Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Great location
Location: Bars restaurants a plenty on your doorstep
Right in the middle of Saint Paul in Lyon Vieux. Affordable for any budget and very helpful reception staff. The location is superb right next to various beautiful Traboulles and Miraboulles and surrounded by quality bars and bouchons. The nightlife is very trendy and geared to a younger crowd, Quite bohemian but always a very friendly atmosphere. The bars are excellent and cheap. Recommended for absolutely anyone. Rooms are a little on the small side but perfect for a city break. The beds are very comfortable. Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Lindsey from Brooklyn, NY

Amazing Value

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stopped here for one night on our way to Paris from Annecy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very charming and comfortable. It was pretty hot when we were there and since there is no AC we slept with the windows open - there are a few cafes in the direct vicinity so it was a bit noisy until early in the morning. Great location and definitely worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mike and Sue from UK

Fantastic location in Vieux Lyon

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Saint Paul is in a great location right in the old town close to main attractions, bars, restaurants and trolley bus station. Reception staff very helpful and informative. For a budget hotel our room was fine overall - although a bit small and dark due to overlooking a small courtyard with very little natural light, it was clean with a comfy bed and good quality sheets. The furniture was adequate for a short stay.The shower room was very small but the shower was fantastic. The staircase and courtyards could do with a little TLC as a lot of paint is peeling away, which doesn't give a very good overall impression. However, I would recommend this hotel for a short break at a good price, after all, you spend most of your time in beautiful Lyon, not in your room !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael and Angela

Very pleasant location in old part of Lyon

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and approachable. It is in the old part of Lyon where there are stunning medieval buildings, cobbled streets and quirky shops and restaurants. The hotel is within easy reach of the metro and other forms of public transport. All in all a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Steeped in history and tradition

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved Vieux Lyon. Had some brilliant and some appalling weather.Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.Older./frailer potential guests need to be warned there is no lift. Otherwise a charming and historically interetsing hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Australia

Charming location

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Noise at night from nearby pubs and bars
Location: Fantastic - in the old town which is totally pedestrian with narrow cobbled streets. A must see in Lyon
Great location and the staff were like tour guides. We only had one night and when we arrived the guy at the front desk gave us a map and showed us were we could go and what we could do. We managed to fit a lot in the time available only because we had been advised of what sights & activities were available. The location in the old town is fantastic, however as other reviewers have noted, it can be noisy at night. As the Champions League final was on the night we stayed, the pub next door was very noisy but for us, the location out weighed the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, WY

Good value, great location!

Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good value, great ambiance, great location. Edge of Vieux Lyon with narrow streets, lots of night life, & students carousing for Easter vacation. Clean rooms; friendly helpful staff. 2 blocks from Musee Gadagne which has an excellent restaurant on top floor; 1 block from laundromat; 10 min walk across the Saone to Place Terreaux. However, no elevator. Building was originally built about 400 years ago; deferred exterior maintenance, but clean small rooms. Interior rooms look out to dark courtyard; best to get a room overlooking the street. Small breakfast area, but easy to meet fellow travelers. We stayed 3 nights. Chose the top floor overlooking street rather than 2d floor overlooking courtyard. Thought a long time over the decision - turned out to be a good one in the end. Top floor room faced a grammar school across the street. We awoke to excited squeals of French children playing in rooftop playground - great memory of Lyon! Would stay here again & recommend to friends, but not to my parents who have trouble climbing stairs. Would not recommend to my cousin who eats only roast beef and cheese and thinks salami is exotic. He'd be happier in... Omaha.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern California

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Apr 7, 2010
The hotel is in need of some refurbishment. The room was small. That said, the location was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom modern.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loudest area of lyon

Posted Dec 16, 2009
We didn't sleep at all.Teenagers hang out in front of this hotel and shout, sing, and yell until ~5am. It was the weekend. So if you're the type who sleeps through riots, this place is could work. Everything else about this place is fine, staff is nice, the rooms are super clean and adequate. It's a touristy neighbourhood though. Heed the innkeeper's restaurant recommendations and make reservations. He was right!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great people Great location

Posted Nov 11, 2009
We were greeted warmly and accommodated for a change in rooms. We loved being in the old city, and in this historic hotel, and access was excellent. Bring earplugs, though! Vieux Lyon is a lively neighborhood, especially late at night, and the locals singing in the nearby bars might keep you awake. (or you just might get out and join them).