Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not 5 star

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Lovely hotel great view sun beds rubbish no air conditioning in public areas good average the building is tired but overall okay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but facilities not 5 star standard.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Hotel room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast ok but only one member of staff seemed to be able to manage it efficiently; when she was not there it was quite chaotic! Please be aware that the hotel does not provide a courtesy room after checking out so guests are expected to use a hot, wet indoor swimming pool changing room. Unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON.

Funchal @ the Pestana Casino Park Hotel & Casino.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Free hardwired Internet capability in the room as long as you bring your own cable. Actually worked! Breakfast food excellent! Super location!
Cons: Replace the old red carpeting throughout the second floor. Probably all the Hotel carpeting. First overall aesthetic impression not great.
Location: The Hotel location was the best we could have picked. Downtown Funchal minutes away. Grocery store called Pingo, 15 minutes walk. Shopping a blast.
Overall enjoyed the facilities and the food at this Hotel. Loved the walk down the hill to the centre of Funchal and the walk back up. Great exercise. Too humid to work out first thing in the morning at the gym in the Hotel. Found the guests with children had no respect for their fellow travellers at the main pool area. Lack of rule enforcement. No decent poolside management to keep rowdy children at bay. Casino needs new chairs at the bar area and they should not allow smoking. The trip to the island is rather tedious as two flights are necessary and my time zone change made me grumpy upon arrival. The longer I stayed at this Hotel, the more I liked it!!! All my concerns were immediately addressed by the Hotel staff. If it gets too noisy around the pool, lots of room to move elswhere away from the pool patio and the immediate noise. First two days there were lineups for towels and umbrellas and pool guy non-existent. I think they fired him after all the complaints and put someone new on this duty because the last three days we were serviced properly. Pool size perfect. The location of this Hotel and its responsiveness to guest concerns make it an excellent choice for a return stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel close to heart of Funchal

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The facilities, the location, the design and the food and relaxing atmosphere
Cons: Great as it is. This was our second visit and we'd go back again
Location: Easy to get to Funchal or Lido by walking. Great views of harbour and coastline.
Great location, lovely staff, brilliant facilities. They pulled out all the stops to make our stay great especially as it was a special occasion. Easy to get to sights in town and the restaurants by walking. Easy access to transport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton on tees

Needs refurbishing

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Public areas , pool , breakfast, staff
Cons: Bedrooms need updating
Location: Ten minutes downhill from Funchal, 15 minutes uphill back. Few local pubs and bars mostly good. Plenty of trips available.beautiful island
Hotel reception and public areas were lovely bright modern breakfast buffet fantastic choice however as soon as you stepped into the hotels dated lifts it changed. Bedroom at least the one we were in so dated stepped into a 70's time warp dark wood furniture a bidet? Balcony area furniture old and depressing Was told by a local no lager louts just saga louts and Madeira is for newlyweds and nearly dreads suited us fine being in the last category very relaxing holiday
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent - England

Not 5*****

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Not a bad hotel, a bit rough around the edges and could do with a refurbishment to be a 5*
Cons: Change the reception staff apart from the smart young lady who also greeted at breakfast as she was very good, breakfast was very good too.
A good start on entering the Pestana Casino Park with a smile and a greeting at the door but went down from there, when we got to reception there was 2x other people in front and they seem to take a long time dealing with these people one of which seemed to be a room change!!! We finally was seen and told our room was not ready and can we take a seat and wait in reception for 30 minutes while they get the room ready and guess what 30 minutes later we was told the room would be a further 2x hours and told to wait in reception yet again "which must be a joke of course" and at this point we said we would go down the town and be back later. On our return 3 1/2 hours later to be safe the room was ready yipppppy so our cases was sent up and all was going well. On settling in to our 5* room! the room safe was not working which was locked with a error code (not checked on getting the room ready) makes you wonder how long they need to check the basics, Also on the 5* room you don't get a iron or kettle and coffee making facilities as well as 25mm holes in the sheets - it was gob snakingly bad and to make it worst went we reported these issues to reception we was treated as an inconvenience and was made to feel very unwelcome indeed, we was told abruptly they don't have irons in the room because they have laundry service but could let us have an iron for an hour - we must ask for coffee making facilities (I guess with an attitude included) This is a 3* / 4* what do others think?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Very enjoyable 3 night stay. Perfect location for a short stroll to the Marina and City tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Architectural Wonder

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Cons: Nocturnal noise in some of the outer, street facing rooms, could be better insulated...
Location: Very centrally located near the old town and close to all tourist attractions, restaurants, etc.
I loved staying at this hotel as it is a great work by the master architect Oscar Niemeyer and has been livingly restored by the Pestana Group. Perhaps others would not have the same experience, but I absolutely loved the hotel, plus the service and staff were of the highest caliber. Definitely recommend...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel and great location.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Room on 5th floor was a little dated and could be updated, also a bit noisy.
Location: Walking distance to old town centre, easy bus access, lovely location.
I stayed at the Casino Park about 25 years ago and returned this year to find it every bit as good as I remembered. It is a lovely hotel with a really relaxing atmosphere and superb staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Lovely hotel good situation.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Staff couldn't do enough for you. Were friendly and courteous.
Cons: Wouldn't change anything.
Location: Uphill 10 min walk to hotel from town, but can detour through park for a pleasant distraction. 15 min walk to cable cars, old town & market.
Couldn't fault hotel or staff. Breakfast fabulous. Lots to do and see in Funchal area if you are prepared to walk and explore and this hotel is fairly close to town. Cable cars a must for breathtaking views. Lavada guided walks brilliant and easy to book. Mini bus pick up from hotel. Pre-book taxi on-line for airport pick-ups. Much cheaper than getting a taxi on arrival.