Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Séjour hors du temps

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Le cadre, les jardins, les piscines, les petits déjeuners, l'accueil
Cons: Draps (plus doux)
Nous avons passés un superbe séjour au Reids Palace dans une "charming room " avec vue mer. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié les jardins exotiques magnifiques et très bien entretenus, les piscines chauffées et les petits déjeuners très variés. Le personnel est très aimable et avait réservé une surprise pour mon anniversaire. Nous espérons avoir l'occasion d'y revenir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes, UK

Fabulous Hotel with impeccable service

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the coast on the outskirts of Funchal. A 10-minute walk into the town centre.
This is one of the world's finest hotels and staying here is like taking a step into the past. Very traditional hotel, extremely comfortable, wonderful location and the breakfast is worth dying for. The staff are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. I've stayed here several times and will be going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Couple's Valentine weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The WIFI was extremely slow.
My husband and I loved this hotel. Everything from the facilities to the staff are top notch. We booked two spa treatments and the experience was heavenly. We ate breakfast and lunch on site and the food was really good with a wide selection of food choices. In addition, we had dinner at the Italian restaurant and the food is amazing! We enjoyed a Jr. Suite with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic. Our room looked exactly like the photos online and the bedding is first class! This is a historic hotel and it feels very English and it a great stay if you are not looking to party but rather rest and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom york yo32 uk

5 STAR +++ luxury.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff the food the service the rooms.
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: It's a 10min walk from Funchal centre.
We stayed New Years Eve and New Years Day, everything about this hotel is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln UK

Fantastic Hotel.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The setting of the hotel is great, the grounds and pool area are highly maintained at all times. The staff could not have been more helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is great there is a bus service close by and its just a short walk to the centre of Fuchal.
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week, over New Year. The hotel exceeded our expectation. The whole experience was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

An historic hotel on a cliff, above the capital

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Excellent stay in this world famous hotel steeped in history. Amazing charm about the place and the people who work there. Incredible location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom De Panne

Een romantisch verblijf in een goed gelegen hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: De sfeer en het personeel.
Cons: De Wifi gaat niet altijd even goed, evenals de airco.
Een ruime kamer in een mooi hotel dat de oude klasse van vroeger uitstraalt. Zeer vriendelijk personeel, een mooi zwembad en lekker eten. Zeker voor herhaling vatbaar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom torino

Eccellente hotel tradizionale e classico

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Il servizio, la posizione sul mare
Cons: Manca un ristorante informale. Possibilità di spuntini solo al cocktail bar.
Location: Leggermente decentrato, all'inizio della zona alberghiera
Comfort e tranquillità. Servizio perfetto. Un tè pomeridiano tradizionale all'inglese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A very enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Character, Staff, Service, Breakfast, Location
Location: Eat out, The Cable Car to Monte, and the Jardim Tropical Monte Palace , The tour Bus is great value
My wife had always wanted to stay at "Reid's", and it didn't disappoint.We received a great welcome from the staff, who remained both friendly and helpful throughout the all too short week that we stayed. We were upgraded to a "Classic room" as soon as we arrived, this was both clean and comfortable with it's own patio, and a wonderful view of the Marina and Funchal.I had read some criticism in reviews on some websites, however my own humble opinion (for what it's worth) is that "Reid's" still remains" the most famous Hotel on the Island, and, a Madeiran "Institution". We enjoyed the well renowned "Afternoon Tea" and the view of Funchal at night from the Cocktail Bar was wonderful. So, the $ 64,000.00 Question, would we stay again? Yep! certainly would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

fabulous hotel near to Funchal

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: staff,location,grounds
Cons: food and its pricing
Location: walking distance to town with own minibus service into centre
we had a wonderful stay at Reids my only small gripe was that the french restaurant did not live up to its cost! the service was wonderful but there are better cheaper hotels in town.