Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hertfordshire, UK

December week

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Professionalism of the friendly staff. The architecture of the bedroom block. The size of the hotel (not vast).
Cons: Lighting of the steps down to the restaurant
Location: Convenient for Funchal. We walked into town, but usually caught the public bus back up the hill.
Lovely small hotel with pleasant gardens, good restaurant, excellent breakfast buffet and well equipped health club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Madrid

Muy tranquilo y cuidado

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: La atención del personal, el entorno y el desayuno
Cons: Quizá mayor variedad en el servicio de habitaciones para la cena
Ubicado a 5 minutos en coche del centro de Funchal (si vas a pie la ida es cómoda pero la vuelta un poco mas difícil por las cuestas de la isla) es un remanso de tranquilidad y de buen gusto. Un jardín muy cuidado y una atención excelente (sin ser agobiante) hacen de la quinta un magnífico sitio para pasar unos días visitando la isla con mucha comodidad. Hemos pasado una semana genial y recomendamos absolutamente el hotel para el que quiera descansar y poder moverse fácilmente en Madeira
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom hertfordshire

Perfect away from it all

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The setting, in beautiful grounds feels so away from it all. Understated luxury.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It is quite a walk into the centre of Funchal, but you can pick up the hop on hop off bus just around the corner and taxis are reasonable.
From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome. Our garden room was delightful with a lovely patio and sun beds. The gardens are beautiful so well kept. The food in both restaurants was very good as was the service. If you want a pampered relaxing break this is the ideal place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom south staffordshire

Excellent small hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Size,situation and staff
Cons: Improved variety of bar snacks
Location: Sailing,walking,swimming,Safari jeep trips and cable car rides
Relaxing November break good weather and food. This small luxury hotel is well worth a visit. It is set in fantastic well kept gardens. The staff are very attentive and professional. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of funchal so you need to be prepared for a short walk into town. Looking forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

Fabulous, Simply Fabulous

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Comfort, location, gardens, food
Cons: it's perfect
First stay in Madeira and we really struck lucky with this hotel. It is simply fabulous. Comfy rooms, lovely gardens and pool area. a haven of peace and tranquility. What really makes this hotel is the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone is just so pleasant and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. If you vist, and I hope you do, check out the restaurants as well. The food is to die for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Kleines Hotel im Park

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Hotelanlage insgesamt - eingebettet in einem ansprechenden sehr gepflegten Park; Standardzimmer mit Terrasse zum Garten
Cons: Frühstücksbuffet bei einem 14 tägigen Aufenthalt sehr einseitig-täglich gleich; im Zimmer sind mehr Haken/Ablage für Wandersachen wünschenswert
Location: Nähe Marthino - bzw. Hotel Reids; zu Fuss in die Innenstadt ca 15-20 min, bzw. Bus; Restaurants, Einkaufscenter in der Nähe;
kleines Hotel, inmitten einer Parkanlage; von der Pflanzenwelt Madeiras kann man sich von seiner eigenen Terrasse erfreuen; Hotelgäste waren überwiegend Paare , ab 45 aufwärts; für Kinder weniger bis gar nicht geeignet - da keine Spielmöglichkeiten; Poollandschaft großzügig mit Liegen, Duschen ausgestattet; Frühstück konnte man auf der Terrasse oder innen in einem extra Gebäude einnehmen; Das 5 Sterne Restaurant befindet sich in dem ältesten gut erhaltenen Gebäude - excellente Küche ; andere Restaurants befinden sich ganz in der Nähe; wir waren hauptsächlich zum Wandern dort - das Wetter ( zwischen 24 und 23 Grad ) war hervorrragend; Tipp : vor einem Aufenthalt in Madeira : in Deutschland Auto - bzw. Wanderkarte besorgen und aktuellen Wanderführer ( neueste Ausgabe ); es wurden in den letzten Jahre viele neue Straßen und Tunnel gebaut - von den vielen Hotels ganz zu schweigen; Dennoch: wir kommen sicher wieder - die Quinta ist ein sehr nettes Hotel - ideal um zu Entspannen; das Personal zuvorkommend und freundlich;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orpington, Kent

