Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Britain

Nice stay walking distance to centre of Funchal.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Helpful friendly staff and close to town centre. A welcoming arrival and informative about attractions and locations.
Cons: The safe in the room could be replaced with electronic safe. (It is a key and lock).
Location: The hotel is located next to a carpark along a street that is 5/10 minutes walk from the main town centre. 10 minutes walk to the cable car and sea.
Nice clean small hotel with that is furnished in a retro/vintage style. (Pictures of 50s movie stars, and impressive vintage cash register). The staff were very warm and welcoming and a glass of wine offered to each guest on arrival. Informative check in with directions to nearest sites of interest. We immediately booked some tours of the island which are at a discounted price here. The pool was small, nice and clean and located on top of the building with a good view of a hillside landscape in the city. Breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet as you would expect in Europe of a good standard with fresh fruits and vegetables. Hotel was very close (about 10 minutes walk) into the town centre and cable car and restaurants. The rooms and bathroom are small but tidy and just right for a short stay in Madeira. A friendly stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München

gute lage; alles kann fußläufig erreicht werden

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: zentrumsnah und sehr freundliches personal
Cons: die möbel sind etwas abgewohnt und das bad müsste modernisiert werden. dusche ausreichend. damit würde mehr platz (ablagen......)
Location: zentral. man kann alles (zentrum, markt, altstadt...) schnell erreichen
das hotel ist ein gutes basislager um ganz madeira erkunden zu können.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Happy customers

Posted May 18, 2015
From check in to check out we were delighted with all aspects with the hotel. We were greated by Nadia who explained the islands best fixtures over a glass of complimentary bubbles. Over the week Antonio assisted us in booking our day/night trips. All staff members made us feel like home. We will recommend Hotel Do Carmo to all friends and family visiting Madeira.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice hotel close walking distance to everything.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Affordability and location.
Location: Close to everything as far as walking distance. The market is nearby and shopping and restaurants and bus station.
The hotel was simple but clean and affordable and we enjoyed all the amenities it had to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Perfect hotel, excellent location, facilities and very helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Das Hotel ist sehr gut gelegen und das Personal ist sehr freundlich. Perfektes 3 Sterne Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent value and location

Posted Feb 11, 2015
great value for money and an excellent location for exploring the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zentrale Lage, super Service

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Ein schönes, leicht versteckentes Hotel. Zimmer sauber und von angemessener Größe. Das Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend. Abstriche gibts beim Frühstück, dass sehr einseitig und unabwechlungsreich war.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Solvår Mælenfrom Hamar

God service.

Posted Jan 24, 2015 
Vi hadde ei flott uke på Hotell do Carmo. Stille og rolig strøk, men sentralt. Blide og veldig hyggelige personale. Grei frokost. Rene fine rom, men litt mye små maur på vårt rom. Det burde være bedre Wi-Fi dekning vi forventer å kunne bruke data på hotellrommene når vi skriver 2015.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Casperfrom Copenhagen

Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 17, 2015 
I always enjoy my stays at Hotel Do Carmo, the only downside, is that it is pricey compared to other hotels, but I like this Hotel. However I like to travel around, so I usually only stay at Do Carma 2-3 days at a time, but always a pleasure. However I have had some unfortunate experiences with their friendly staff, trying to make a comission on rent a car deals, but other than this, they are very friendly.