Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex England

Very relaxing all staff polite and helpful.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: situated near the sea had good view.
Cons: nothing
Location: Mainly sat by pool and in evening had a good choice of restaurants. P
Had a terrible nose bleed one night and made a mess of bedclothes , and reception very caring and cleaner was very kind when I apologised as I felt embarrassed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location, Good Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Rooms, location, staff, pool, cocktails, meals
Cons: Gym was very poor
Location: Lots of restaurants, in walking distance of Funchal, walking tours, boat trips, island tours.
Probably the best located hotel in Madeira for the sea the Pestana Palms is a good comfortable hotel with lovely staff and comfortable rooms. We really enjoyed 2 weeks here and even though the pool area can get a little busy the whole hotel seems pleasantly calm. Buffet breakfasts are good so I would recommend that option. The only negative was the gym - not well equipped and needs an urgent upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nena from Dubai

great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Lovely hotel, although the bathrooms are in need of bit of an upgrading but overall very pleasant. Our rooms were facing the sea so the views were fantastic. There are many bars and restaurants around the hotel so you have a wide choice of food. Also the bus stop is only 3 minutes up the hill and there are 3 bus services that takes you right into the old part of Funchal and the marina... . Breakfast at the hotel was very good with a great choice of local fresh fruits, cereals, breads , full english breakfast, cheeses and so on..we loved Madeira and we hope to go back there one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gilliano from Sheffield, England

Everything was wonderful!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Everything. Staff, location, food, service, gardens, pool, facilities - all top notch.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Although it is a short bus or taxi ride into the centre of Funchal, this makes it quieter and more scenic.
We stayed in a room which had a balcony overlooking the sea with a fantastic view of the harbour. The room was spacious and the kitchenette was a bonus. Cleaning staff came in every date to change the beds and towels. Great service. The hotel facilites outmatched the price we paid to stay there. The pool was quite large and there were plenty of places to relax. The food served for the buffet breakfast was unbeatable. Have never had such a vast choice. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and had 2 courses for 19 euros which was great value. If you wish to self cater, there is a large supermarket across the road where you can stock up on tasty fresh food. Next to this are four or five good restaurants and a couple of gift shops to browse around. Madeira is a place where you can be as adventurous or as relaxed as you please. There are hill walks and jeep safaris for those who want a bit of action, plenty of nice shops, gardens and museums to stroll around or you can sit in a quiet spot round the pool if you want to relax. Due to the location of the island in the Atlantic Ocean, you can see all types of weather in a day but the sun stays there most of the time. Have not had an Easter break abroad from some years but it's definitley something I would like to do again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mickjones from Darwen

Very good roooms

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good rooms and a great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Per from Kristiansand, Norway

A really special hotel - right on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location - service
Location: Walking distance to the center of Funchal - it is good with a little exercise :-)
Seeing the picture of the hotel - the tower - you already expect something special. I had booked two double rooms - and my wish was to have them side by side - with common balcony if possible. We got an excellent upgrade to a suite on eight floor (room 815) with two sleeping rooms with separate bathrooms and a common kitchen/living area - and three really big balconies. Stayed there for ten days - great service/cleaning - and excellent breakfast as well. Supermarket with everything you like is just on the other side of the road - and if you have a rental care there are some free places in the back of the hotel. Our room was facing south west and had the morning sun - until 3 PM - if you would like more sun you just took the elevator to ground floor - to the swimming pool. Great stay !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mature couple from UK

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was almost perfect. Quiet friendly with good amenities close at hand. just a small comment regarding the shower - quite difficult to control flow/temperature - it had to be set each time and took some time to master.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Manchester U.K.

Lovely clean hotel in great position

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The location & beautiful sea views.
Cons: Maybe the Wi Fi
Location: A good place to see the cruise liners coming into Funchal. You can swim in the sea or go on a boat ride.
We have had a most enjoyable stay at Pestana Palms. Our room was spacious & comfortable & cleaned every day. It was an easy walk into Funchal centre, about 30 minutes, but anyone with walking difficulties would find the hill from the hotel to the main road a bit steep. You could get a bus on the main road if you wish but they do get a bit crowded, there are plenty of taxi cabs & minibuses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jk from uk

comfort & convenience

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: everything.service,food,room,pool,food and drink promotions.every emloyee of the hotel was courteous,friendly and helpful.
Cons: the weather!
Location: short busride to funchal centro.bus stop for all bus services 100m from hotel.shops and restaurants close by.lovely coastal walk to camara lobos.
from pick-up at airport to return everything was very easy ,punctual and everyone was very friendly and helpful.madeira was quiet and although obviously for tourists looked cleaner and more modern than spain.local people were very friendly and helpful about buses etc.car hire would be best for independent visits around the island though there are dozens of firms offering halfday and fullday vists,walks etc.with guides at reasonable costs.restricted options for cycling as roads are narrow,busy and incredibly steep but there are guided cycle tours etc.overall,a very good experience.best alround service we've ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014