Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverley UK

The best hotel we have stayed in.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: In short, everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is in the hills, so lovely views and free courtesy bus to take you to the marina area.We are relatively fit 55 , so walked down and then back up.
From the first time we entered the hotel the staff were first class.From the reception, to the bar, to the restaurant, to the cleaning, all staff were exceptional and made our visit to the magical island of Madeira our best holiday ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lichfield

Excellent hotel with character

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Clean with good overall standard, worth its 5 stars. Breakfast was particularly good. On site (English) customer support was useful if needs
Cons: Small point would be provision of tea and coffee making in rooms. It is available by the pool or bar at reasonable cost, but nice to have in your room
Location: It is only 20 minutes walk down to town with plenty of restaurants close. 10 minutes walk will get you to main bus routes.Many cheap day tours around
Lovely old hotel situated 20 minute walk from Funchal centre. Good old fashioned service and standards with very friendly and helpful staff. Walk to town is down (and up) some steep roads, but there is a courtesy shuttle and taxis are only around €5 from centre. Food is good with an excellent choice for breakfast. It was our first trip to Madeira, but won't be our last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely, friendly, family run hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, well appointed, friendly, small, hotel. We liked everything about this hotel.
Great value. Great room, very clean and comfortable. Quiet location on ground floor with patio onto very pleasant garden. Breakfasts, especially, had extensive choice and were excellent. Had three dinners which were also well prepared and good value. All staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Would definitely return. Need to be fit for return walk from Funchal centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable and peaceful hotel in Funchal

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We were delighted with our stay at Quintinha Sao Joao. The warm and friendly staff were on hand to knock up a tasty cocktail or meal or give recommendations and directions to the delights of Funchal. The hotel is located approximately halfway between the town centre and the tourist zone, so there are restaurants and bars on either side, but you won't go wrong if you stay in the hotel either. Don't get me started on the steak sandwich... It's a really peaceful hotel as well, not exactly a family hotspot (though the one child there during our stay was well catered for and attended to) and there are plenty of cosy nooks and pool-side loungers to immerse yourself in a good book. The rooms were big, airy and clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel was, in fact, so all-round fantastic that I'm actually writing this review 3 weeks after we got back because I wanted to write it a good review despite being horrendously busy with work. What better accolade can you give it than that?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Had all we needed at a reasonable cost
Cons: Food alternatives to the restaurant during the evening would have been good
Location: 15 minute downhill walk to town centre
Lovely hotel within walking distance of town centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent and elegant hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Great wee hotel with excellent staff. Elegant decor and architecture and very friendly bad accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CQ from great britain

Very relaxed

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The overall feeling was good and the rooms were comfortable and the staff were very good .
Cons: Breakfast a good selection but if you ordered your cooked one it came before you had finished the cereal and felt rushed a it was sitting on the side
Location: Quite close to the town once you got your bearings . You need to walk into the town to find things to do .
The pools were a lot smaller than expected and the facilities of the spa required a fee which you do expect to be included . Obviously not treatments . We only booked b&b but had a couple of meals in the restaurant which were good and the hotel had a very informal air and comfortable feeling . Rooms were good although we were booked for a garden view it was on the corner so if we looked out from the balcony we had a view of the restaurant and the road which was disappointing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mark from brighton

Great hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Lovely hotel, location good, facilities excellent. Very helpful staff, who provided complimentary champagne and a cake on my birthday. Thanks for a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sos from Chelmsford

Would have been really quiet but for the traffic.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: General ambiance and furnishing. Personal service. The beautiful gardens. Comfy sun loungers and pool towels supplied. Guest relations. Warm pools.
Cons: Cleanliness of outside pool. Comfort of the beds - they could have foam overlays for those that don't like hard beds. Update of shabby bits in room.
Location: Up a very steep hill but quite possible to walk down to town to dine and large shopping centre on the way. Loved the Monte cable car.
This hotel very nearly lives up to its reviews. The room was a standard twin - large with bathroom, sleeping area, lounge area and small balcony. It was quiet if the doors were shut but there was traffic noise when on the balcony. However, the hotel is in a capital city and a 15-20 minute walk from the centre so some traffic would be expected. We walked to and from the centre for dinner. The beds were very firm so hence the comfort rating - they were not to our taste. Sheets and towels were changed virtually every day and the inside of the hotel was very clean and well appointed. The outside pool let them down - it was far from clean - the sides of the pool needed scrubbing. Wouldn't say the breakfasts were fantastic - they were of similar quality to buffet breakfasts in other good quality hotels. We did not like their cooked offerings. However, the rest of the breakfast selection was very good. Room had all amenities:air conditioning and free safety deposit, flat screen TV with a few English channels, comfy settee but was slightly shabby. In the bathroom shower gel/shampoo, soap, bath salts and shower hat provided, and a hair dryer. Gowns also provided - useful for wearing to and from the pools. The shower was difficult to adjust and the bath very narrow. Games room and gym were good. Didn't use minibar or spa due to cost. Guest relations very good for local info and booking trips. Wouldn't recommend dining there - got nicer beef elsewhere, for example.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roy from Somerset U.K.

Excellent all round.Hotel is set in beautiful gard

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Everything is well maintained and exceptionally clean. The food is first class and thestaff are superb.
Cons: Not aware of anything. This hotel is that good.
Location: The hotel is set in beautiful relaxing gardens.Excellent public transport is 50 meters distant which covers most of the island.The hotel information s
We booked the hotel to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary.The hotel was made aware of this and the staff could not have done more to make our celebration such a memorable experience. The food was first class the gardens:thefacilities:the location and the entire staff were superb.Madiera is such a welcoming island and we will return.