Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Close to Place Bellecour

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Breakfast is good value and rooms are reasonably clean.
Cons: Very outdated decor, needs an update urgently. Shower over bath but no screen or curtain so bathroom floor gets soaked.
Location: Place Bellecour is a 15 minute walk and close to tram stop for Lyons Part Deau but very noisy area at night.
Hotel is situated in not a nice area. Lots of kebab, pizza, curry places crowd it in. Student area and is noisy at night. Taxi rank on opposite corner with car radios playing all night. Not a place for more discerning travellers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynne from Australia

Comfy Beds

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were a little concerned when we had to climb stairs at the end of our elevator ride and walk through a maze like hallway, but the room was clean enough, the shower was good, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful and we had a decent breakfast. The neighbourhood was a little "seedy" and we didn't feel comfortable on the streets at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara from USA

Location is everything

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a OK stay at Hotel du Helder. It was easy to get to from the train station and was very easy to walk to all the sights of Old Lyon and the Roman ruins. But the wifi would not work in the room, only in the lobby. But all in all, for the price and location, it was quite adequate for our needs for the 2 days we were in Lyon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by shamim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

bad neighbourhood

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel itself is good, but in a bad neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by on vacation from California

Hotel near train station

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Loved the city hotel near train station very convinient.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Will not return

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lengthy walk from station though this could have been avoided by using the tram service which stops close to the hotel. Entrance is very deceptive in giving the impression of a modern hotel. The room did not live up to this. Whilst bedding and bathroom were clean, general feeling of the room was of grubbiness. Furniture in need of update. Fitments were akwardly placed as hit head twice on TV stand and elbows on bedside ledges. Major issue was no hot water in bathroom. Explanation given is that there were some issues in the piping and we should just let it run for 5, 10 or even 15 minutes to obtain hot water. 10 minutes for luke warm water was not good enough. Night staff very unhelpful and totally disinterested in our problem. Day staff were not much better. Lidl store close by was very handy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Experiencing Europe from New Zealand

Not good, although cheap rates, we felt cheap

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very disappointing and would not stay again , although cheaper than most it was priced well above its value, it was more of a back packers stay at a hotel cost. Glad we only stayed one night.