Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bath UK

An excellent stay

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: every thing
Cons: more entertainment
Location: 20 mins on the bus from Funchal, 3 restaurants within the hotel and several in the village. Lots of organised trips for the Lavada walks and island.
Our stay in March was spent at this excellent hotel, staff were friendly and courteous ,food was of a very high standard and as we used the buffet rather than A La Carte there was always more than enough choice and quantity. We booked a 'side sea view studio' but were given a central studio with direct views over the pool and gardens of the sea, it comprised 3 rooms, a large comfortable lounge large bedroom and sizeable bathroom with a kitchen diner in the lounge area. The gardens require special note as they are so beautiful and well kept, the overall design of the hotel kept the buildings integrated with the gardens to give pleasant and unspoilt garden.We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Madiera.There is a bus stop 100 yards from the hotel where a 2.2euro ride to Funchal can be taken about every 45mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Amazing setting.
Cons: Staff could take more of an interest. The beds are very hard and not at all comfy. We requested a double and 2 rooms adjoining, we got twin, far away
Location: Canico is a bit forlorn, but you are quickly into Funchal. I wouldn't have liked not having a car. Driving was fairly easy.
We had a good time at the Quinta Splendida. It is a stunning place, set in an amazing botanic garden. Amazing views, amazing pool, staff were helpful. Most of the breakfast was really nice, with quite good coffee, unusual fruits and delicious home baked cakes. It is very private and a rather special place. Where it could improve; the beds were really hard, no doubles only twins; we had a child with us and were put in rooms that were in the garden and fairly far apart which was quite frightening for my son. The hotel was very full of rather dour Swiss Germans, one of whom without fail stood outside our room shouting in German every morning at 6.45am. Not the hotel's fault, but tricky nonetheless. Breakfast was of varied quality and 14 euros each - make sure you get included. We had a really poor quality and expensive dinner in one of the hotel restaurants. My partner's scabbard fish with hazelnuts, actually turned out to be scabbard fish with sour fruit of some description and didn't work at all. My gilt headed bream was rather tough. The gym was not very well maintained and there was a much better gym in the spa but you had to 10 - 19 euros extra to use it. We went in February and I don't know if we were unlucky with the weather but it was quite cold and often blowing a gale. Luckily we had wet suits, so could still enjoy the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Urs

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andreasfrom Basel

Auf geht's...

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Wer sich das Paradies nicht vorstellen kann, sollte einmal in diesem Hotel logieren!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the description.

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
The description of this hotel is very misleading. It boasts 5 restaurants, however, one is a bar, that does not serve food, one is a poolside bar that closes at 2:30pm, one is a buffet, and the other two, a fine dining restaurant, that was actually our worst meal, and a Thai restaurant, that was delicious. However, the restaurants alternate between nights they are open. The room we booked, a small apartment with a kitchen was incredibly outdated and dirty and rough around the edges. We decided to upgrade to one of their new spa suites which was oddly designed, and a bit spooky. The sound of dogs barking begin early in the morning and continued for hours, and house keeping failed to replenish necessities. Overall, the hotel seemed cold and unfriendly and much like a ghost town. The pool and surrounding area is quite beautiful, but there are not several trails to walk on, and I am still unsure as to why this is considered a wellness retreat. Highly recommend staying in Funchal for the ultimate and most enjoyable trip to Funchal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saint-cast

comme dans un jardin

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: La splendeur du jardin, on y passerait la journée à découvrir une multitude de fleurs. Le repos grâce à la construction en petite unité.
Cons: L'accés gratuit à la piscine couverte Une navette pour la plage
Location: Une belle vue sur la mer, un accés facile par la proximité de la grande route, les commerces accessibles à pied. Visite de Funchal.
L'hotel est trés bien fait, de petites structures dans un magnifique jardin, un personnel discret mais efficace, un endroit pratique pour se promener dans toute l'île en louant une voiture. Tout prés une boulangerie et à 5 minutes à pied restaurants et supermarches. Seul bémol, la piscine couverte est en accés payant....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

I'd just go to Madeira for this hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Garden!!! Large room (not all rooms are large but most are huge!) Kitchenette Pool Wine tasting evening (beautiful madeira wine selections)
Cons: Thai Lounge was a little disappointing. It was not authentic Thai, but more of inspired, and we didn't find it as our cup of tea.
Location: We've met the most charming waiter and had fantastic meal at A Lareira restaurant just min from the hotel. Central restaurant also superb for meat!!
I love this place!! The hotel is set in the middle of a well maintained botanical garden, and is always filled with flowers, and truly beautiful. It has everything you need for relaxing, peaceful holiday, and staffs are always friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is a little on the old side but is nicely kept and you are guaranteed to have a pleasant stay there. We have stayed at Quinta Splendida Wellness & Botanical Garden for much needed holiday + my birthday. We stayed there for just over a week, for total relaxation and maybe to catch a little sun. I had stayed there on my own previously and really loved the setting and the spa, and insisted that my partner would join me this time. We have booked double occupancy apartment, which came with a large lounge, kitchenette and balcony. Kitchen facility is a MUST for me, as I like to cook light breakfast/lunch so we can go out and enjoy local cuisine for dinner. There is a large supermarket nearby, too. We weren't expecting any wifi access from the room, which is not part of the room, but we could sort of catch it if we stand on the balcony, so we were quite pleased. Hotel gave us a nice treat for my birthday extra when we booked to dine at La Perla, the food was fab, too. We were rained in quite a bit during our stay but were happy to find a pool table and a mini-gym that were free of charge. We also enjoyed our visit to spa, the treatments are not cheap but are really good, and facilities are small but cosy and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham UK

Beautiful setting, fabulous gardens

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens, friendly staff. Liked the spa as well if a bit overpriced.
Location: Canico is small but friendly. Funchal is easy bus ride away.
Stunning gardens, very well laid out so hotel rooms are low rise so doesn't feel like staying at huge hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were there over Christmas so hotel not full so the bars etc were quite empty. Ate out in Canico - small but ok. Fab bakery/coffee house next to hotel where we went for breakfast most days. Also get the bus into Funchal (goes every hour) by the bakery. Overall hotel was fabulous, Canico a bit quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom YO

nice hotel full of flowers

Posted Jan 1, 2015
We could enjoy a lot of flowers and greens in the huge garden of the hotel. The staff are really kind and warm in particular for kids. We had a reaally good holidays in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Toller Garten mit Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Fantastischer kleiner Botanischer Garten in den eine sehr schöne Hotelanlage integriert ist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Dear Guest, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrte Gäste, Wir bedanken uns für Ihren Kommentar und die Anerkennung unserer Serviceleistungen. Unser ganzes Team bemüht sich, Ihnen einen herrlichen Aufenthalt zu bereiten und ihr Feedback ist sehr wichtig für uns. Unser Team wird weiterhin motiviert daran arbeiten, Ihre Erwartungen zu erfüllen. Wir hoffen, Sie baldigst wieder bei uns begrüssen zu können. “Splendid” Grüsse