Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom york yo32 uk

5 STAR +++ luxury.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff the food the service the rooms.
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: It's a 10min walk from Funchal centre.
We stayed New Years Eve and New Years Day, everything about this hotel is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln UK

Fantastic Hotel.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The setting of the hotel is great, the grounds and pool area are highly maintained at all times. The staff could not have been more helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is great there is a bus service close by and its just a short walk to the centre of Fuchal.
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week, over New Year. The hotel exceeded our expectation. The whole experience was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

An historic hotel on a cliff, above the capital

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Excellent stay in this world famous hotel steeped in history. Amazing charm about the place and the people who work there. Incredible location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom De Panne

Een romantisch verblijf in een goed gelegen hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: De sfeer en het personeel.
Cons: De Wifi gaat niet altijd even goed, evenals de airco.
Een ruime kamer in een mooi hotel dat de oude klasse van vroeger uitstraalt. Zeer vriendelijk personeel, een mooi zwembad en lekker eten. Zeker voor herhaling vatbaar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom torino

Eccellente hotel tradizionale e classico

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Il servizio, la posizione sul mare
Cons: Manca un ristorante informale. Possibilità di spuntini solo al cocktail bar.
Location: Leggermente decentrato, all'inizio della zona alberghiera
Comfort e tranquillità. Servizio perfetto. Un tè pomeridiano tradizionale all'inglese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A very enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Character, Staff, Service, Breakfast, Location
Location: Eat out, The Cable Car to Monte, and the Jardim Tropical Monte Palace , The tour Bus is great value
My wife had always wanted to stay at "Reid's", and it didn't disappoint.We received a great welcome from the staff, who remained both friendly and helpful throughout the all too short week that we stayed. We were upgraded to a "Classic room" as soon as we arrived, this was both clean and comfortable with it's own patio, and a wonderful view of the Marina and Funchal.I had read some criticism in reviews on some websites, however my own humble opinion (for what it's worth) is that "Reid's" still remains" the most famous Hotel on the Island, and, a Madeiran "Institution". We enjoyed the well renowned "Afternoon Tea" and the view of Funchal at night from the Cocktail Bar was wonderful. So, the $ 64,000.00 Question, would we stay again? Yep! certainly would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

fabulous hotel near to Funchal

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: staff,location,grounds
Cons: food and its pricing
Location: walking distance to town with own minibus service into centre
we had a wonderful stay at Reids my only small gripe was that the french restaurant did not live up to its cost! the service was wonderful but there are better cheaper hotels in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CHAMBERY

Hotel accueillant avec l'élégance très Britannique

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Le style "Belle époque", le parc de 4 Hectares fleurie, la vue imprenable de toute les chambres sur le parc et la mer, la piscine chauffée à 26°C.
Cons: Les prise électriques permettant de charger les appareils et sèche cheveux sans se mettre à 4 pattes. Une information complète et exhaustive.
Dommage qu'il faille se mettre à 4 pattes pour brancher le sèche cheveux. Dommage que personne ne nous ait informé qu'il y avait un Sauna et un Hammam disponible gratuitement à volonté. On ne l'a su que le dernier jours à l'occasion d'une séance de massage (payant) au SPA. Il faut avoir une tenue habillée pour dîner au restaurant, mais ça c'est plus-tôt bien, ça élimine les "BEAUFS" en short et savates qui font tâches!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom woodford green

Best hotel on the island

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Although this hotel was one of the most expensive on the island it was worth paying the extra, it was truly unique, right down to every detail. It went the extra mile to set itself apart from other 5* hotels. The staff were all welcoming and friendly. The position of the hotel was excellent, and I can't say a bad word about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Superb hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is in Funchal so plenty to see and do. Excellent views from the hotel across the harbour
I can't think of a better hotel anywhere in the world. Superb facilities, staff and food.