Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Manchester

Really nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Nice breakfast unless your fussy.Clean rooms and a nice touch of refridgerator in the rooms.
Cons: Coffe making facilities.
Location: Well located on the main road near to the sea with plenty of eating places.45 minute walk into Funchal
Really nice hotel,well located with nice food, and reasonable drink prices.Roadworks directly outside the hotel a bit of an issue, however just means a short walk to the lower road bus stop.Hotel bus service a waste of time due to inconvenient times much easier to get the no.1 or no.2 bus into Funchal at a cost of 2 euros.Only thing lacking in the hotel is maybe coffee making facilities.Quite a walk to the cable car which is the far side of Funchal,took us nearly an hour.The gardens at the top of the cable car are well worth a visit.Did a lavada walk to what was called Paradise valley,however not my idea of paradise,but nevertheless beautiful flora and fauna.Eating out was a really nice experience,except for the price of wine,not sure why because the same stuff is in the supermarkets for 2.5 euros.Never felt ripped off and think the madeiran's are generally friendly people Enjoy!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valdir from London- UK

My Home in Funchal

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Everything, they know me and when I get there everything what I like is in place, all the staff know even my favourite room.
Cons: Internet in the rooms, because there is internet conecction on the PA.
Location: it is very central, great restaurant and shopping area.
I love the place, the staff and the localization. I have been staying at this Hotel for the past 10 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rebekkah from Colorado but living in UK

Friendly staff, nice location.

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: The staff were wonderful and made us feel very welcome. The location by the boardwalk was also nice.
Cons: The hotel could change the latches on the sliding glass doors to the balcony and could warm up the indoor pool a few degrees.
Location: A beautiful boardwalk with numerous cafes. Also a shopping mall and a supermarket. Close public transportation.
The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to personalize our stay. The staff all spoke very good English as well as other languages that made it easy to get around. This hotel is a good walk into the center of Funchal, but walkable none-the-less. This hotel is in close proximity to numerous options for public transportation as well. Also, there is a beautiful boardwalk that runs along the ocean just a short distance from this hotel. We opted to get the room with the kitchenette which I believe was worth it as there is a small supermarket less than a block away. The breakfast served at the hotel that was included in our room was fantastic with lots of variety to choose from. The room was clean, but had some mildew stains in the shower just like most areas that have a high humidity atmosphere. My only complaints would be that the sliding glass doors to the balcony automatically latch when the door is closed so we got locked out twice, but were rescued with no snickers or looks of condemnation. This hotel has lovely indoor and outdoor pools, but both were a bit cold for me to stay in much more than a couple of minutes. Also, there was a nice shopping mall close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S from Bath, England

Good value for money

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was fantastic. We have no grumbles - for the price we paid compared to other hotels leaves me to highly recommend the Alto Lido
Cons: It would have been good to have tea and coffee in the room.
Location: The hotel is about 20 mins from the town centre. There is also a complimentry bus into town if you do not want to walk.
We stayed in Madeira for nine days and the Alto Lido was an ideal base, reasonable price, friendly staff and only a short walk from the centre - We really enjoyed our holiday exploring Madeira. A quick tip - Visit the old town and have a meal at restaurant Mozart.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice views

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Bad service with pool towels. Need to go to front desk to pay €20 euros for each towel And then pick up towels at pool site. Take towels to front desk to get credit for it. Time waste for Hotel guests. I thin they charge me for the towels not sore yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin from solihull

Good value option for stay in Madeira

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Location: Get a bus pass and tour the town for great sites and walks. In particular we loved the levada walk from Palheiro Ferreiro to Monte.
The hotel was situated in the hotel zone a short walk from the Aerobus and local bus stops. For travel into Funchal we purchased a 5 day bus pass from the town centre bus station for 19 euros which was excellent as it covered all of the key sites in and around the town. Although slightly dated compared to the new build hotels further down the hill the hotel was very clean and the staff extremely helpful. The rooms were very spacious which added to the overall comfort. The buffet breakfast was good, if not a bit chaotic at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Holiday

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Generally a good experience but needs updating.Ongoing road construction was noisy and a bother!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Good hotel 35min from airport by aerobus, hotel courtesy bus service to funchal and back four times a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from England

Good location, good hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Quiet, clean, good service
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: About half an hour down-hill to the main town, though plenty of restaurants nearby. Pleasant walk into town, got the bus back (cheap and regular).
Comfortable, well located hotel.Very good breakfast selection. Were able to check in 2 hours early as the room was ready, which was a bonus. Can't comment on other meals or the bar as we did not use them but the bar prices were very reasonable indeed. In fact we were pleasantly surprised at the prices generally in the area - certainly did not feel 'ripped' off. Look out for the 'tourist menus' which are good value. We had a room on the 5th floor looking out to the side which was very quiet. Pools indoor and out, both relaxing areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and helpful hotel

Posted May 28, 2013
All areas very clean, corridors and rooms kept clean. Very friendly and helpful staff and they make a great cappucino