Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont ca

Posted May 23, 2014
Location: Located at city center
Excellent staff and great location,there is also a great family cafe across the walkway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a hotel with studio rooms

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: It's a nice hotel.
Cons: It could be free.
Location: It's in Funchal, everything is nearby.
I had a nice time, but I really don't feel like writing about it. I paid for a holiday. I got a holiday. I think it was good value. I'm not Samuel Pepys. Can I go now?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Birmingham, UK

Central apartments in Funchal,ideal for explorers!

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: It's location was perfect. Only a few minutes walk from the aerobus stop and central to other activites and the seafront in Funchal.
Cons: The reception desk needs to be a little more inviting and the signage from the street needs improving.I walked past 4 times before spotting the doors!
Location: Being literally next to the Se Cathedral meant you are right in the centre of Funchal. There's plenty of restaurants nearby, and the sightseeing bus!
Lovely set of apartments in the centre of Funchal. An ideal base, ringht under the shadow of the Se Cathedral and literally only a few minutes walk from the seafront, marina, bus stops, restaurants, bars and sightseeing bus stops; basically an ideal location for anyone wanting to explore the city. The cable car to Monte is a few hundred meters away as well, as is the famous Market - all of which are worth seeing. The apartments themselves, spread over 5 floors, contain all you need for a home-from-home experience - bathroom, main bedrooms and a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cooker and sink (although in my case none were needed as I ate out all the time!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Steve from London

funchal winter break

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is reasonably priced and in a superb location near the cathedral and within walking distance of everything. The reviews on Trip advisor said there was a lot of noise at night. There was a little noise from a nearby cafe but nothing that bothered me. It is the city centre after all. It was fine. I have to say the reception staff were really helpful and welcoming and spoke good English. The room was cleaned daily. There is a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, hob and kettle plus cutlery and crockery. Pingo Doce supermarket is a ten minute walk away in Andina shopping centre.It sells everything you'd need.The downside is the rooms are a little basic and functional. Not luxury. I had a tv remote that didn't work. A replacement didn't work either. The hairdryer didn't work either. I discovered there was no hot water for the shower at 8.30 am. So I showered earlier and it was fine. There was also an invasion of tiny bugs in the kitchen. Don't leave food uncovered! I wondered if other rooms were affected. Anyway, overall a mixed experience. I've told you the good and bad. The little problems didn't bother me too much. But if you want luxury, this isn't for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lovemadeira from England

Friendly, value hotel in old town.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Central location, quiet at night, spacious and clean rooms, helpful and friendly staff, nice roof terrace.
Cons: More reliable hot water supply.
Location: Convenient for island tours, levada walks, inexpensive local café/bars, cable car to Monte and the botanical gardens. Close to seafront/dock/marina.
We had a standard exterior room which was quite spacious, with comfortable twin beds, linen changed once a week, tea towel and napkins provided. The bathroom was very nice, fully tiled and clean, with powerful shower over bath and shower screen, toilet, bidet, and sink with a large surrounding surface. The towels were changed twice during our seven day stay. Unfortunately each towel change was accompanied by an overnight lack of hot water (could be a coincidence but I suspect the hot water was all used in laundering the towels). The central location, on a pedestrianized street was very convenient and quiet at night. There was a street restaurant with music outside our window but the music ended at about 11pm. The chimes of the cathedral bells are also silenced between 8pm and 8am so very peaceful at night (also thick curtains cut out the light and thin ones prevented insects coming in when windows were open - all day as we were on the 4th floor). We did not test the air con. The kitchen area was very compact but contained everything that we needed, twin hob, kettle, microwave, fridge and adequate utensils and crockery for two people. No can opener I noted (and no hairdryer either) but I am confident they would have been supplied if I had asked. The roof terrace was lovely for relaxing, reading, watching the cruise ships come and go and watching the town light up at night or the sun rise in the morning. Not perfect, not luxurious, but good value. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by traveller

great location, helpful staffs , clean room

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is the center of funchal, have elevator so no need to worry if you have heavy luggage. The staffs are helpful and friendly. Just the equipment of the room u cannot expect much, but still a lovely hotel. No shampoo and shower jel was provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mick from England

Perfect location in the centre of Funchal but stil

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location, price and cleanliness
Cons: Lookls like they once had a restaurant that now never opens
Location: So handy for restaurants, buses and everything else Funchal has to offer
Clean and basic in great location. We had an apartment so had loads of room, including a small kitchen area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from West Sussex, UK

SUPER CENTRAL ACCOMMODATION

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness and modern décor and fittings, and the location. Good value too.
Cons: Just that the lovely roof terrace area only had one table and two chairs, yet about a dozen sunbeds.
Location: Superb!
We wanted a accommodation in a very central position that was clean & comfortable with no frills, and, frankly, not up a hill! This was what we got & more. The fact that breakfast was not included, and no bar, didn't matter at all, as you just step outside and there are cafes a few steps away. In a daytime pedestrian area, a few yards from the cathedral, the seafront and the central avenue, just by the corner of a large sunny square. Quiet during the night as no traffic nearby. Great views from the roof terrace. We were upgraded to a very large exterior room with self-catering facilities and an equally large bathroom. Only slight niggle was one wall light not working, and the other began to constantly flicker, but plenty of other lights were OK. Free use of computer in the lobby. Friendly , helpful staff always on hand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Inneta from West newton MA

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: People,location, service
Location: Superb
We stay at the hotel for 9 days. Two family from Germany and USA. We like the hotel and people who are working there. Very good service, very friendly and helpfully stuff. We definitely recommend for other tourists.