Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel for everyone but not children too smal

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, food and staff friendliness
Cons: internet connection was poor
Location: good location easy to walk into Funchal about 20 minutes but lots of taxis
We had a beautiful room in the hotel with a huge balcony. The staff we friendly and efficient at all times. We also liked the fact that there were many resturants to chose from and there were many communal areas to sit and relax. Although people put towels on sun beds in the morning we were still able to find a sun bed in the afternoon after sightseeing. The pools were also amazing and the gardens were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by barry and ann from Preston, Lancashire, UK

best 4star we have stopped in

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: the size and upkeep of the grounds
Cons: people using skype on their tablets in the public areas
Location: Ideal close to all the amenities and a shuttle bus into town
I could not find fault at all with this hotel it is the best 4 star I and my wife have stopped in ,the grounds and overall setting is superb in fact while we were there we bought a timeshare in the residence section of the hotel, something that never entered our heads when we set off on this holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Prescot, Merseyside, UK

Great Hotel, gardens, and sumptuous food

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Restaurant, Gardens and Room
Cons: Slow service at times
Location: Great Location easy to get around the island by public transport or taxi
Hotel and Garden were very well kept and comfortable. A sea view room is highly recommended and worth the extra premium. Food and buffet catered for all tastes and were of superb quality at all times. Only small criticism was that bar waiters could have been slightly more attentive in not having customers endure a prolonged wait for drinks to arrive but it is a minor quibble. All in all an excellent hotel that I would revisit and soon - No hesitation in recommending it to any visitor to Funchal looking for quality and a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AH from Lancashire

Very Happy with this Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was excellent - couple of glitches that were sorted out without any fuss. Very well maintained property and grounds; loads of space and variety of areas for sunbathing. Location is good - little far out from the centre if that is needed however great courtesy bus service resolves this. Hotel restaurants were very good and the service again excellent. Only downsides - could do with a better gym perhaps - and the nightly entertainment could be better and needs more variation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janice from Madeira

Very accommodating, friendly staff

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel.even though full very quiet rooms and surroundings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cherrypicker from Orpington

Exotic location

Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with the hotel - very comfortable and clean, super indoor pool , lovely exotic garden, excellent breakfast and very pleasant service. Most importantly our double bed (2 twins together) was beautifully comfortable. Our only complaint was with the premium we paid for a sea view room, since our room looked out on to the street with only a side sea view. When we complained they agreed to a change to a better sea view when it became available after3 days, but worryingly said all our rooms have some view of the sea. So why on your website was there a premium option???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic - But understand room description

Posted Apr 20, 2013
A fabulous hotel. Just one gripe - 'Garden View' does not necessarily mean you have a view of the hotel's magnificent garden - you might get a view of a back street and utility entrances to neighbouring hotels as we did. We 'complained' and it was explained that 'Garden View' simply means that you don't get a sea view. I suggested that that was misleading and the hotel management kindly moved us the following morning - just something to be aware of if a view matters to you, otherwise no complaints whatsoever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from England, UK

very comfortable

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Lovely hotel keptin pristine condition and with beautiful grounds.staff very helpful and polite.Breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annette

Exceeded expectations

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was delighted with Hotel. Hadn't been to Madeira before so didn't know what to expect. Will definately go back to this hotel. It had everything we needed and wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2012 on Hotels.com