Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by allenhh from devon

Good Location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Nice hotel with comfy rooms , an excellent location and good staff .Breakfast was a lot better than it used to be, so well worth having. They are repairing the road outside at the moment, but the workers start at 9 and finish at 5 so no problems whatsoever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hoperp from Wales, UK

Convenient location

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Sensible price and a perfect location a 20 minute walk form the city centre.
Cons: A discrete washing line in the bathroom or on the veranda would have been a nice addition, but really no complaints at all.
Location: Perfect location a 20 minute walk from the city centre, restaurants, car hire, supermarket and tour companies within metres of the entrance.
I have used this hotel once before, nicely positioned for nearby restaurants and an easy walk or use the free bus into the city centre. Car hire, tour companies and supermarket are a few metres away. The staff and reception were excellent, they even checked us in a couple of hours early without any complaint. Room a little tired, but clean and satisfactory with a sink, small fridge and hotplate if one wished to do basic self catering. Free WiFi, though the signal was a little intermittent in the restraunt / bar / poolside area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Nice staff and good price

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
in hotel area,not really the center of funchal. have shuttle bus, before 6only nice staff, good english, with kitchen. good for budget traveller
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a very convenient location with shops, travel bureaus, restraunts, and bus stops nearby. The views from our 2 terraces were spectacular. We had 2 rooms and a kitchenette which made for a comfortable stay. The bedroom decor was o.k. but would be much improved with updated touches like better lights and cheerful matching colors to enhance the bedroom. The bedroom photos on line do this, The dining and breakfast rooms and small sitting areas were lovely. I would stay here again. It was a wonderful find for a moderate price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Excellent location and a nice hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2011
I traveled to Madeira with my husband and 2 teenager daughters and we didn't expect to find a nice hotel with a good location and good service. The hotel was close to the city center (walking distance) and all the room had ocean view, was really amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great Budget Hotel, and Extremely Good Value

Posted Dec 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
We got the hotel for 2 persons for double the price of a hostel per night, which was extremely good value, sea view, decent breakfast buffet, and 2 very spacious rooms in the apartment, incl. kitchen and TWO balconies with sea view...! VERY recommendable :D Michael
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Room with a view (ish)

Posted Sep 24, 2008
Ok this is not the best hotel on the island but it is centrally located, clean and the staff are very friendly - they even gave us a bottle of wine as a birthday present for my husband without prompting. The kitchen aspect is basic but is enough to whip up the odd meal or lazy lunch. We had a room which over looked the road - which they were digging up - this meant it was very noisy but as the aircon was even louder we learnt to live with it the bonus is we had a beautiful sea view. The pool is lovely and we often had it to ourselves not counting the odd lizard. Ok we saw some cockroaches but they were all dead ones and none in our room or the breakfast room. The breakfast room did get crowded and hot and so it is worth getting up a bit earlier to stand a chance of sitting by the window. There is a free bus but it doesn't run that often and you have to share it with the other Dorisol Hotel - this means it can get very busy in the afternoon - but the walk to Funchal, although long, has lots of places to stop and admire the view if you can't get on. If you are after cheap and cheerful with a good pool and good access then this is a good choice - if you want pampered luxury then pick somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

You pay for what you get

Posted Sep 14, 2008
This hotel was a inexpensive but of a really poor standard. Our seaview room was really noisy with road traffic from 5 am in the morning. Car parking was non existent. All hotel facilites - tennis, pool were based at a partner hotel a ten minute walk away. There was a collection of bugs in the bathroom floor for the duration of our stay. Poor facilities are one thing but the staff were really unhelpful. It was as if we were an inconvienience. Sometimes you can bear bad facilities if the staff try to be helpful but they simply were not. A smile goes a long way. statements like "...you can park you car outside but it will get towed away at 8 am by the police" are not really helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luton

Could Do Better

Posted Aug 20, 2008
The hotel is right in the middle of the hotel zone. The view is marred by building works. We had a major infestation of bugs in our room (in the bed!). Although it was dealt with quickly it put us off the hotel. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was very good, the staff were pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Good value, will definately use this hotel again

Posted Jul 1, 2008
Booked this hotel as part of a package with Expedia flying with easyJet from Stanstead. I have been to Madeira many times before but not stayed at the Florasol and was pleasantly surprised. Remember this is an old hotel and offers quite basic facilities. Best feature for me was the sundeck and swimming pool which were excellent and incidentally much better than teh upmarket hotel next door which the Florasol deck looks down onto ... literally. Rooms ok, quite basic but perfectly useable. Don't panic if you end up not in the tower, ie with a room on the second floor as I did which is right above the main road and hence noisey. Easy solution, close the door at night and turn on the air con. Only the rooms on the second floor have air con for this very reason which is actually a bonus. No air con in tower rooms but Madeira quite cool in evenings. Pool area fantastic and a cracking outside restaurant next to the pool which is not actually run by the hotel but offered really good food all day. Will definately use this hotel again, mostly older clientle so very relaxing etc. Madeira is as beautiful as ever, and June / July perfect weather, sunny all day but not hot ...... perfect