Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alfran99 from Basingstoke

First time to Madeira

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Location: Location is excellent with sea views. Well placed for the promenade and local restaurants. The public bus service into Funchal is also very convenient
This was our first time to visit Madeira and the Regency Cliff Hotel was recommended to us. We were very pleased and would recommend it to anyone looking for a small relatively quiet place to stay. The food was excellent and the staff were all friendly and efficient. Definitely going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Southend-on-Sea

Absolutely stunning

Posted Apr 25, 2014
After talking about visiting Madeira for a long time, and reading hotel reviews on trip advisor, my Mum and I booked this hotel for 6 nights. On arrival, the reception staff gave us everything we needed, from information about the hotel to trips and visits we could take around the island during our stay. Though we were early, we were thrilled to learn our room was available. We were on the 3rd floor and were amazed that the view from our balcony was exactly like the view on their website. You could not fault the hotel/room, as it was very clean and the hotel staff were brilliant. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, there was a wide range of food to choose from, even though we only took breakfast and lunch at the hotel. There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Funchal, though if you miss this, there are plenty of local buses and the tourist 'hop on, hop off' buses that stop just up the road from the hotel that will also take you into Funchal and other parts of the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Madeira Cliff Experience.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
For a 4 star hotel the evening meals were very disappointing. There was only a la carte the day we arrived and only a choice of 2 items for each course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Merle from London

Lovely hotel in excellent situation.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Lovely style of decor and excellent situation.
Cons: Only the dreadulf 'muzak' played constantly which could drive one mad!
This was our second stay at the Regency Cliff and lived up to our first experience. Beautifully decorated in a modern style and with lovely colours.The staff are happy to be of service and the Manager is charming and helpful. Very good food with plenty of choice. Two swimming pools. rooms are comfortable and peacefully decorated. we could not fault it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcel from Prague,Czech Republic

A bit outdated hotel in a good location

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Close to restaurants and supermarket, good position near to the oceam
Cons: Solving problems with ants in the hotel rooms ,updating safe boxes in the rooms and more variety with breakfast options.
Problems with ants in the room and balcony. Funny ,very outdated safe deposit box in the room- you have to pay for its use plus the deposit for the lock which is to be inserted into the safe deposit box. Spacious room and bath. Helpful staff. Very small indoor swimming pool and not much bigger the outdoor pool. Breakfast - not amazing, but acceptable if you like to eat for seven days of your stay basicaly the same food every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eddie from England

Nice Hotel next to the sea

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very good,nothing was to much trouble.v good breakfast buffett including eggs & bacon,and lots of choice
Location: Well situated just outside Funchal, Quiet area with plenty of resturants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice clean hotel excellent views, and very good se

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: everything that you would expect from a good quality hotel
Cons: nothing that i can think of
Location: located about 1.5 miles from the centre of Funchal. Practically self sufficient and near to modern shopping centre which includes cafes and resturants
Excellent experience and very good weather a bonus. Very good information from reception staff. e.g. bus timetables, complementary shuttle taxi available daily and also return journey. good info on all aspects of tours around the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs S Jones from carmarthen

Fantastic sea views

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was exactly what we expected for the price that we paid - not cheap. Perfect location with wonderful sea views. You can't fault the experience. The hotel staff were exemplorary. My only critisicm was the repetitive beat to the music played on the sun terrace in the evening. Petty you may say but it put us off having a night cap. I would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with amazing views of the coast

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: very clean and large size room with a balcony
Cons: more choice for breakfast, especially for the hot food, more sun loungers, better hairdryers with more power and easier exchange of beach towels
Location: nearby lido within 10 mins walk for sunloungers and floating platform on the sea. Can get 8 euro aerobus transfer from the airport very easily.
very pleasant stay in a clean and comfortable hotel. Staff were generally helpful and informative. It was only a few euros taxi drive from Funchal- approx 10 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue & Colin from Lincolnshire England

First class hotel for older couples

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Small & friendly.
Cons: Not for the less able people if they just want to walk down to the sea front.
Location: suited us but others might think it's too far from Funchal.
having just returned from our holiday in Madeira, we found this hotel very friendly ,comfortable, not too big and would recommend it and return to it again. We only went B & B and ate out at night in other resturants so couldn.t comment on the evening meals. It was a little way out from Funchal but buses are good or it takes about an hours gentle stroll into Funchal. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. More for the older couples.