Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
The hotel is well located in the heart of Lyon but I was disappointed by the overall experience. My room was noisy with no proper curtains, breakfast with a very limited choice and receptionist vanished when I wanted to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from US

Good location, fantastic room, breakfast mediocre

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful room in a great location. Breakfast was disappointing, especially when they ran out of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great location in the old town of Lyon

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a great location in the old town of Lyon, right in the heart of the bustling cobbled and pedestrian streets. We stayed in a large junior suite room on the 4th floor (only room on the floor) which was huge and overlooked the inner courtyard and away from the bustling streets which was nice. Reception staff were very friendly and helping. Only downfall of the location is access by car which means getting a code from the hotel to enter into a bollard gate and then the hotel's private parking is somewhat awkard as you get into a car lift to go underground....The hotel is definitely not aiming to be a 5* hotel over time but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there for 1 night if you are stopping over in Lyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephanie from Canada

Unique and charming hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fabulous. Large, quiet room. Knowledgeable and helpful staff with excellent recommendations. Lovely, old, facilities with beamed ceilings, silk wallpaper walls and 'balcony' overlooking street below. Only suggestion would be to include a map and explain that the street should be entered on foot. We spent 2 hours circling the block trying to get in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was the best and worst

Posted Apr 29, 2013
The room itself was charming. A large living/dining room and big bedroom with windows on 2 sides. Unfortunately we had to go up four flights of stone stairs, outside in the rain, to get to it. There was also a lot of scaffolding and stored chairs, tables in the view. The living room was heated but we couldn't get the head in the bedroom to work. Very unusual. The room was beautifully furnished, with beautiful fabric on the walls and lovely modern leather furniture. The steps were difficult and confusing. We wished we had dropped bread crumbs to find our way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim

Interesting small hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very unique. Every room has a different decorative theme. The location is awesome. Very close to restaurants and many tourist area. I read about the on-going construction from other reviews in 2012., which is still on on-going during our stay in 2013. Beside the construction, I have good impression about this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is great. Room was very dated though bathroom was very upscale. Hotel was undergoing major renovations and I believe we were the only guests. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Terry from Toronto, Canada

La Vie en Tour Rose

Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
La Tour Rose was a real find in the heart of Old Lyon. They were doing some renovation work which meant we got a great deal. The rooms are unique and the staff were very helpful. A great find.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

La Tour Rose - great location, but...

Posted Dec 2, 2010 on Hotels.com
I'd seen La Tour Rose on previous trips and liked what I saw, so I booked a room through hotels.com. It's located in the oldest part of Lyon, a great neighborhood with narrow, cobbled streets and great shops and restaurants. But make sure you know what you're booking: our room was not in the old hotel proper, but a residence apartment in the building next door. It didn't feel at all like we were staying at La Tour Rose. Great view of the Nueve Place St Jean from our windows, but otherwise a rather cheerless, sterile place with a saggy bed. Very clean, but not the romantic old world hotel experience we were expecting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Libby from Australia

Excellent hotel-apartment

Posted Sep 18, 2010
Terrific little self contained apartment with views into a charming square in the old town. Wifi was a bit uncertain - but this may have been because of the medieval connections!