Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, u.k.

Belmont Reids Palace.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Room with wonderful views over the gardens and sea.
Cons: No
Location: Overlooking Funchal on a headland. Courtesy bus. Comprehensive trips available . Walking Leveda trails. Sea trips
Wonderful Hotel with exceptional service. Gardens and views over the sea , Funchal and history do make this a very special place to stay. Villa Ciprani , restaurant very good. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston super Mare

Lovely hotel and great location

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: Nothing all was good
Location: About a 10 minute walk to the harbour. Lots of nice restaurants around.
This is a great hotel with good facilities. This is our fourth visit to Madeira but first stay at Reids. The hotel is lovely and the staff make you feel special. Your breakfast will be cooked for you if you ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quality service and comfort

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Excellent hotel in a grand tradition with friendly and personable staff. We were made to feel special throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Rieds

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Location: At Rieds you don't need to go anywhere
There are thousands of 5star hotels around the world with outstanding facilities, but NONE, has the charm, or the staff, to compare with Rieds, it is the only place in the world where we make return visits
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London uk

Lazy Days

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: What's not to like!! its private location and proximity to the sea ,is like jumping off the back of your private yacht, its just fantastic.
Cons: Possibly nothing!!!!
Location: Brilliant, michelin star restaurants, old town,cable cars all within walking distance between 5 and 20mins max.
Probably one of the best breaks i've ever had! All due to the 1st class running of a truly 5* establishment. If your going to Funchal, allow a little extra for your accommodation and treat yourself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Romantic break (So romantic we got Enganged here!)

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: I really liked the history and heritage to this hotel. The grandeur/standard of the building + decor of the rooms is outstanding. The staff wonderful!
Cons: Not much I can say needs improvement.. Perfect for us!
Location: The hotel is Perched on a cliff overlooking the bay ideally situated in the town of Funchal. It is east to get into the center and resturants are near
I have been looking for a Beautiful location for a quiet romantic break with my girlfriend and my uncle suggested Madeira... Almost everyone I spoke to said that if you visit the Island you must have afternoon tea at Reids Palace. All the reviews made it an easy decision to stay at this hotel. Arriving by air is exciting (for many reasons) but the atmosphere on arrival was instantly relaxing. Madeira is lush, colourful ,very green clean and cosy.. The people of this gem of a place really make it.. They are very friendly (without exception) and welcoming.. Truely charming place which I cannot wait to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Enormous Enjoyment

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not Applicable
Location: Plenty of good places to eat, Plenty of places to explore, quiet and very relaxing
Nothing was too much trouble, Staff were superb, room was superb, just an overall brilliant stay in what is a fab hotel. I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

A most relaxing break

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: It's understated elegance
Cons: We loved everything about it
Location: Ideal for a walk into Funchal. Vary it by walking via the wonderful gardens or along the port
We were made most welcome - nothing was too much trouble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel full of character.

Posted May 30, 2015
Cons: The TV in Charming room was very small with poor reception.
Location: Excellent location by the ocean. Good choice of restaurants close by. Walking distance of Funchal.
First class service at all times with most helpful staff at every level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V.

wunderschöne erfahrung

Posted May 22, 2015
einfach alles war toll. die mitarbeiter an der rezeption, das zimmer (charming room), die poollandschaft, das frühstück (besser als hilton), die inneneinrichtung (total charmant wie ein altes grand hotel und absolut sauber, überall!!!), die mitarbeiter am pool, das clubsandwich :-) nur zu empfehlen! wlan war ok, sogar bis zum pool! zimmerservice super, das personal ist sehr höflich, immer freundlich und sehr gut geschult. weiss nicht, wie man hier eine schlechte bewertung geben kann.... manchen leuten kann man halt nicht helfen.