Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Adequate

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We were not given correct room type on check in and had to request a change. Air on didn't work well. No dishwashing detergent, plug or tea towel. Fridge was not cold. We requested a wake up call to ensure we caught early morning train, we didn't receive it. Other than that the room was nice enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing night's experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was bountiful and offered numerous buffet options -- given the price (about 18 Euros), it should be. But it was, indeed, quite good.
Cons: It would be good to have accurate information about restaurants nearby, to be specific. Surely a hotel would want to have that for its guests, but no.
Location: The location looks like it would be near the train station (and so, convenient for travel), but it is a vigorous 15-minute walk away -- so it is not.
I arrived late afternoon on Sunday. I asked about dinner at the hotel restaurant, but it is closed on the weekend. When I asked the staff at reception about possible places to have dinner, I was assured that if I turned at the nearby corner and walked a short way, there were numerous restaurants from which I could choose. I waited until about 7pm (19:00), typical dinner time in France, and found many restaurants, indeed -- all closed. Finally, more than half a kilometer away, I found a kebab house. Shouldn't the staff be knowledgeable about what is actually available for their guests? Beyond this frustration, my air conditioning did not work at all in the room. The shower was right next to the toilet, with no shower curtain and not even a ridge to retain the water of the shower. Finally, one of the rolls of bathroom tissue was of the old "industrial gray" kind I encountered in post-Communist Russia over 15 years ago -- rough stuff to have to use. At least the kitchen refrigerator worked! And the bed was comfortable. But I would definitely not stay at this hotel again, if I were ever back in Lyon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian from London

nice location but..

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room had some bowls, microwave.. But bowl and cups were too dirty to use. Bedding was not so good either. It was just one night on the way to Spain, but I do not recommend this hotel for family trip. Fouvier cathedral is nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mule5

Expected more for the stars

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: The location was nice. The internet was nice as well.
Not a terrible overall experience, but expected more for the number of stars
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from USA

not a 4 star hotel but reasonable price

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was OK in general but location is a bit far from any of public transportation. Need to walk 10+ min to get on ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Wokingham UK

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff. Good level of room facilities.Helpful with car parking and let us keep our car in the garage after we had checked out for the whole afternoon. Housekeeping forgot to give us new towels/tea coffee on the final day but otherwise very satisfied.
2 out of 5
by amp from SF, CA, USA

Dirty

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Great staff. Big suite with two bedrooms. Very dirty and moldy. Not central to much of anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sergio from USA

Fair

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, but AC didn't work. We had to open the windows facing the dining area, and they make too much noise. When ever there is activity in the dining area you must Keep your windows close.
1 out of 5
by Steve from Switzerland

Absolute nightmare of a hotel to be avoided

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Nothing at all. All deeply unsatisfactory.
Cons: Demolition and complete refurbishment, better staff training - some consideration for your customers
Location: Don't go to France and expect customer service but Lyon in particular seems to treat the customer as an major inconvenience
The faults with this hotel are many not least the fact they close the restaurant at weekends, I have never experienced that before. When you arrive late on a cold wet Saturday to be told you have to walk 20 mins to the station to get something to eat was a shock- they don't tell you this in the glossy brochure. The station area is to be avoided after dark - not a safe place to be. The hotel is in a business area with nothing but offices around it so you have no choice to roam the streets. The room will be like a sauna as the aircon does nothing but heat. This means you have to open the window onto a noisy internal courtyard so no sleep either way. Apparently if you take a cheap hotel/room and put a microwave and fridge in it, you can call it a suite/apartment. Don't believe it for a minute. Booked breakfast in my room for 7AM - never turned up. Corridors are completely dark with lights only eventually flickering to life once the sensor worked out you are there. They also "fragrance" it with what can only be described as a strong sickly smell of bubble gum. Staff couldn't care less - if you lost your conference badge in the hotel with your name written on it, would you expect them to call you to say they have found it or would you expect attentive staff to throw it in the back of a draw and tell no-one? Breakfast is another story... only sit at a table with the little jam pots on it as the other identical tables are for the restaurant (which is closed tonight)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Centrally located for railway station

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Easy reach from station. Transport on main road outside. Walking distance to Old Town, about 30 minutes. Kitchenette in room very useful.
Cons: Possibly redecorate bath area of bathroom, improve finish. Need dish cloth and tea towels for kitchenette
Location: Old Town easily accessible. Modern shopping centre and station nearby.
Reasonably modern establishment. Reception staff helpful. Travelled by train to Lyon, so well located to station ...15 minute flat walk. Rear rooms overlook rail lines, but surprisingly, the noise from the trains did not cause us any disturbance. Can hear neighbouring room occupants walking in room above, doors etc.