Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient business hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Small hotel, located in a quiet neighbourhood. Excellent service and hospitality. Simple rooms, but sufficient for the purpose, and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC Travelor from Washington DC

Basic hotel close to metro/Parc D'Or

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Hotel has the basics, room was small, but bathroom was spacious. The day staff was helpful, but always seemed burdened by questions or requests. Night staff was great, went above and beyond what was asked. All spoke English. There is a Tunisian restaurant across the street with free wifi and good, cheap food. Overall, a decent experience and the price was good. Additional taxes only came out to 4 euros. Lyon is a great city
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron and Jan from Michigan, u.s.a.

Very easy to get all the places you wanted

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel. Staff was excellent. Room and shower were quite small with little movement. Room was a little warm. Breakfast was excellent. Very clean rooms. WiFi was great. Very good restaurants around. A small sandwich shop across the street was our favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for price!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Really great location, 2 blocks from the metro and a 10 minute walk down to the Rhône (river). If you walk a little towards the river you can find bakeries, cafes, etc The hotel staff were very nice. The downside was that the room we stayed in was very small; there wasn't even enough room to keep our suitcases, really. The bathroom looked as though it had been newly renovated but the room itself was a little outdated.
3 out of 5
by Dave from Reading

Reasonable budget hotel about to be renovated

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Friendly / helpful staff.
Cons: The heat / lack of aircon! Only one plug socket in room. Decorations outdated / in need of improvement BUT they were starting to renovate when we left
Location: Not central for tourist sights but nice-enough area to be in. A good-sized park nearby with gardens / zoo / boating lake.
A perfectly nice, basic budget hotel, our stay at Hôtel Tête d'Or probably would have been a lot more enjoyable had it not coincided with a bit of a heatwave in Lyon, with temperatures pushing 40C. The rooms didn't have air-conditioning (we didn't think to check when booking) - they were able to lend us a plug-in fan at reception downstairs, but fans are not as beneficial in the heat as air-con, and also there was only one power socket in the room into which we could plug the fan, which was right by the head of the bed! As we needed the fan on to be able to sleep, this meant having it aimed right at us from a short distance away. Also because there was only one socket we coudn't charge phones / cameras while we were in the room as we always needed the fan plugged in! The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we had any requests, and the continental breakfast was nice if not a bargain. The location of the hotel is a little bit away from the main tourist areas in Lyon, it is close to a Metro stop and generally things are walkable but you could certainly be closer to the main sight-seeing areas. The hotel appeared to be undergoing renovations when we were staying - the front of the building had been updated already, but on the day we checked out, they were in the process of ripping out old wall coverings / carpets - so who knows what it will look like in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a couple of nights

Posted Mar 26, 2013
My wife and I spent one night (Saturday) at the hotel and we were very pleased with the room and the hospitality of the owner and his family. Well located and close to public trnasportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from New York, NY, USA

Great hotel for the price!

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Location, helpful staff
Location: Really nice location in Lyon
Priced right and very clean, quiet, and "sympa," this hotel was a great choice for a simple, no-frills stay in this part of Lyon. The neighborhood is nice, with amenties all around, including Metro and bus service. Parking, while not cheap, was just around the corner and very secure. We did not take advantage of the optional breakfast offered. Nice staff!