Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chorleywood

Comfortable hotal with excellent views

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Good room size, with good ensuite. Very attractive pool - partly indoor and parly outdoor. Free parking.
Cons: The only negative comment is that the restaurant service (for dinner) was very slow. It was so bad that mostly we ate out.
Location: The location is off a steep hil - hence good views.
Our stay was for sightseeing and relaxation, and the hotel did not disappoint. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: no children and excellent staff
Cons: review staff numbers
Location: close to town. Few minutes drive.
We have stayed at this hotel each year, and sometimes twice a year, for some time. Wonderful place and great staff. This year we noticed that the reduction in staff numbers does compromise the quality of the visit but it will not stop us returning next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom madiera

Visit to quinta days vistra

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Most things
Cons: TV programmes
Location: Location a little bit out
Had s great time at the hotel and Madeira lovely weather and great people day time service at the bar very slow also in the evening quite long waits due to staff serving diners so no on the bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorks

Excellent hotel high above the town.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The position above the town and the view. The wonderful staff.
Cons: Perhaps a late courtesy bus for those who want to eat in town, though taxis are numerous.
Location: Everything is a bus or taxi ride away in town, though organised minibus trips picked up at the door.
The hotel is situated up a very steep hill above the town. It takes 20 mins to walk into town but the return journey is quite exhausting on a hot day. A courtesy bus is provided at certain times of the day and taxis are numerous and quite cheap. The staff are among the best we have encountered, nothing is too much trouble though at times they were under a lot of pressure. They were all extremely helpful and conscientious and made our stay very pleasant. The restaurant was quite good, better than the bar food, breakfasts were excellent. The pool is slightly smaller than the photo but very clean and there is a second outdoor pool as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and it is as good as any four star hotel in England, and a lot cheaper! I'm surprised that some reviewers can knit pick as they do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Convenient & relaxing

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location, helpful staff
Cons: Carpets
Location: Up on the hill behind Funchal centre but easy walking if you don't mind a hill.
Warm welcome at 3am after flight delays started an excellent experience with this hotel. There is some sign of wear in carpets & curtains but the warmth & helpfulness of the staff more than compensated, along with the pool opening out to the garden. Breakfasts were superbly presented & the outlook of the diningroom to the sea & terrace most attractive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Forfar

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing as far as I'm concerned
Location: The courtesy bus drops you off near the centre where you can get the open top bus, or take the cable car to the Botanical gardens. The ride can be fun
Didn't know what to expect but was very impressed on arrival with the personal check-in. The hotel is not too far from the centre of Funchal and there is a courtesy bus supplied to take you in and return, or if you are brave enough, there is the local bus service! The one thing I found pleasing was that nothing was any trouble, just ask and it was done or available there and then. I could not fault the staff in any way, always cheerful and willing to help if they could. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a holiday, its worth the five stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leon

Geniales vistas

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Alejado del centro, por la vuelta,ya que está arriba de la colina de Funchal. Necesitará coche si tiene la movilidad comprometida o si no quiere sudar de vuelta. Pero si no te importa caminar un poco, hotel recomendable. Y grandes vistas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DavidBfrom Eastbourne

A nice week in April at Quinta das Vistas

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an excellent hotel with a good restaurant. It is very quiet so fine for a really relaxing break. There's a nice indoor/outdoor pool although it could have been a bit warmer and there had been a noticeable cutback on leisure staff. The hotel is on a narrow, steep road so walking into Funchal is not really an option, but it didn't bother us as we had a car and used taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by railletfrom france

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel très bien situé avec une vue imprenable sur la baie de Funchal...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel close to town

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Most aspects of it
Cons: No comment to make
Location: Covered in above
Enjoyable stay with good breakfasts and pleasant helpful staff.