Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Riggs from Scotland

Good modern hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Big comfortable room. Aircon Safe Buffet breakfast
Cons: Make sure bookings are honoured. Heat the pool so it can be used all year.
Location: For kids the Parc de la tete d'or is amazing. Free entry to an excellent park and zoo. Fourviere basiclia and the town itself is worth a visit.
Hotel is nice and modern. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. It had aircon and a safe. Lots of child friendly restaurants nearby plus a huge supermarket. Buffet breakfast had excellent choice. Not a bad location for visiting Lyon although we did have a hire car. Main disappointment was the fact that the first night we were told there were no rooms left (despite booking in advance and phoning the day before) and that we'd been moved to another hotel for the first night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Providing support for all your needs.

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
overall it was a very ideal location for a overnight stay with a teenage family having spent 500 miles in a car on a very hot trip.Service was efficient and supportive. Food was very good.We all had a good nights sleep(2 single beds with a double would have been more approving than a sofa-bed and double for a 4 person occupancy).A good and healthy b/fast with plenty got us off to the ideal start to our destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John D from Oxford

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent Staff, service spot on, perfect for a stay over en route to the South.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from USA

Overnight Stay

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Having stayed at previous Novotel Hotels in Europe, I found the one in Novotel Lyon Nord Porte De Lyon to be the most generic and sad. The breakfast was simply awful with limited choice. The clerk was inexperienced as every question we had he had to get the answer from a collegue. I was travelling throughout Spain and France with my son who is a soccer fanatic to visit as many football stadiums as possible.The night we arrived at the hotel, Lyon Football Club (Olympique Lyonnais) were playing their season opening game against Nice. We arrived too late to get tickets so were looking forward to dinner and watching the game on the hotel TV. The hotel reception clerk informed us the hotel does not subscribe to the channel showing the game. Lyon went on to an exciting 4-0 win. We later learned the same clerk had given us false information that the game was on the room TV and we had unnecessarily missed the action! Positives: Clean. Negatives: Poor service and food. Given the choice: Stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Spt from Manchester

Comfy beds and clean rooms, good pool

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel with nice pool and gardens, very family friendly. Easy to find just off the motorway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Small but comfortable!

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: The breakfast!
Cons: The size of the room.
Location: You'd need a car to see the city. Easy access to highway.
Room was small but very clean. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Montana, USA

Very Convenient Location

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a business traveler’s hotel through and through. It is immediately adjacent to the A6 and about 20 minutes from the heart of Lyon. Not much to look at outside, the inside was nicely designed, including the rooms. The staff was very helpful and attentive at all hours of the day, even during early morning when all of the business travelers are bustling around. This hotel offers a superior dining experience, having enjoyed an excellent supper and a more-than-ample breakfast, which was welcome, since there is nothing around the neighborhood. Parking was excellent and a gate was closed at night for protection. I’m not sure about the quality of other Novotels, but this one was worth the stay.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Preston

Convenient and secure out of city location.

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Ease of access off A6
Cons: Out of city.
Location: Take care finding correct turnoffs
Very convenient off the main autoroute but a little way out of the city. It is worthwhile going into the 'Old Town' some lovely streets and small, intimate restaurants called bouchons. Not Michelen star but good value and local, Lyonnaise menus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good stopover

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Used this hotel as a stopover on the way down to the south of France. Good secluded car park (worry free for leaving bikes on the back of the car). Small but adequate pool for the kids to splash about in after sitting in the car since Calais. Evening meal and following breakfast fine. Family room sofabed great for the kids, but I wouldn't want to sleep on it myself - far too soft. As per usual, no surprises with Novotel - you generally know what you're getting.