Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant and quiet.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Just a lovely place to relax. Great staff, great food and a lovely interesting island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxing hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The location is very good, the pools were lovely, rooms are big with huge verandas, restaurant food and wine are excellent. Courtesy bus into Funchal
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable. Staff were excellent but the service was occasionally a little slow in the bar and restaurant.
Location: Botanical garden, cable cars, toboggan ride, Blandys wine tasting and tour.
Lovely hotel set in the hills above the capital with great views of Funchal. It's very quiet and peaceful and we had a relaxing break. Staff were friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DW from Bracknell

Beautiful Hotel secluded high in the hills .......

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The hotel is fantastic, great rooms, perfect location. it's very similar to exclusive hotels found in the rain forests of the Far East. It is very tranquil and an ideal retreat. It's about a 15 minute drive to the centre of Funchal (but it is too far to walk!). It should also be borne in mind that it is often a few degrees cooler than the resort and maybe shrouded by cloud from time to time. However, when the sun shines you will find no better place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ockert from Woking, England

Great Hotel, Fantastic Views

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Everything. It really is a fantastic place to stay.
Cons: The only minor gripe we would have is that some of the furniture in the rooms and restaurant needs refurbishment, the hotel is of such a high standard
Location: Apart from the easy access to Funchal we also managed to get to see almost all of the rest of the island during our stay without any problems.
A wonderful oasis perched high above Funchal, with breathtaking views. The accommodation, spa and fitness facilities were top class. The staff were superbly professional. The restaurant is very good, with the catch of the day served on a hot beach pebble being the outstanding dish. The hotel has easy access to Funchal, but if you a first time driver on Madeira, really do research your route, following the hotel web site directions is advised, our sat-nav system guided us along some very narrow and steep streets, not ideal. As a base to explore Madeira from during the day and a luxury retreat after a hard days touring this hotel was unbeatable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and serene hideaway

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location wise it is set back up on a hill and not walkable from Funchal so requires a short taxi ride (12 to 15 Euros each way) or the hotel has a minibus 3 times a day to and from town and I would recommend to rent a car for a few days if you want to access some of the more remote parts of the island. The hotel itself is lovely, very relaxing and the staff can't do enough for you. Restaurant is of the highest quality and the massage treatments are fantastic. It is a little bit cooler up there than down in town but definitely worth it for the views and the feeling of being away from it all. Muito relaxante!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calm and relaxing environment

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Great views and it is nice to be away from the main city. The hotel is also on a Levada to enable an easy start to a self guided walk.
Location: Monte is about 1 - 1.5 hours walking from the hotel. The hotel is also a short day walk to Camacha (along the Levada).
Lovely place with fantastic views. The location is half way up a mountain and you get fantastic view of the sea and Funchal. Shuttle bus from the hotel works well to take people to Funchal (3 times a day to/from Funchal during our stay)- which takes about 15-20 minutes. The SPA treatment was great, good swimming pools and there is a sauna and a steam room. There is a small library (different languages). Restaurant food was good - service is a bit slow so I would allocate at least 2 hours for an evening meal. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely use the hotel again.
2 out of 5
by John from Southampton, England

Observations of a disappointed guest.

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: The Staff were very friendly and the views over Funchal magnificent when there was no low cloud base. The breakfast buffet & menu were adequate.
Cons: Prior notice of unusable facilities. More consideration for guests when a noisy external party is booked. The music volume did not need to be so loud.
Location: There are no alternative dining facilities with reasonable walking distance of the hotel.
Initial warm welcome and appearance were spoilt by both Sauna and Steam Room being out of order all week. On Saturday from 15.00 until 23.30 there was excessively loud music played in the pool area. When complaining we were told 'we left a note in your room about this on Thursday'. We did not ask what we were then supposed to do. We were not advised that when booking a taxi there would be a charge of circa 11 euros already on the meter when the taxi arrived to pick us up at the hotel. There are more than 80 steps up to the Dining Room and Reception. Certainly not suitable for those with walking difficulties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anjni

Choupana Hills

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: The staff are fantastic. Phillipe and Valeria in particular are absolute superstars.
Cons: The outside of the hotel could do with a refresh, peeling paintwork down by the pool. The furnishings are a bit tired and could and should be replaced
Location: Visit Pico Arieiro for stunning walks and views. Dolphin/whale watching. Reid's Palace hotel for tea & cake. Toboggan from Monte after cable car ride.
Having read several of the reviews in relation to this hotel my expectations were high. On arrival the staff at the resort were extremely polite, helpful and courteous, a theme that would continue throughout our stay. In fact I would go as far as to say they went above and beyond anything I have experienced in the UK. This included helping to recover our hire car after we stupidly turned immediate left out of the hotel and found ourselves in a spot of bother! The hotel runs a regular shuttle service down to Funchal which is both reliable and punctual. The restaurant serves good food throughout the day and the breakfast has a wide range of tasty options. In terms of upkeep it is well maintained albeit it is starting to fade slightly from its original pristine condition. This is reflected in some peeling paintwork and tired furnishings. This is very superficial and could be easily remedied. It certainly did not diminish from our stay but I suppose it gives people something to criticise if they are that way inclined. It was really nice to be out of town away from the obvious tourist strip with the bonus of wonderful views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sigman from dublin

Beautiful panorama of Funchal

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was quite tricky to get to the hotel in the middle of the night at first with our rented car, but once we learnt the route we never had any problems. External and internal pools are available 24/7 so anyone liking night swimming will be satisfied. At the time when we were there only one dry sauna was available. Food selection very good, staff very helpful. Initially we have got a room with a view limited by another house roof but we asked if there is a chance to change it for the better view since that was what made us choosing this hotel over others and the next day we got information that there is another room available and is ready to move in. The only thing that could be improved is wifi access, it is available only in the restaurant and is so slow that is usable only for reading emails, don't expect watching video news or browsing websites without frustration. For people looking for active holidays, there is a levada trail coming through the resort, and following it you can get to Monte cable car within 45 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Riverginny from Guildford

Beautiful hotel, beautiful views and great staff

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Every single member of staff were a delight and could not do enough for their guests. Fantastic views and position. Breakfast great.
Cons: The dinner menu was a little limited for a 5 star hotel and for me the bed was very hard but that's personal choice.
Location: Walk, enjoy the beauty of the island. Funchal town is very clean and there are many places to eat. We didn't get to see a fraction of what is on offer
We arrived and were checked in with ease by Joel and shown to our glorious rooms - more like small apartments than rooms! The sea view rooms look over Funchal and contain every comfort you could need. They have decks to relax on and well arranged bathrooms and storage. we used the Spa and the massage was very good indeed. The hotel is outside the centre of Funchal but this is accessible by courtesy bus and taxis are easy to find and cheap if you stay down to eat in the town. Although Funchal is good to be in, being away from town makes the stay more restful. You can walk from the hotel along the irrigation paths - levadas - to tea houses and the flowers along the way are beautiful. You need to love little lizards too (none in the room though!) We had a fantastic stay.