Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from merthyr tydfil

Not great

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Room wasn't made up no fresh towels, water was red hot shower didn't work, plus you had to pay for the jim
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about my reception

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Wedding on when I arrived. I appeared to be a nuisance when checking in. Room up innumerable stairs - no help. offered with case. Room acceptable but no bedside lights - room had been 'turned round' lights on wrong wall. Breakfast mediocre - cooked breakfast literally swimming in poor tasting fat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Comment on Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Your building in the back needs a make over.
Location: I was on a course, so I had no time to explore.
The original part of the hotel and visiting rooms where beautiful. My room was in the back of the hotel, which was very tired and needed a make over. The bed was like sleeping on straw.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Cornwall

Old hotel in lovely surroundings

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Great old building with lots of character.
Cons: THE SHOWER was the ONLY reason I would not stay again. Cheap plastic hose blocked water flow. Water temperature Dangerously hot!!!
Stayed for two nights only. The was a wedding reception in the hotel on both nights but we were not disturbed in our room at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Businessman from North London

Pleasant, quiet rural location.

Posted May 23, 2014
Good value for money with facilities generally matching the price paid. Helpful and friendly staff. Some areas looked a little worn but not too bad. Room clean and comfortable with all facilities required for a brief stayover.
2 out of 5
by Phil from Newbury

Lovely location but a hotel that's past it's best

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Standard decor and comfort of the rooms. Some form of sound proofing in the rooms.
The rooms are dated and every word and movement from neighbouring rooms can be heard. Very overpriced given the condition.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A from Newcastle

Beautiful building but poor cleanliness.

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
THe hotel had a fantastic location and was a beautiful building. However the condition of the building was very poor and cleanliness terrible. I kept my shoes on the whole time in the bedroom and when In the bathroom. I only stayed one night. However as it was such a short stay I did not get the opportunity to discuss with the Manager as they were busy with a wedding, but I would not recommend this hotel to friends. If you require more details please do let me know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pete from herts

Country style hotel close to Peak District.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Country style hotel, welcomed dogs, good food.
Cons: Finish off refurbishment.
Location: Short drive from high peak and lots of walks nearby.
Good food, good refurbished room, convenient for being able to accommodate dog, nice lounge, bar and fining facilities.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dirty and Needs an update

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are dirty and the hotel is in desperate need of an update. The first room which I had the pleasure of staying in was cold. Upon further inspection, the radiator had been removed. The second room had a radiator but the heating had tripped so didn't work. There were cobwebs in the room and the showerhead in need of descaling. I've stayed a number of times in recent years and each time seems to be getting worse.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, pretty terrible bed

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel grounds are beautiful and there are some lovely walks nearby. Whilst the staff were pleasant, I found it difficult to find them sometimes. The major difficulty was that the mattress had all the the springs exposed and was really quite uncomfortable. I'd brought my own pillow, and I'm glad that I did. The curtains were nice to look at, but didn't have any blackout, so the fluorescent lights from outside meant that it never got dark in the room at all. I was happy that there was an electrical socket next to the bed for my phone charger, only to be disappointed that it didn't work. I did not ask to change rooms or offer this feedback at the time, so the hotel didn't get a chance to redeem itself: I don't know if better facilities would have been available if I'd asked.