Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, England

Corporate golf day

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location, style, staff helpfulness
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Hotel in a lovely rural setting. Golf course in excellent condition (September 2014) All staff friendly and attentive. Room well apointed anbd comfortabvle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by The Chappellsfrom Manchester

Wonderful and relaxing break.

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Myself and my wife stayed for just the one night. This was a pre-booked trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and ideal for walking around. The food at the nearby restaurant is to die for. The room itself was great and very well kept but the only thing that let it down was the smell of fresh paint. The cleaner tried to mask this with some air freshener but to no avail. We mentioned this at reception and were given a bottle of bubbly for our troubles. A fair result. The spa we used on two occasions, this is amazing. A must do! It is very clean and again well kept. The staff again are very friendly. All in all a brilliant break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EWfrom Devizes

Excellent hotel in an excellent location

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exactly what was needed after a 4 hr drive. Service great. Rooms finished to a high quality. Reasonably priced. Good food, nice bar. What more could you ask for? Apart from wanting to knock the meeting on the head and to play a round of golf. Would definitely stay when up again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ifcukfrom S E Essex

Once is unfortunate, twice is management failure

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed many times before, and it is [or was] our hotel of choice in the Manchester area. This time we had a repeated problem with a lack of hot water. There was none in our room on the first morning. We had to go unwashed to breakfast and then shower after, when the boiler had come back on. We were told that a power outage had tripped the boiler off. On morning two the same thing - no hot water. We were offered the use of the bathroom in another room down the corridor which we were assured was ok. It was not. We both tried, and suggested that the duty manager come and see with us, which she chose not to do. Again this was ok after breakfast. Luckily we did not have to be away until after 10 am, but had we been on a business trip this would have been intolerable. There would be other matters where we could offer compliments and criticism, but this coloured our visit. The duty manager has treated our concerns as a criticism rather than complaint about a fundamental problem. We have been offered a discount on an overnight stay within the next six months, which is unlikely to be of any use to us. Unfortunately we had paid in advance through Hotels.com, so there was no way that Mottram Hall would reduce our bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Lyme Park.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were professional and helpful.
Location: Centrally located for many attractions,shopping or sightseeing.
Enjoyed our stay. Particularly liked the pool and steam room. The breakfast was the tastiest one we have had in a long time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tommyfrom Fife

could do better

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed 2 nights here and on arrival was really impressed. Good check in with car valet park and cases brought promptly to room. Then the issues began. There was a breakfast tray outside the room which I had to ask to be removed at 9pm. There was no aircon, so I used the fan from the wardrobe which was filthy and thick with dust. I reported this to reception, nothing was done so my 11year old daughter took it upon herself to clean it. The service in the lounge on the 1st night was appalling. The worse thing was the room doors slamming shut, a couple of times late in the night, but in the morning it's just a constant cacophony of banging doors as guests depart their rooms. On a brighter note the dinner we had in the restaurant was very good with excellent service and at a very reasonable price, decent breakfast and the spa and gym are excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L

OK hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I attended the area for a best friend's wedding. Staff and taxi drivers alike were very courteous and helpful. The actual hotel itself is a very astounding piece of architecture but the room I had wasn't very modern in regards to features. On a hot day, here was no AC or temperature control and I had a semi glued window but was slightly open (couldn't be shut dud to the aforementioned glued situation) and facing onto what can only be described as the deliveries and cooking area. Hearing staff comment on their work conditions and disgruntled guests and hearing cars at 1am isn't as pleasant as you'd think! Breakfast was served late on one occasion that I had to forgo it as I was running late for a train. Dim lighting and small bathroom bearing in mind the prestige of the place. I would recommend the hotel to a friend if necessary due to location but if a modernised hotel can be found for convenience and price, I'd stay elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of a disappointment

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The spa & leisure facilities
Cons: Room was very hot only small opening window. Breakfast - poached eggs pre cooked and either soggy or hard.
Location: Excellent location with plenty to do nearby especially walking and golf
Had to wait over 10 minutes to check in. Location was fantastic but unfortunately hotel didn't live up to this. It was very noisy-golf carts started at 6am. Inside was noisy too - doors banging and easily hearing voices in corridor from room. We ordered a Ploughman's board from the light menu and it came with only one variety of pre-sliced cheese - not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Bar staff and staff in Spa were excellent but overall staff customer training needed. There was a wedding on both Saturday and Sunday and I think this seemed to be the hotel's priority. Having stayed at the De Vere Hotel in Southampton on many occasions I feel that this was not up to it's standard
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Not a great experience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Air conditioning, windows that open
Location: near Manchester
A De Vere hotel conjures up thoughts of luxury, comfort and excellence. On arriving I was shown my room which had to be over 100 degrees, windows that would not open at all, and no air-conditioning. I refused the room and was shown another that was not quite as hot, windows that opened about 1 inch and again no air conditioning. I was told that the hotel has no air conditioning and the windows are restricted to stop people jumping out - at 100kgs I would have great difficulty!! In addition to all of this, a Charity golf day was celebrating the end of the day with a lot of noise and carousal. I declined to stay and found a very good Travelodge at half of the price, and windows that open. Not a great experience and De Vere will be removed from my list of hotels in which to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Urghhh

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Get things right and improve on the above!
Booked in march for king size bed and new upgrade package. Got there and was given double room. After talking to reception they could not offer us the upgrade room we had paid for and also we had to have a zip and link bed put together! Restaurant staff on one evening we ate there was very good but at breakfast toaster broken, not enough spoons to help yourself buffet, one of our guests waited 20 mins for a boiled egg, kept waiting for coffee and tea. Just not enough staff. Our room for the second day was not cleaned until 230 pm.