Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Large, stylish, landmark hotel in a good location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: We liked the style of the hotel and the location.
Cons: Some aspects of the rooms are quite dated, for example the TVs and the minibar but these are minor issues.
Location: The hotel is a 10 min walk from the town and a 20 min walk from the old city.
The hotel had a very 60's - 70's feel, but done very nicely. Rooms have good sized balconies and sliding doors and good bathrooms. We had a huge (and comfortable) bed. The hotel bar and restaurant were pretty decent. Champagne and a live pianist at breakfast give the feeling of luxury. The dinner menu focused on buffet style - I guess for the full board guests - but offers reasonable value. The facilities were not always the newest, but are well maintained. We used the indoor pool several time, and the outdoor infinity pool was very striking (if a bit cold to use in December) and had amazing views of the docking cruise liners. As we visited out of season (Dec) the hotel was quiet and we didn't have to wait for anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swindon, England

Outstanding views of Funchal

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Great location and great spa
Cons: Needs a little updating (carpets) but overall very good
Location: Excellent location over looking the harbour and cruise ships, casino next door nice walk down to the old town may need a cab or a tuk tuk to get back
A very nice hotel, in a fabulous location, the hotel is a little dated but overall very pleasing with a wonderful spa pool and area. The breakfast was very good, with attentive stafff, we didnt eat dinner or lunch at the hotel so cannot review. Reception staff again were very good and a highlight of the holiday was a bottle of bubbly delivered to my room with the compliments of the management to celebrate my birthday! Very nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great staff but aging hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The staff at the Pestana Casino could not be more helpful. The reception and outside pool area are very impressive. The rooms are somewhat dated however and in need of a refresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

City break with friends

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Lovely hotel. Helpful male reception staff! Onsite parking found on every day of our stay. Clean rooms with electronic safe to secure passports. Definitely a 5 star hotel! Superb indoor heated pool and spa facilities. Good nightlife around hotel. Amazing views from balcony of both sea and mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

I had a great stay lovely hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
The hotel is great good to excellent in all aspects the food was great and the hotel staff could not do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Perfect location, great break.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: location ,breakfast ,facilities
Cons: fluffier towels, and brown sauce at breakfast !
Location: 5 mis from city centre
perfect location , nice relaxing stay ,excellent breakfast ,friendly staff ,would recommend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Niedersachsen

Keine 5 Sterne

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Die Architektur des Hotels ist einmalig, das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ist gut. Deshalb kann ich das Hotel auch eingeschränkt weiterempfehlen.
Cons: Die gesamte Hotelmöblierung auswechseln. Schallbrücken in den Zimmern schließen (Einbau von Auputzkabelkanäle). Reinigung und Service verbessern
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in optimaler Lage oberhalb des Hafens. Restaurants, Sehenswürdigkeiten, Geschäfte sind fußläufig erreichbar.
Dies war mein 20. Aufenthalt auf Madeira, davon 7 mal im Pestana Casino Park. Die Qualität des Hotels hat von Jahr zu Jahr abgenommen. Auf Grund der Architektur währen 5 Sterns möglich, werden vom Management aber offensichtlich nicht gewünscht, sind aber zu den geforderten Übernachtungspreisen auch nicht möglich. Lediglich die Getränkepreise haben trotz mangelndem Service 5 Sterne Qualität. Die gesamte Möblierung hat Sperrmüllqualität und hätte schon längst ausgetauscht werden müssen. Die Möblierung des Frühstücksraumes (Restaurant) war bei meinem ersten Besuch im Casino Park im Jahr 2001 bereits im desolaten Zustand. Die Balkonmöbel ( Holzstühle, Sitzfläche und Rückenlehne Lattenrost, Sitzhöhe ca. 30cm, Sitzauflage 1cm Schaumstoff, kein Rückenpolster) sind praktisch nicht nutzbar. Die Sessel im Barbereich sind durch jahrelange intensive Nutzung erheblich verschmutzt und beschädigt. Die öffentlichen WC-Anlagen müssten dringend grundgereinigt werden. Die Urinale sind nach der Sanierung ca. 10cm zu hoch angebaut worden, dadurch ist eine ordentliche Benutzung nicht möglich, die Folgen kann sich jeder selbst vorstellen. Die Zimmerausstattung ist normal, die Reinigung, besonders im WC-Bereich recht oberflächlich. Bei der letzten Renovierung wurden die Wände zum Nachbarzimmer für den Einbau von Steckdosen durchgebohrt, durch die nunmehr entstandene Schallbrücke kann man nun wunderbar das TV-Programm des Nachbarn mitverfolgen, leider nur den Ton, den aber deutlich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom madère

Hôtel accueillant, super !

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Après réservation sur expedia j'ai vu des commentaires négatif sur expedia et cela m'a un peu inquiété. En réalité le personnel de l'hôtel était prévenant et notre chambre (suite) magnifique. Le seul point que nous aurions à "critiquer" serait le fait que le matela était mou, mais ceci est un avis personnel. L'hôtel a de grands espace, le bar avec les animations très sympa. Piscine intérieur magnifique ! Je conseille cet établissement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, UK

Classic modernist architecture in a great location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The Pestana Casino Park stands out in the increasingly crowded hotel-scape of Funchal principally because of its striking modernist design by Brazilian architect Oscan Niemeyer. It's a treat for architecture lovers, and the service and facilities are what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The outdoor pool is a little on the cool side (22C), even for a dedicated swimmer like me, and watch yourself on the marble paving in the pool and jacuzzi area - it can be very slippery when wet. Overall, though, highly recommended - I'd love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Superb hotel with stunning views from cliff top

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Enjoyed our 8 night stay at the Casino Park. Reception staff were very welcoming and we were offered a welcome drink. Our room was spacious and well equipped with a good sized balcony overlooking Funchal bay and the casino. Breakfasts were a delight with a large selection to suit all tastes. Breakfast could also be taken on the terrace overlooking the pool and ocean. Evening entertainment was relaxing with vocalists playing in the lounge area.