Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chartres

Hôtel beneficiant d'une vue magnifique sur Funchal

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cet hôtel a le mérite de conserver le confort et la qualité d'un 5 étoiles alors que cet hôtel existe depuis plusieurs années. La terrasse du restaurant offre une vue splendide sur la ville. Le personnel est très agréable, parle plusieurs langues et est très disponible. La décoration des chambres date un peu mais sont de grandes tailles et très propres. Le jardin est très apaisant et très bien entretenu. Le parking est suffisamment grand et l'hôtel est assez proche du centre ville. Je recommande vivement cet hôtel pour découvrir la splendide île de madeire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

god oplevelse og en fantastisk udsigt

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
stilfuldt hotel. ok værelse med en fantastisk udsigt. Fin og vemlig service og flotte svømmefaciliteter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr guter Blick auf die Stadt und den Hafen

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Der Blick auf die Stadt ist sensationell.
Cons: Der Service im Restaurant könnte aufmerksamer und schneller sein. WLAN funktioniert nur in der Lobby und der Bar.
Location: Das Hotel liegt oben am Berg. Zum Stadtkern gelangt man nur mit Fahrzeug.
Sehr nettes Personal, großzügiges Zimmer, großzügige Anlage. Essen ist in Ordnung. Frühstück könnte besser sein.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chorleywood

Comfortable hotal with excellent views

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Good room size, with good ensuite. Very attractive pool - partly indoor and parly outdoor. Free parking.
Cons: The only negative comment is that the restaurant service (for dinner) was very slow. It was so bad that mostly we ate out.
Location: The location is off a steep hil - hence good views.
Our stay was for sightseeing and relaxation, and the hotel did not disappoint. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: no children and excellent staff
Cons: review staff numbers
Location: close to town. Few minutes drive.
We have stayed at this hotel each year, and sometimes twice a year, for some time. Wonderful place and great staff. This year we noticed that the reduction in staff numbers does compromise the quality of the visit but it will not stop us returning next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom madiera

Visit to quinta days vistra

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Most things
Cons: TV programmes
Location: Location a little bit out
Had s great time at the hotel and Madeira lovely weather and great people day time service at the bar very slow also in the evening quite long waits due to staff serving diners so no on the bar
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Paulfrom Hochheim

5 Sterno ohne Service

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Preis Leistung toll.....niemand hilft bei den Koffern...es ist absolut zu wenig Personal...der Rest vom Personal ist muerrisch und ueberarbeitet. Hotel und Lage sonst einfach Spitze. Hatten wahrscheinlich kein Geld mehr fuer Strom...abends immer die Aussenanlage mit Werbung dunkel!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorks

Excellent hotel high above the town.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The position above the town and the view. The wonderful staff.
Cons: Perhaps a late courtesy bus for those who want to eat in town, though taxis are numerous.
Location: Everything is a bus or taxi ride away in town, though organised minibus trips picked up at the door.
The hotel is situated up a very steep hill above the town. It takes 20 mins to walk into town but the return journey is quite exhausting on a hot day. A courtesy bus is provided at certain times of the day and taxis are numerous and quite cheap. The staff are among the best we have encountered, nothing is too much trouble though at times they were under a lot of pressure. They were all extremely helpful and conscientious and made our stay very pleasant. The restaurant was quite good, better than the bar food, breakfasts were excellent. The pool is slightly smaller than the photo but very clean and there is a second outdoor pool as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and it is as good as any four star hotel in England, and a lot cheaper! I'm surprised that some reviewers can knit pick as they do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Convenient & relaxing

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location, helpful staff
Cons: Carpets
Location: Up on the hill behind Funchal centre but easy walking if you don't mind a hill.
Warm welcome at 3am after flight delays started an excellent experience with this hotel. There is some sign of wear in carpets & curtains but the warmth & helpfulness of the staff more than compensated, along with the pool opening out to the garden. Breakfasts were superbly presented & the outlook of the diningroom to the sea & terrace most attractive