Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marco from London

Better than expected

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I read some less complimentary reviews before coming to hotel however was very pleased with my stay. Perfect for a week in the sun or long weekend. Low cost but comfortable, spacious and friendly. I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by graham

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very impressed with this hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delightful !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A & M from Galway, Ireland

Basic and archaic.

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you looking for some luxury find another place. This hotel is really dated, everything is old and in need of proper renovation. We're usually looking for a basic place to sleep, shower and keep our stuff, but even for that this place wasn't good enough. Walls and floors in this place were so thin, that you could easily hear every sound: from flushing toilets, moving objects, your neighbour snoring or street noise at night. On one occasion we came back from all day hiking to find out that our door lock was broken and we couldn't get in. When we reported the problem we were ask to wait for the maintenance guy because there wasn't one at the site at that moment. It took them one hour to fix it and no one even said 'sorry'. Another day the toilet flush (never seen such an old and loud thing in my life) broke down. Also the bathroom light was dodgy with the light only coming on after several times of flicking the switch. The restaurant and breakfast were basic, no hot meals at all and literally same food every day (with very little to choose from). And the worst thing, they keep a few cats in the hotel grounds and at least on 3 occasions during the breakfast time we had the cats begging for food between the guests tables inside the restaurant. This place is cheap, but not worth to stay there for more than one night. Stay in another place instead.
2 out of 5
by Shirley from York, UK

Not happy

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Nice curtains.
Cons: Most things.
Location: Location is good and views are splendid, if you're in the right room.
Why would anyone build a hotel where you really can't get from one part to the reception, pool and restaurant except by going on the road? I spent a lot of time traipsing backwards and forwards. My room was not particularly clean, and I could hear everything through the wall from the next door room. It was threfore a pity that they checked in and unpacked at half past midnight. The shower attachment was vertical to the bathroom wall meaning that the water was projected pretty much horizontally and also soaked the floor. There was no air conditioning and as my room was next to the road I couldn't sleep with the door open onto the balcony because of traffic noise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go there!

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Worst Hotel I've ever been to. After the second day we decided to leave and go to another hotel in Madeira although we had 4 days ahead of us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danny from Portsmouth, UK

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, cheap and cheerful
Cons: Pool opening times were limited
Location: Quiet, out of the city centre but easy 15-20 min bus ride. Local restaurants are uninspiring but a local beach 10-15 min walk away
The hotel was cheap and cheerful. We will probably stay there again if we back to Madeira. A couple of niggles though. As mentioned in other reviews that although a small kitchen (sink, fridge and 2 hobs) there were no utensils. The fridge was nice to have. The pool opening times was 0900-1800 but as there wasn't a life guard why was this? Also, and maybe it was because it was March, breakfast was basic .I found it good but my fiancée would have liked more choice especially prepared fruit. Another thing the restaurants near the hotel were uninspiring but not the hotels fault. On the plus side the hotel was clean, comfy and pleasant to stay in. The staff spoke good English and were helpful. Another plus is the the bus service to Funchal. It went from outside the hotel to the centre of Funchal along a spectacular route for just over 2Euros a head. Well worth it. A GOOD BASIC HOTEL WORTH TRYING IF YOU'RE NOT INTERESTED IN FRILLS BUT JUST WANT SOMEWHERE TO SLEEP, WASH & KEEP YOU STUFF.
2 out of 5
by Bob from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK

Do'nt stay here

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: No hotel parking estimated extra cost around 80 euros just for parking at hotel DO NOT believe there is free parking in local streets there is'nt
Location: Reasonably quiet but 20 minute drive to Funchal
We were under the impression that we had booked a self catering hotel but on arrival were told that although the room had a basic kitchen(two electric rings a sink and a fridge that did'nt close# and the seals were covered in black mould we were told if we wanted equipment it would cost 6 euros per. day. On further inspection we found the shower fixture was broken although it was fixed later.The "Classic garden view" was of two huge calor gas tanks#See Photo) On two occasions we returned to find our room door open it was"nt till we reported it for the second time that the door was adjusted so it closed properly without being slammed .Also the advertised regular entertainment turned out to be a party for locals around the pool once only.On the whole a very shabby hotel in desperate need of refurbishment.Madiera is wonderful but stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a convenient location, with public transport just outside the entrance. Parking facilities nearby. Nice restaurants & Tapas bars in the area. The hotel itself has 3 swimming pools, one of which is in- doors. The staff is friendly & helpful. There is free WiFi in the main reception area. Every day the towels were changed, the room was cleaned and there were fresh sheets on the bed. The balcony was big, with a view to the sea. Quite idyllic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from uxbridge

good for price

Posted Oct 21, 2011
Location: funchal
we stayed at dom pedro 2 adults one 3 year old this is our second time ,for the price you can`t get a better hotel we had just room only because there are lovely eating places outside the hotel or in the centre we also hired a car which for us was a must as we went round the island. the hotel is not 5 star so if youe fancy a 5 star but think you can get the same service your mistaken. but for a place to stay for room only you cant beat it.the swimming pools are not heated but the time we went the weather was hot so nice and refreasing for us .they have 3 pools in total and tennis courts plus free internet at reception only. once again i stress for the price it`s great but do remember it is a 3 star.