Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near airport and water

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This hotel is very near to the airport (10 min walk) but some distance outside of Funchal. So transportation is actually excellent - I took the bus to/from Funchal/Airport and rented a car for one day. It was off season, so not many guests but the staff was super friendly and helpful and the other guests were also that way. There really isn't a beach at the hotel - but a place you can walk down and get into the ocean. There isn't really a good beach anywhere on Madeira, so not much of an issue about that. The included breakfast was superior and the restaurant for other meals was superb. All in all a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from Cornwall

Brilliant location

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location of this hotel is a very enjoyable 10-15 minute walk from the center of Santa Cruz taking in the lovely promenade. The saltwater pool is out of this world and it was easy to sit and watch the ocean from this quiet, relaxing area. Rooms were large and spacious. Fruit and water was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious with enough variation to cater for all tastes. All in all a fabulous hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by June from Guernsey

A lovely Hotel

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Its a small hotel and has very friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Its about a ten minute walk into Santa Cruz which is nice but quiet so a hire car is really needed to get about
Location: Close to Airport but still very peaceful and a lovely sea view.
We were attending a Wedding at this Hotel but decided to book for a week. This is a lovely Hotel, comfortable and with very attentive staff. A lovely location for a Wedding. Very close to the Airport, but surprisingly peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Quiet and beautiful place to get over jet lag

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hotel before joining a walking tour that started in Santana. This was a perfect place to get over jet lag! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location, although right by the airport, was quiet and peaceful. The salt water pools are lovely. There was a nice seaside path into Santa Cruz, where I spent a leisurely morning exploring the town. I highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cheryl from Whitby

Friendly Service, Fantastic Pools & Lovely Views

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at the Albatroz. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, particularly the manager. We felt very welcome and our ground floor room was lovely, large and bright, with a big bed. The bathroom was great, twin sinks, bidet, full bath and shower. The breakfast was superb, and we enjoyed it in our room and terrace looking out at the sea. We especially loved the three pools, the large one right by the sea was a wonderful, peaceful place to swim. It is very close to the airport, so don't drive past it! But it was remarkably quiet, and felt very private. We split our holiday between two hotels, and were sorry to leave. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from London, UK

The Best

Posted Apr 2, 2013
A warm and welcoming hotel, with wonderful views and an excellent compliment of staff, who are helpful, polite, very informative and go the extra mile to help, The restaurant is of a very good standard and offers a tasteful aray of choices. The location is excellent. I am somewhat reluctant to write this review as I beleive I have uncovered a gem of a hotel on a fantastic Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Plug from Newton, MA

The airport hotel of one's dreams!

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: Stunning view , excellent food and minutes from the airport
Cons: Thename is misleading.
Location: Unbelievable for an airport hotel
Despite its name (there is no beach or place to moor a yacht), this is basically an airport hotel, seconds away from the runway, which cannot be heard, and minutes away from the departure hall via free service arranged at the guest's convenience (no published schedule). Similarly, rental car pick up at the hotel was suggested and arranged by the extremely helpful front desk. The location on the cliffs above the ocean is stunning, the gardens are beautiful and the food is prepared lovingly with.local ingredients. Because we had spent our vacation in the misty mountains we had not brought bathing suits and did not try the very inviting fresh water pool and ocean side salt water pool. The hotel is not convenient to any thing other than the airport. Simply stated, this is the airport hotel of one's dreams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carita

Relaxing, peaceful

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
A nice hotel, very good service, excellent personal. Situated away from the cities and perfect if you like to relax. A quiet place, there are only 16 rooms The closiness to the airport does not disturb at all. A very good restaurant. Priceworthy for a five star hotel, although there is just one bar, one restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wokingham, UK

An excellent hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: Excellent service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on coast, about 15 minutes from outskirts of Funchal. Two pleasant towns a few minutes drive either side of hotel.
Service is outstanding. We arrived at the hotel about 23:30, thanks to TAP deciding to send us on a magical mystery tour via Porto and Lisborn. By the time we had got our bags out of the car we were meet, and welcomed by name, by a wonderful person in a golf cart that had come to get our bags. Lots of advice on what to do and where to go on the island. Very attentive and unobtrusive service throughout our stay. There are about 8 rooms on each floor, all facing the sea with balcony or veranda. Rooms are good size, with table and double sofa. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Complementary fruit and water every day. Food is superb and good value - 15 euros for filet mignon. Breakfasts good. There are three pools, one at room level and two salt water pools at sea level - 80 steps down. Don't be put off by the hotel's location. The hotel is right by the airport, and immediately next to the main motorway round the island, but noise is not an issue. The hotel is well below the level of the runway, and has a wall topped with 15 foot high noise barriers separating it from the motorway. Aircraft noise was typically about the same as a vacuum cleaner in the next room, and there are only about 10 flights a day. Road noise is not significant - the only noise my wife complained about keeping her awake at nights was seagulls. The hotel has its own slip road off the motorway. There are junctions within 1km each way allowing access to the other carriageway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jean

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very close to Funchal airport but no airplane noise. Most rooms face the ocean. I was there due to early flight caused by family emergency. Staff was very cordial.