Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Conveniently located close to the centre of town

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Nice pool on the roof, good location and really friendly, accommodating staff. Would happily stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel only a short walk to all the sites

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: We liked its location right in the middle of the old town great for exploring and easy access to all the amenities.
Cons: The only thing that i think could be improved is an extractor fan in the bathroom and please replace the pillows.
Location: Great location near to all the sites
We had a great time here the breakfasts were fine we had several evening meals and they were very good. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Britain

Nice stay walking distance to centre of Funchal.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Helpful friendly staff and close to town centre. A welcoming arrival and informative about attractions and locations.
Cons: The safe in the room could be replaced with electronic safe. (It is a key and lock).
Location: The hotel is located next to a carpark along a street that is 5/10 minutes walk from the main town centre. 10 minutes walk to the cable car and sea.
Nice clean small hotel with that is furnished in a retro/vintage style. (Pictures of 50s movie stars, and impressive vintage cash register). The staff were very warm and welcoming and a glass of wine offered to each guest on arrival. Informative check in with directions to nearest sites of interest. We immediately booked some tours of the island which are at a discounted price here. The pool was small, nice and clean and located on top of the building with a good view of a hillside landscape in the city. Breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet as you would expect in Europe of a good standard with fresh fruits and vegetables. Hotel was very close (about 10 minutes walk) into the town centre and cable car and restaurants. The rooms and bathroom are small but tidy and just right for a short stay in Madeira. A friendly stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

gute lage; alles kann fußläufig erreicht werden

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: zentrumsnah und sehr freundliches personal
Cons: die möbel sind etwas abgewohnt und das bad müsste modernisiert werden. dusche ausreichend. damit würde mehr platz (ablagen......)
Location: zentral. man kann alles (zentrum, markt, altstadt...) schnell erreichen
das hotel ist ein gutes basislager um ganz madeira erkunden zu können.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Happy customers

Posted May 18, 2015
From check in to check out we were delighted with all aspects with the hotel. We were greated by Nadia who explained the islands best fixtures over a glass of complimentary bubbles. Over the week Antonio assisted us in booking our day/night trips. All staff members made us feel like home. We will recommend Hotel Do Carmo to all friends and family visiting Madeira.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chantal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alain from Région Parisienne

Séjour très agréable.

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Accueil chaleureux avec verre de vinho verde à l’arrivée ! L'ensemble du personnel d'accueil est sympathique et s'exprime correctement en français. La chambre au 4eme sans balcon est exposée coté cour et plein Est, ce qui permet d’être réveillé par le soleil ! Lit très spacieux et confortable. Pas de mal de dos. Pièce sobrement décorée. Salle de bain avec WC un peu vieillotte et peu fonctionnelle: manque de rangement. Petit déjeuner correct même si le café et les jus de fruits ne sont pas des grands crus. Grande diversité de pains et de fruits frais... Au dernier étage, piscine avec une belle vue sur Funchal. Hôtel très central proche du marché des Lavradores, de la vielle ville et de la cathédrale Sé. Parking en face de l'hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close walking distance to everything.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Affordability and location.
Location: Close to everything as far as walking distance. The market is nearby and shopping and restaurants and bus station.
The hotel was simple but clean and affordable and we enjoyed all the amenities it had to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Perfect hotel, excellent location, facilities and very helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Das Hotel ist sehr gut gelegen und das Personal ist sehr freundlich. Perfektes 3 Sterne Hotel.