Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Corporate golf day

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location, style, staff helpfulness
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Hotel in a lovely rural setting. Golf course in excellent condition (September 2014) All staff friendly and attentive. Room well apointed anbd comfortabvle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Lyme Park.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were professional and helpful.
Location: Centrally located for many attractions,shopping or sightseeing.
Enjoyed our stay. Particularly liked the pool and steam room. The breakfast was the tastiest one we have had in a long time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

OK hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I attended the area for a best friend's wedding. Staff and taxi drivers alike were very courteous and helpful. The actual hotel itself is a very astounding piece of architecture but the room I had wasn't very modern in regards to features. On a hot day, here was no AC or temperature control and I had a semi glued window but was slightly open (couldn't be shut dud to the aforementioned glued situation) and facing onto what can only be described as the deliveries and cooking area. Hearing staff comment on their work conditions and disgruntled guests and hearing cars at 1am isn't as pleasant as you'd think! Breakfast was served late on one occasion that I had to forgo it as I was running late for a train. Dim lighting and small bathroom bearing in mind the prestige of the place. I would recommend the hotel to a friend if necessary due to location but if a modernised hotel can be found for convenience and price, I'd stay elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of a disappointment

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The spa & leisure facilities
Cons: Room was very hot only small opening window. Breakfast - poached eggs pre cooked and either soggy or hard.
Location: Excellent location with plenty to do nearby especially walking and golf
Had to wait over 10 minutes to check in. Location was fantastic but unfortunately hotel didn't live up to this. It was very noisy-golf carts started at 6am. Inside was noisy too - doors banging and easily hearing voices in corridor from room. We ordered a Ploughman's board from the light menu and it came with only one variety of pre-sliced cheese - not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Bar staff and staff in Spa were excellent but overall staff customer training needed. There was a wedding on both Saturday and Sunday and I think this seemed to be the hotel's priority. Having stayed at the De Vere Hotel in Southampton on many occasions I feel that this was not up to it's standard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Not a great experience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Air conditioning, windows that open
Location: near Manchester
A De Vere hotel conjures up thoughts of luxury, comfort and excellence. On arriving I was shown my room which had to be over 100 degrees, windows that would not open at all, and no air-conditioning. I refused the room and was shown another that was not quite as hot, windows that opened about 1 inch and again no air conditioning. I was told that the hotel has no air conditioning and the windows are restricted to stop people jumping out - at 100kgs I would have great difficulty!! In addition to all of this, a Charity golf day was celebrating the end of the day with a lot of noise and carousal. I declined to stay and found a very good Travelodge at half of the price, and windows that open. Not a great experience and De Vere will be removed from my list of hotels in which to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Urghhh

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Get things right and improve on the above!
Booked in march for king size bed and new upgrade package. Got there and was given double room. After talking to reception they could not offer us the upgrade room we had paid for and also we had to have a zip and link bed put together! Restaurant staff on one evening we ate there was very good but at breakfast toaster broken, not enough spoons to help yourself buffet, one of our guests waited 20 mins for a boiled egg, kept waiting for coffee and tea. Just not enough staff. Our room for the second day was not cleaned until 230 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CR

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very hot!

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a regular visitor to Mottram Hall, I am always very satisfied with the service I received - indeed this visit I was given an upgrade to a suite as the hotel was very busy. However, the bedroom was so very hot. It did have a couple of air conditioning units but they were poorly placed and have no effect on the temperature. As an old hotel I appreciate keeping it cool is a challenge, but one that needs to be addressed if we have a good summer. As always the staff were very helpful and attentive and offered to provide additional iced water in the room as even they can't control the weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very attentive staff

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were so helpful and looked after us really well. We also loved the outlook over the golf-course. The food was excellent. The only downside was the rather small bedroom with insufficient room for clothing. There was so much to do locally, that we will need another visit to visit more places of interest.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointing

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
For what we perceived as a luxury hotel, this was the poorest hotel room I have stayed in for some time including cheaper rooms. Selected for the surroundings we were allocated a room overlooking a service yard, the boiler flue could be heard all night switching on and off constantly. The room was tiny, tired and dated. When asked on check out if all was ok I explained my dissatisfaction but all that was offered was an apology and told I should have complained the night before so could have been moved. After thinking about this I am most upset that if a better room was available why I wasn’t put in it first of all, I shouldn’t have to complain, equally we were short of time and for this reason didn’t want to waste it swapping rooms just for one night.