Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stockport

Lovely hotel beautiful setting

Posted Feb 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay but Alex made our stay a pleasure he could not do enough for us. Thank you Alex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KLfrom Yateley

Enjoyable weekend

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Weekend stay for a wedding. Public rooms modern and very pleasant. Our room was very dated, cramped and quite shabby - hotel is part way through a renovation programme with only a small number of rooms having been completed to date. Staff helpful and pleasant and a very god breakfast! We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sheffield

Nice staff but poor room

Posted Dec 28, 2014
The hotel staff were pleasant enough but the room was terrible. The carpet was very dirty, old and stale and I felt uncomfortable walking bare feet on it. The bathroom had been cleaned but the taps were falling apart on the sink and the shower curtain didn't seem very clean. Otherwise it's a beautiful location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The food
Cons: Everything else
Location: Handy for Macclesfield
The food was good, I should start with that. Everything else was as bad as it gets. The first room I was allocated had a window that wouldn't shut. It was December. It was not a recent issue as instead of mending the window a hook and loop had been screwed into the frame as an attempt to keep it shut. Hopeless. No toiletries in the bathroom. Certainly not the executive double I had booked. I asked to be moved. Room two stank of damp and was freezing cold. There was no heating. When I asked if they would consider putting the heating on I was informed it wasn't working. December!! I had to ask for an adequate heater which turned out to be anything but. The room became warm around midnight. Rooms are tired, shoddy and in need of refurbishment. Tatty. To give you an idea of the standards, the in-room directory was a best western folder with a Hollin Hall sticker stuck over the middle of the logo. You could still read 'best' and 'ern' either side. Classy. Stay again? You have to be kidding. I felt ripped off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Manchester

Okish

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
Nice looking from the outside, some staff were friendly on arrival others were abit rude. Room was very dated and disappointing, had a meal in the restaurant ( no prices on menu) the food was delicious, was pleasantly suprised. Overa the hotel need better management, nicer staff and a lot of tender loving care!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Weekend break

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The original building has some redeeming features and hasn't lost its charm. The breakfast facilities were fine and the food was very nice. Staff good
Cons: The refurbishment will help, not sure how to get rid of the wall though.
Location: Locally there is a pub within walking distant Bollington is a bit further, could walk at a push, is very nice with various pubs and restaurants.
Unfortunately this hotel is looking tired, the extension part is very dated and in need of an upgrade. Some work is currently underway however this will not get away from the issue that some rooms only have a brick wall right outside the window with absolutely no view of the beautiful Peak District. The staff were friendly and helpful, there was a wedding over the weekend with a lot of guests staying overnight but we were never ignored or made to feel as though we were in the way. The carling lager was some of the best I've ever had which you assume means good cellar management. Afternoon tea and cakes is very good value and the breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. The disappointing thing about Hollin Hall is in adding the extra rooms with the large extension some of the charm is lost and although it is appreciated that extra rooms will attract more income some rooms have no views at all and the reasons we choose to stay in this lovely area is to soak up the scenery when you look out of you window. To sum up, if you were stay in the original building with a nice view I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend break with friends in the Peak District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice restaurant, comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The food and service in the restaurant extremely good. Rooms are newly renovated, but some of them are quit small. Though, they have everyting u would expect. There was some dirt on the carpet (the type that probably cant be cleaned out caused by the mountain hickers) in our room, 3 light bulbs were out (of many), but everyday the room service was excellent. Hotel windows were dirty from the outside, plus the rooftop windows in the restaurant so dirty, that bearly any light could get through (view from the bridal sweet). The only thing, that I think the hotel should change is the extention - it does not match what so ever to the front old castle building..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clivefrom Dover

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed for a Wedding here. Ideal place-food excelent Location peaceful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by paulinefrom stoke-on-trent

dated hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
bed was disgracefull,the guy collecting glasses in the evening took mine with a drink in it,cobwebs in corner of room,and in the toilets, I wasn't allowed go the toilet,because speeches were going to be started,wedding was good,place in need of a refurb