Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, ideal location for old Funchal

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Excellent reception team who all helped us with every question and spoke perfect English.
This is one of the few hotels in the old town area of Funchal and is ideally located for the market, cathedral, main square and buses. It has a small swimming pool and little space for lounging in the sun so if that's what you want the hotel zone is a better bet for you. Our room was a good size for a city centre hotel and the facilities were more than adequate for us. It was a good base to get out on walks by using the bus network.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Midlands, UK

Great reasonably priced hotel in a nice location.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly, inexpensive, easy to find.
Cons: Perhaps a little more variety for the included breakfast, but there are options you can pay extra for if you want them, so not really an issue.
Location: 5 mins from sea front and bus station, supermarket across the road, lots of restaurants nearby, good transport to the rest of the island and port.
The hotel was great for the price paid. Relatively easy to find even though we missed the stop on the Aerobus, and had to walk back up from the next stop. The staff were very friendly and were helpful with everything we needed. The room was always clean when we arrived back from days out. Breakfast was basic, but you could help yourself to as much as you want... this was what we expected from the description that was given for this hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, a few mins walk from the seafront, lots of restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and the main bus station and bus stops are just down the road. There's a supermarket right across the road with plenty of essentials available which seems to open quite late. All in all had an excellent stay here and would recommend to anyone wanting basic but clean and friendly accommodation. We spent most of our stay out and about anyway so that's all we needed. Good stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DCKT from Macao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

recent stay at windsor hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: the location and most staff
Cons: the rooms, and the facilities.
For a 4 star hotel , I think this hotel does live up to it. First of all rooms had no air con and the facilities were very old. Most staff were friendly except for one . The good thing about the hotel is its location in the old town. I would not personally stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arly B from Suffolk, UK

Great staff. & location

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Brilliant location for the old town & the marina. The rooms are comfortable, but plain. There's plenty of hot water, everywhere is very clean, & there's a charming sun terrace & pool on the roof. The staff are super friendly and helpful, specially Elsa on reception. This is not a luxury hotel, but is very pleasant & I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin from Bognor Regis, UK

Cheap city centre location

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Cost
Cons: Size of room and decor
Location: Excellent for exploring the city of Funchal
Basic city centre hotel with some dated features but cheap so worth the cost (£40 per night for a double room).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leon from London

Great place for everyone

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Crowd for the breakfast
Location: Just excellent
Location is excellent, you can get from Windsor to Old Town, market, bus stop or supermarket in few minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Moira S from London

Good medium range hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at the Windsor many times. It is a good mid range hotel. Not fancy but has all amenities in a useful position in the new town in Funchal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from Manchester, UK

Convenient for Funchal centre

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: The roof pool and sun beds. The courteous helpful staff. The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced.
Cons: It was difficult to find from the aerobus stop. Needs clearer location insructions.
Location: Ideal for Funchal centre and convenient for sea front,
This hotel is very convenient for the old town and near the bus stops. A 10min walk takes you to the cable car and market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London, UK

Not shock or awe but surprise and delight.

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Its facade
Location: Excellent for shopping and the old town and sea front.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel's slightly grim exterior hides a minor gem inside.