Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Leeds

Good hotel in Maastrict

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Free parking, large, comfy rooms.
Cons: A cheaper breakfast, it was very expensive so we avoided it.
We chose this hotel for the free parking so were happy to stay out of the centre, however the hotel is next to the motorway so it isn't the easiest hotel to get to on foot. That said it is only a 30 minute walk so we still thought it was worth it. The hotel also provides a free shuttle into the centre which is really useful. The room was a really good size with a lot of space. The beds were comfy and the room was quiet. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they looked very busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Capel Sue from Suffolk, UK

Comfortable, clean, convenient

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Very nice room, wonderful huge and comfy bed; modern room appointment; bar in the foyer does excellent food ; all staff really helpful.
Cons: Minor checks - e.g. are all the curtain hooks in place! fridge in the room would be welcome and some proper milk for the tea!
Location: Vibrant city centre with great cafe culture. American memorial cemetery at Margraten is quite something. Close to German border and Belgian shopping
We spent four nights at the Maastricht Van der Valk in one of their refurbished standard rooms, alongside the new Wellbeing Centre - which looked very nice but we had no time to enjoy. We had a concern about the bedroom door not shutting and locking properly on one occasion - found it left slightly open presumably by housekeeping, but once reported, the staff were on to it very fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit out of the way,

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Clean. modern.
Location: A business type hotel surrounded by modern offices and motorway links.
.....but the taxi shuttles are convenient and cheap. Good food in the restaurant marred only by one female waiter spending more time flirting with a couple of lads than actually doing her job. Noticed the manager had words with her more than once. Is she still there?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Guelph, Ontario

A nice surprise

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice rooms, huge bathrooms, good food.
Cons: My experience with restaurant staff was twice below expectations. Once may be a mistake, but twice in three days - too many mistakes. Other staff: A+.
Location: It was a carnival time in Maastricht, quite a sight for a Canadian.
Never heard about Van der Valk before, but it was a very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Max from India

Very good hotel walking distance city Maastricht

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel, very good breakfast, good bar weer you can eat too. Food in THE bar is very good. Staff very helpfull and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from London

Good hotel with free parking

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Free parking, friendly and helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was expensive, but comprehensive and well worth it.
Cons: The chairs in the bedroom were very smart, but not very comfortable. The food in the main restaurant was tepid and the service pleasant, but slow.
Location: The hotel is quite close to the main congress centre and had its own meeting rooms. There are no nearby tourist attractions - the No 4 bus is vital!
Ẁe picked the hotel for the free parking and this was excellent. It was a little isolated and quite a hike into town, but the number 4 bus stop was only 200 yards away with a half-hourly service taking you to the main points in town - station, Markt and Vrijhof for 2.50 Euro. The website mentions a free shuttle service, but this only runs at weekends and has to be pre-booked. Parking in town is Euro1.60 -2.60 PER HOUR! Taxis are expensive. The room was very warm and it wasn't until I learned to press the door pass card very firmly into the socket next to the air conditioning control unit that it worked properly. Apparently this shouldn't have been necessary, as there should have been a separate card in place fitted by room service. The Hotel is very modern, recently refurbished and very smart. The roadworks outside our window where they are completing a new underpass were unsightly, but didn't really trouble us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by michel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michael_teter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pollarc from Oxford

Fantastic Services

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We wanted a snack at 10pm at night and Fish & Chips and Chef kept Kitchen open to make us this meal. The bar was relaxed and comfortable. The choice of beers were very wide. The Reception staff were comfortably multilingual. In the morning, treated ourselves to Breakfast in our room. It was a real treat for our Wedding Anniversary. The table on wheels bought into our room gave us a sumptuous choice for our Breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Very nice hotel, but was charged a room premium for the Andre Rieu concert. As well, it's not close to the city center, so you have to take a bus to get there.