there is no ac! gotta open the windows all night and hear the french drunk yelling all night!! good budget and location but uncomfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Barnby Moor, UK

Hotel Du Dauphin close to Place Bellecour

Posted Apr 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel location was ideal, just off Place Bellecour, near to old Lyon and its excellent restaurants and within easy reach of the excellent public transport system and sights. The hotel staff were all very friendly, the room was compact but very clean, warm and the bathroom whilst small was fit for its purpose. the hotel is situated on a pedestrianised shopping street just offf Place Bellcour so quiet at night but near to all amenities. Can recommend moules and crepes in L'Eau Salee, 4 rue des trois maries, vieux lyon and excellent pasts at La Route des Pates, 49 Rue Merciere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

A bit small, but great location for a good price

Posted Feb 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for a weekend in Lyon. The price was right, and the location was excellent. I was only about 150 m from Place Bellecour! the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. the free wi-fi was a little slow, but it worked. my only complaint, the size of the bathroom. it is small, with a SMALL shower stall. While the price is great (especially during off season), I would have liked a slightly larger bathroom. If you are staying in Lyon for the weekend, you cannot beat the price and location. however, for a slightly longer stay, I would opt for a bit bigger room and bathroom. Overall, a good, clean hotel in a great location!