Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom berkshire, uk

Great Views

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Good position. Attractive, large, well equipped rooms.
Cons: Beds very hard (this seems to be the case all over Madeira). Could do with some shelving/cabinets in the bathrooms.
Location: Large shopping mall over the road, plenty of cafes, and some very good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Right by the sea and promenade.
Small hotel in good location with lovely views. Just a 10 minute ride to town centre, but plenty of shopping and cafes nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southend-on-Sea

Glad to have returned.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Every room has a balcony that looks out onto the Atlantic Ocean. Good restaurants close by. Good public and tourist transport nearby.
Cons: Possibly more variety of sandwiches/baguettes on the pool menu.
Location: There is a bus stop 100yds from the hotel, to Funchal centre. There are good restaurants close by and a shopping centre across the road.
This is our (myself and my Mum) second time at the hotel and it still manages to take our breath away. We forgot how lovely the area and hotel was. The greatest aspect of arriving is walking into the hotel room and finding the curtains closed. When you open them, all you can see is blue sky, sunshine and the Atlantic Ocean...pure bliss. This year we took advantage of the hotel's cocktail evenings, which were made even better sitting on the veranda in the sun. We were also regulars sunbathing by the pool, which is never overcrowded (therefore very peaceful), and the pool lunch menu offers a good variety of meals. It is so refreshing to find a hotel where the staff are so friendly, every surface is spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is so welcoming. We hope to return yet again the same time next year, where we are sure we will be writing another outstanding review. Thank you for such another wonderful holiday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Wimsbach, Osterreich

Hübsches Hotel am Strand

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Lage und Ausblick. Frühstücksterrasse direkt am Meer in 50m Höhe.
Cons: Info über Meerzugang. Preisänderung bei gebuchtem Ausflug müsste Hotel übernehmen.
Location: Am Meer, Zentrumsnähe, alle Möglichkeiten
Sehr gepflegtes Hotel unmittelbar am Strand in Zentrumsnähe. Gute Busanbindung- auch zum Flughafen. Perfekte Englisch- und gute Deutschkenntnisse an der Rezeption. Sehr hilfsbereit. Leider preisliche Vereinbarung bei einem gebuchten Ausflug nicht eingehalten. Autovermietung gegenüber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Disappointed with evening dinner ,good service but mains rather small portions and all 3 courses served up in less than a hour.
Good view from our room ,indoor and outdoor pool very good,hotel close to bus stop and shopping arcade,front desk very good for information and booking trips at last moment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wrexham

Great hotel and great value accommodation

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Breakfast! Each room has a balcony looking out to sea.
Cons: Service in bar area
Location: Close to the Madeira Forum shopping area. Lido close by, great choice of restaurants
Second visit to this very nice hotel. Highlight definitely breakfast outside on terrace looking out to the ocean. Great choice for breakfast too. Staff very pleasant and helpful but bar poorly staffed and could be difficult to get served. Situated a bit far from city centre but not a real problem as plenty of buses, a pleasant walk to the city and enough good shops, restaurants etc close to hotel. Pool indoors always quiet so nice for a dip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom brigghton

Pleasant hotel excellent location

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere and professionalism of the staff.
Cons: The bar area could be more lively and the evening dining experience more relaxed
Location: Ideal location for exploring the island with excellent restaurants nearby
Ideal size hotel...small and friendly, position perfect for touring the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorking

Lovely haven you will love

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The photos don't do this beautiful hotel justice, it's much better than it looks like on the web pages. The staff are helpful and friendly, especially the receptionists night and day, the room was kept immaculate by the house keepers. We really enjoyed our 4 day stay and can't wait to go back soon. The food was delicious. All in all a wonderful hotel, first class.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hessen

Harte Betten

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Frühstück auf der Terrasse
Cons: Neue Matratzen
Location: Gute Lage nähe Einkaufszentrum, Restaurants und Bushaltestelle
Das Hotel und Lage waren hut, aber die Betten zu hart zum schlafen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed the stay but prepare for surprise

Posted Jan 25, 2015
we stayed in the hotel recently,but when arrived we were told the first two days stay was transferred to a different hotel!! which was VERY annoying and were very disappointed. They compensated us with a free excursion so not complaining . They could have notified this before our holiday as we booked months before. The stay was very comfortable and enjoyable Breakfast was very reasonable but it was mostly the same every day. courtesy car to city center was available if you book early or local bus will take you 15 mts. we do recommend this hotel and was value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunshine Coast, Australia

This is a great hotel with fantastic staff.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Refer above
Cons: A room service menu.
Location: Away from the hussle of Funchal but still in easy walking distance.
This is a great hotel with great staff. It has amazing views and is highly recommended.