Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from UK

Boutique style hotel with home comforts

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Smaller, boutique style but not at the expense of comfort or friendliness. Struck a good balance between being stylish and homely.
This was our first visit to Madeira which started off badly as we had to divert to Tenerife due to high winds. We eventually arrived at the Quinta Mirabela one day later. The tourist maps of the island are not very detailed so it was just as well there were sign posts to the hotel off the main road. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was one of the superior rooms with balcony. I had asked for a quiet room and we were positioned at the far end of the corridor was perfect really. The room was very well appointed and the view breathtaking. There were a couple of small issues with the lights and bath which were rectified immediately and without fuss. The breakfasts are really rather good and we did have a couple of evening meals in the restaurant which were above average compared to most of the hotels I stay in. Of course, a visit to Madeira is not complete without sampling one of the many fine restaurants in Funchal. We had a very relaxing stay at Quinta Mirabella. Overall the hotel was superb and the standard of service first class. We hope to return some day to finish off our exploration of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by essexlizard

Excellent

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Lovely friendly hotel. Great breakfast. Amazing views of funchal and the sea. Its halfway down the tobagon run so you need your wits about you when you leave the hotel. Excellent afternoon tea and spa facilities. A stiff thirty min walk down the hill to centre but well worth it Leave your high heels at home but enjoy a very special place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julian from Dartmoor

Just the right size

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel partly due to a good rate and other reviews. We were not at all disappointed, the staff were helpful and friendly and the whole atmosphere was calm and comfortable. During our stay we visited two of the larger Funchal hotels and realized that staying in a quality small hotel was by far the better choice. We would not hesitate to recommend Quinta Mirabela. We hired a car to better discover Madeira, the location was ideal to explore without having to battle through Funchal every day although we did visit the town most evenings. We also found the food to be of a good standard but not too formal and reasonably priced, through choice we dined in the hotel five nights and one lunch during the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Panama Patti from UK

Small but Perfect

Posted Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Excellent service
Cons: The keyboards in the business centre - sometimes quite challenging as the A, 1 and Z worked intermittently.
Location: I found it a real challenge - as it is halfway up a mountain! It is not central but the views from the hotel are something else.
I read the various reviews about this hotel from a number of web sites and chose the hotel based solely on those reviews. First and foremost, the positive elements of the hotel. The hotel manager is just brilliant and very, very accommodating. We had a bit of a glitch regarding our stay which meant staying an additional night at the hotel and our flights being changed. The manager sorted out our flights and we were able to stay an additional night at the same reduced rate. The hotel is advertised as a 'design hotel' and I think in the UK we are more used to the term 'boutique hotel'. It's decor is certainly comtemporary. Perhaps due to it being February, the spa area wasn't used much during our stay by other residents. All it took was a call to reception to fire up the turkish baths and the sauna and within 15 minutes, the facilities were fully functioning. The gym area has several bits of equipment, rowing machine, treadmill, cross-trainer, bike, and there is also a multi-purpose weight machine. The water fountain (in the gym) could probably do with replacing as there is a bit of algae in it - probably because it is not used that much and when the sun does stream through the windows, it probably hits the water fountain! One very, very, small observation. The water tasted ok though! All areas are exceptionally clean! This is a small hotel and therefore you get a personal service - which is great! The location is a challenge though. Have run out of words!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield, UK

Well presented hotel and yet reasonable price

Posted Nov 5, 2011
Location: If you are young then go to new Funchal, since it has night life.
extremely satisfied with all aspect of hotel. Just 22 rooms and incredible facility & level of service to match. Only disadvantage is location of hotel. It is located on steep hill between Funchal city & Monte.No places to go within walking distance. However, bus service & bus pass price is very good. Taxi required from airport (about 30 euros)View of city & harbour is amazing. Food is incredible. Breakfast is buffet & ala carte included in price with champagne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Pleasant design hotel and attentive staff

Posted Jan 20, 2009
Views were spectacular. Was surprised that we were entitled to the New years eve gala with drinks, 6 course meal and live music. Ended with the award winning madeira fire work display viewed from the roof terrace. It did rain the entire time we were there, but of course, this is not the fault of the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2008
Very quiet, great view, great (superior) room, staff could not have been more helpful. Gym and pool very good. Breakfasts were not '5 star' but still very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from guildford

Stunning hotel up the hill!!!

Posted Jul 24, 2008
We stayed at the hotel for a weeks break away from it all, and it certainly fits the bill! The hotel is beautifuly furnished and benifits from stunning veiws over Funchal! However it is about a 50min walk up a very sharp hill from the town, and i would say, only to be atempted by already active people! The hotel does however offer a shuttle bus that runs you down to town in the morning, and will pick you up about five in the afternoon, although i feel that this is not enough and they should, and seemingly could, offer a much more frequent service! it was not for the public bus down the road, you could find yourself stuck (the public bus was cheap, frequent and reliable)! the hotels facilities where excellent for such a small hotel! we used the spa a couple of times at the end of the day, and it certainly did the trick! However, we did not use the restuarant in the hotel, as we felt the prices like the hill, where a little too steep! The pool, whilst having an amazing veiw, was not heated and took a little time, and bravery to get in! The rooms where stylish, clean and well organised! Our room opened up onto a terrace, which was a lovely touch! I would however say that it is a lovely place to stay for a week away, definatley somewhere, if like us, you just want some peace and quite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hitchin

Great hotel if you don't mind a steep walk!!

Posted Jul 13, 2008
Absolutely fantastic hotel, stunning location but don't be fooled by any reviews stating its a short but steep walk from Funchal. Its not!! The walk down takes about 20 minutes and is hard work on the legs. As for coming up, its not for the faint hearted, would recommed taking a taxi! Apart from that I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, the service and facilities are top class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

A really lovely find

Posted Apr 1, 2008
We enjoyed our time at Hotel Quinta Mirabella. The walk up just has to be tried at least once (as does the Tobaggan run down which stops very near the hotel) and it means you needn't feel guilty tucking into the lovely food in the restaurant. The books there to be borrowed during your stay was a lovely touch. Only gripe: the pool was far too cold to tip more than a toe in. Lucky the spa area was available and pleasant to stay in.