Good hotel in lovely gardens

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The staff are excellent. Very helpful in many languages, nothing is too much trouble.
Cons: Because of the island's climate and hotel location mosquito bites are likely. A spray in the room would be a good idea.
Location: Operators of Island and city tours will collect and drop at the hotel, and a local bus stops outside the hotel.
The hotel is away from the concrete of the seafront and is set in beautiful gardens. Modern in style but still very appealing, the rooms are a decent size and look out over the sub-tropical gardens; a nice view to wake up to. Breakfast is very good and there is a gourmet restaurant for lovers of good food. This is not, however, a hotel for people with walking difficulties. It is a good 25 minute stroll down to the centre of town and therefore a slow climb back up the hill. Some restaurants in town have shuttle services, and cabs and buses are there for those who don't fancy the walk back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Springs, Il

Relaxing hotel with great service & pretty gardens

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The gardens are beautiful, the staff friendly.
Cons: The rooms are showing a bit of wear and tear.
Location: It's a 20 minute walk to shops, madeira tasting, a public beach and a cable car to take you to gardens.
My husband and I stayed four nights and had a very positive experience. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in early. The hotel has a low density in terms of number of rooms and a relaxing atmosphere was prevalent. The breakfast buffet (included in price) was excellent and provided a good variety of good quality choices. The pool, while outdoors, was heated sufficiently to allow a swim even when the temperature was on the chilly side. The room was clean and everything worked well. Free in-room wifi was a pleasure to have. The bar/lounge was comfortable and had a nice offering of wines and snacks. The gardens on the grounds are gorgeous and well maintained and plants are well labeled. The location was outside of the old town but only a nice 20 minute walk away. Walking the other direction leads to a nest of touristy hotels and restaurants so Casa Branca has a nice position in that it is not in the midst of all the tourist hotels not in the busy and louder old town - it is nicely located in between. This is probably a hotel that is better suited to couples than families with small children. We had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and unlike the bar/lounge and the breakfasts, we were disappointed. We had the impression the chef was trying too hard - food was well presented but the flavors did not live up to the appearance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom West Sussex

Small friendly hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Quietness, no music, cabarets or quizzes. Friendly attentive staff who are willing to arrange outings and special occasions for you. Good breakfast.
Cons: New shower heads
Location: Twenty minute walk for town and lido's. Numerous local restaurants and bars. Evening view from deck bar superb.
Third visit in a year and will return again shortly. If you prefer 300 bedroom tower block hotel then this is not for you. All low rise and discreet. Probably not quite a 5 star but the atmosphere and staff make up for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southampton

Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We spent 1 week here for our honeymoon and didn't want to leave. We booked a suite and were not disappointed. The hotel grounds/gardens were gorgeous and beautifully managed, creating a gorgeous view and romantic setting. We felt like ever time we walked through them to breakfast we saw something new. The room was immaculate and the cleaning staff always did a terrific job The food at breakfast was delicious with a perfectly cooked poached egg every time. The cakes, fruit and everything else was fresh and delicious. The restaurant served top quality dishes that could only be served at 5 star restaurants. The recommended wines with the meals and deserts were perfect. The staff were always smiling and helpful, when my husband got ill (from eating outside the hotel) they were very accommodating and made sure to pass on the message to other staff so they knew if we needed anything. The pool (although sometimes feeling cool was lovely on a hot day) and pool area was nicer, in my opinion, than the pictures on the website and we used it most days. The deck bar we also used most evenings for their happy hour and after dinner drink. The views were stunning, the music at the perfect background volume with comfortable and romantic seating. The staff again were brilliant and gave the best service I have ever received. It is no wonder this hotel is part of the small luxury hotels of the world. We look forward to returning for aniniversaries and other holidays.