Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Big sized room. Really great location. Hotel staff are pretty rude/unhelpful but that can always be put down to a language barrier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Cebu

Nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall stay with East Asia was okay although we had a hard time finding it since it was in an interior road. I asked the help of the one manning Kam Pek Community Center & he was very helpful to lead us to the hotel. One thing that I was not so happy about was the bed which creaks when turning & moves due to the wheels on the bed. But nevertheless, it was worth going back again. Restaurant below also serves cheap & delicious dimsum menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sai from Auckland

Smallish but impeccable hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Location and the impeccable cleanliness of the room
Cons: One of the staff was grumpy but the others were quite pleasant. It would have been better if the restaurant was open for dinner as well.
Location: Near all the tourist hot spots - the main square from where the famous historic building and ruins could be accessed just by a 5-minute walk.,
It was a smallish hotel on a smallish side street that could easily have been overlooked despite its having a restaurant that was doing extremely good business, so the locals must know about it. Fortunately, a stone's throw from a casino where the doorman pointed it out to me. Once settled into the impeccably clean room, when you went out to the main street, you realized it was practically opposite the huge Copithorn hotel where I ended up having lunch as the restaurants around mostly did not have a licence. The restaurant hotel served beer and was only open through lunch. For a midnight snack on New Year's Eve, I ate at a noodles place across the street which served excellent food with beer . Very good location within walking distance of all the tourist hotspots which deserved its price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mw from malaysia

good location

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: location. easily found and very near to central.
Cons: I agree with other tourists' comments: the bed IS HARD.
Location: thanks to other tourists' review I found the hotel easily. the green building at the small road opposite Sofitel hotel.
the hotel is located just opposite Sofitel hotel Ponte 16 and within walking distance to major tourist attraction (senado square, ruins of St Paul, etc). the staff had been helpful and friendly. otherwise the room is small and the bed IS HARD. I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind the small room and hard bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mango from Singapore

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The rooms are newly refurbished and the bed is comfortable.
Cons: The lift is too small and it took quite some time.
Location: There's a nice chinese food place and provision shop nearby, walking distance to senado square
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from Australia

Being rennovated

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. However the hotel was having renovations done and had a foul pervasive smell that permeated throughout the floor and room we were in. The initial room that they allocated was small, windowless, dull and not very attractive. We had the information saying that the room would be bright and have a regrigerator this was not accurate. We managed to get another room allocated, although they were reluctant to do this. Also the staff were not very friendly. The hotel was located a little north of the central part where activity was happening. I would have preferred to have been a little more central. Public transport was easy to access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

East Asia Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Good comfortable and clean rooms
Location: Lots of local shops and eating places near by
Good comfortable hotel in quite a central location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by capy

east asia

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Cons: all the rooms we requested were non-smoking however one of the rooms given to us smells like cigarette, thus making us a 2nd or 3rd hand smokers.
Location: senado square
location was ok its walking distance to the ruins of saint paul and senado square. the hotel is a little bit hard to find but your land mark is the ponte 16 which is just across this hotel and the green paint of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by abroad from manila

great location and price

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
good hotel overall, rooms were comfortable and clean and free wifi. but they should improve on their graveyard staff, i arrived past midnight and the front desk clerk was very rude and even wrote on my passport with his pen by accident, clearly there was a language barrier and he kept asking me for money, i kept explaining i already paid online, he was raising his voice at me because i could not understand him, turns out he just wanted a deposit, i don't expect ground staff to be fluent in english but at least be able to say "deposit" clearly especially when it is about money. but will stay here again given the chance, but will make sure i arrive in the day time, because the morning shift staff were very helpful and spoke english well.