Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Capelle aan den IJssel

Heerlijk hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Ligging op de rots met mooi uitzicht op zee, ontbijt was goed , veel keuze en verse producten. Mooie ruime kamers, super schoon.
Cons: Alles was in orde
Location: Goede ligging valkbij busstop voor hop on hopoff bus, voldoende horeca in de buurt, mooi pad ovr rotsen langs zee. Funchal op half uurtje lopen.
Mooi hotel, kregen bij aankomst gratis up grade naar junior suite, mooie ruime kamer met 2 balkons met uitzicht op zee, vriendelijk personeel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bansley, UK

A Four stars Hotel with Five stars qualities.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The excellent staff and the hotel's location. Our room was on the 3rd. floor and as requested was in a quiet part of the hotel. Perfect.
Cons: Although we were on the third floor, our wi-fi reception wasn't reliable. At times it was just about acceptable but at others, it was unusable.
Location: For our purpose it was perfect. There are sufficient bars and many restaurants nearby to choose from. Check reviews on restaurants first.
We stayed for two weeks beginning on the 5th September, 2014 and our expectations, based upon reviews from this and other review sites, were pleasingly surpassed. Our first member of staff, on reception, was to be our introduction to the first class service we received throughout our stay. Our evening meal, which was very good, was accompanied by absolutely excellent service. All of the staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. Together with the food and the magnificent view from our table on the rooftop terrace our evening proved to be a momentous occasion. The hotel is approximately one and a half miles from the centre of Funchal and the majority of the bars and restaurants. However, the hotel did provide taxis both in the morning, afternoon and early evening so, the option to visit Funchal central, is catered for. In the event that all the taxis become fully booked, a regular bus service operates, with a stop within 100 yards of the hotel, throughout the day. If individual tickets are purchased on the bus, the cost is 1.95 Euros each way. I found this hotel to be in an excellent location in that it was near enough to town but sufficiently away from the busy centre to provide us with peace and quiet. We chose to stay on a bed and breakfast basis because we like the independence of the time of eating together with choice of food but the hotel food we sampled was of good quality and well cooked. Our superior room was located on the third floor and had a good sea view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by luiserra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warsaw, Poland

a great hotel with absolutely terrible food...

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: location, view, terrace
Cons: horrible food, incredibly high price
fantastic location with an outstanding view from both room and restaurnats terace. However, the food is dramatic and it costs a fortune. Further, a new bar was being installed during our stay and surprisingly all the loud works were performed during breakfast and dinner (would expect to have a pleasant meal for 27.5 EUR per person...), such things should not be the case for this class of hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alfran99from Basingstoke

First time to Madeira

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Location: Location is excellent with sea views. Well placed for the promenade and local restaurants. The public bus service into Funchal is also very convenient
This was our first time to visit Madeira and the Regency Cliff Hotel was recommended to us. We were very pleased and would recommend it to anyone looking for a small relatively quiet place to stay. The food was excellent and the staff were all friendly and efficient. Definitely going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel très calme avec du personnel agréable

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: L'accueil, les chambres, la terrasse.
Cons: Éventuellement l'amplitude horaire pour dîner car passant à table à 20 heures nous étions les derniers
Location: Quartier résidentiel et hôtelier loin du centre de Funchal mais les taxis sont proches et bon marché.
Suite à des problèmes d'avion nous sommes arrivés à 3 heures du matin et malgré cette heure tardive l'accueil a été excellent. Les chambres sont très spacieuses avec vue sur la mer, le personnel est toujours prêt à rendre service et sans obséquiosité. Superbe terrasse où nous avons pu profiter pour diner et prendre le petit déjeuner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alisonfrom Southend-on-Sea

Absolutely stunning

Posted Apr 25, 2014
After talking about visiting Madeira for a long time, and reading hotel reviews on trip advisor, my Mum and I booked this hotel for 6 nights. On arrival, the reception staff gave us everything we needed, from information about the hotel to trips and visits we could take around the island during our stay. Though we were early, we were thrilled to learn our room was available. We were on the 3rd floor and were amazed that the view from our balcony was exactly like the view on their website. You could not fault the hotel/room, as it was very clean and the hotel staff were brilliant. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, there was a wide range of food to choose from, even though we only took breakfast and lunch at the hotel. There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Funchal, though if you miss this, there are plenty of local buses and the tourist 'hop on, hop off' buses that stop just up the road from the hotel that will also take you into Funchal and other parts of the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Madeira Cliff Experience.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
For a 4 star hotel the evening meals were very disappointing. There was only a la carte the day we arrived and only a choice of 2 items for each course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Merlefrom London

Lovely hotel in excellent situation.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Lovely style of decor and excellent situation.
Cons: Only the dreadulf 'muzak' played constantly which could drive one mad!
This was our second stay at the Regency Cliff and lived up to our first experience. Beautifully decorated in a modern style and with lovely colours.The staff are happy to be of service and the Manager is charming and helpful. Very good food with plenty of choice. Two swimming pools. rooms are comfortable and peacefully decorated. we could not fault it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernardofrom Paris

Superbe séjour.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: L'ambiance calme et cosy.
Cons: Pas grand chose pour le moment.
Location: Quartier des hotels mais de nombreux petits restaurants fréquentés par les touristes et les madeirans, mais pas aux mêmes heures !
Superbe séjour dans cet hotel dont la plupart des chambres dominent la mer. Les chambres sont confortables et bien équipées, le personnel prévenant, les petits déjeuner peuvent être pris sur la terrasse qui bénéficie d'une vue à couper le souffle sur les collines, la ville et la mer.