Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brookings, OR

Modernized old building in the middle of Funchal

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and pleasant staff.
Cons: At night the lights go off to save power but they could stay on just a minute or two longer to give guests the time to get up or down the stairs.
Location: Right in the middle of Funchal. There are dozens of restaurants within easy walking distance. There shops and harbor are just a few blocks away.
If you want to be in the middle of Funchal, within walking distance to most everything, consider this hotel. It is an old building and they have spent money to modernize it but it does not have all of the conveniences of a newly built hotel. The thick walls make the wifi signal weak in some places. There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage and wind up on the third floor you have some work to do. Isabella keeps the place as clean as can be and the breakfast is good. The beds are comfortable and the staff is helpful. If we come back to Funchal we would gladly stay there again. You cetrainly get full value for what you spend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Helsinki

Mukava pieni hotelli lähes Funchalin keskustassa

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Sijannista, rauhallisuudesta ja "vanhan hyvän ajan" sisustuksesta, varsinkin yleisissä tiloissa.
Cons: Sama aamupala jokainen aamu kahden viikon ajan ei oikein hellinyt makuhermoja. Myös totaalinen vihannesten puute oli harmittavaa.
Hyvä, yksityisessä omistuksessa oleva pieni hotelli matkailijoille jotka arvostavat omaa rauhaa. Tosin kadun liikenne iltaisin häiritsi hiukan, varsinkin kun pidimme ikkunat jatkuvasti auki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathyfrom France

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Très bien placé à Funchal. Malheureusement, insonorisation insuffisante: beaucoup de bruits venant de la rue (du coup, impossible d'ouvrir la fenêtre...on a eu trop chaud), et voisins très bruyants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isa.Alphonsefrom Toulouse / FRANCE

Hotel dans le vieux Funchal,situation idéale.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Hôtel dans le vieux Funchal loin de la zone hôtelière pour les touristes !!!
Cons: peut être un peu plus d'accessoires pour la cuisine,un peu plus de vaisselle et petit rangement dans la salle de bain.
Location: quartier de Sao Pedro : tout proche la "quinta des Croix" et la maison musée Frederico de Freitas.
Hotel dans le vieux Funchal tout proche du centre historique...autonomie complète car studio équipé avec véritable cuisine,balcon, literie confortable...Facilité pour le stationnement des véhicules ( parking au bout de la rue ) et centre commercial tout proche pour les courses. Hotel rustique mais avec du charme, personnel discret, courtois et professionnel. Tout proche la " quinta des Croix" avec son jardin de charme : reposant après une journée de randonnée !!...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaëlfrom Canada

three night in funchal

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very well located. Good Portuguese restaurant just next door. Nice view from the roof terrasse. Breakfast was good. Apartments are fully equipped. No elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julienfrom Rennes

Excellente adresse à Funchal, nous reviendrons !

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Très bon rapport qualité / prix. Personnel efficace & souriant. Bonnes prestations : confort, internet gratuit, ménage quotidien, parking proche.
Cons: Nos voisins étaient assez bruyants, rentraient tard le soir en parlant fort et en claquant les portes. Une politique du calme dans l'hôtel serait bien
Location: Nous avons surtout randonné sur l'île, donc passé peu de temps sur Funchal-même, mais le centre est accessible à pied en 10 minutes. Très agréable
Nous sommes ravis de notre séjour au Sao Paulo e Alegria : personnel très souriant, appartement confortable et rangé quotidiennement (serviettes changées, poubelles vidées, vaisselle faite...), bon petit-déjeuners servis par une dame très agréable et aux petits soins avec les hôtes. L'hôtel est à deux pas du centre-ville, idéal. Très bon rapport-qualité / prix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabethfrom Ipswich, UK

Good value, Helpful staff, Lovely balcony

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Everything (except the tiny bathroom)
Cons: Having the washbasin in the bedroom means that one person has to go outside to give privacy to their friend who is having a wash.
Location: Central. Good nearby restaurants on Rua da Carriera (we went every night to Espaco Funchal which offers three courses and coffee for 10 euros!)
A really nice hotel for the price. Our first room was in the annexe (Alegria) and had street noise, but the manager was happy to move us to the main hotel (Sao Paulo). Our new room opened onto a lovely balcony (shared with two other rooms, but that was OK). The shower room with wc was tiny (so the washbasin was in the bedroom itself), but it was all fine - clean, fresh towels every day, cheerful service, great breakfast (help yourself to ham, cheese, boiled egg, lovely bread rolls and croissants, a toaster, honey, jam and marmalade, tea, coffee, juice, various cereals, yoghurt and various fruits. And in our bedroom, there was a kettle, cups, teacloths, full size fridge and hairdryer. We also used the free computer in the reception area. On our last day, the manager arranged things specially so that we could keep our room until the afternoon so that we could rest before our evening flight. The manager is also easy to deal with by email as he speaks several languages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cheungfrom hong kong

服務不錯

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
職員服務很非常好﹗酒店沒有電梯,我們住在最高層的房間。房間沒有空調,下午很熱,但晚上入黑後還可以。酒店離機場巴士站有點遠,推著行李有點累。