Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Free wifi. Fresh bedding every day. Relaxed atmosphere. Clean.
Cons: Addition of tea/coffee making facilities. Beds were very firm and even with a topper fitted were still too hard. Larger safe, iPad mini just fitted!
Location: Located inland and uphill from the centre of the old town, 15 minutes walk down, 25 minutes walk back. A walk or ride to any activities/facilities.
This is a small hotel with lots of character. Happy friendly staff. Location is not the best but okay if you enjoy walking and/or taxis. Room 007 should be avoided if you are a light sleeper as it suffers from a variety of noises through the night. The buffet breakfast provided a good choice although it was virtually the same every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom stourbridge, UK

Beautiful place

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Excellent from start to finish, good location, friendly efficient staff, really good food & facilities
Cons: Rooms need to be warmer over winter period
Location: Fairly close to town but far enough away to be out of the noise
Excellent from start to finish, good location, friendly efficient staff, really good food & facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Quiet comfort in beautiful Funchal

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Lovely gardens and great staff.
Cons: Quality of breakfast was variable with poor coffee and sometimes dry bread and cakes.
Location: 15 minute walk down tree lined streets brings you down to the sea front promenade and the centre of Funchal.
A lovely relaxing stay in this well appointed hotel in the hills just outside the centre of Funchal. Big rooms with balconies overlooking the small bu exotic gardens. Good drinks and food in the Vasco da Gama bar with outdoor terrace and interesting meals in the Morgandinha restaurant. Very helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aix en provence

hôtel à taille humaine

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: la décoration, le personnel qui vous considère comme faisant partie de la famille et qui de plus parle français et prend du temps pour nous renseigne
Cons: le lit, hôtel très difficile à trouver; nous avons mis deux heures de nuit pour trouver la rue!! même les habitants de Funchal ne la connaissait pas
Location: la ville de Funchal Monte et les jardins Curral de la Freiras
une semaine à Noël 2014 qui a passé très vite; le personnel est très accueillant et professionnel, le cadre est parfait, la cuisine excellente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Komfortables Hotel in guter Lage in Funchal

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Sehr freundliches Personal an der Rezeption, die immer Tipps zum Aufenthalt geben konnten. Gute Lage innerhalb Funchals mit Parkmöglichkeiten
Cons: Aufmerksamkeit des Servicepersonals beim Frühstück könnte verbessert werden, bellende Hunde in der Nachbarschaft ziemlich störend
Location: Funchal, Stadtbummel, Museen, Kirchen, Levada-Wanderungen
Schöne Gartenanlage, gute Lage innerhalb von Funchal mit schneller Verbindung in alle Richtungen, aufmerksamer Service, schöne Poolanlage innen und außen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E

Lovely Mid-Sized Hotel.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Comfortable hotel with 2 pools and a spa. Comfortable and cosy rather than glamorous although the flower arrangements are stunning! Room 212, Magnolia Suite was charming . Lovely wooden floors and windows looking over the terrace. Didn't get time to use the spa but, from pool side it looked impressive! Both pools were clean and sunbeds very comfy! Slightly older clientele meant that we generally had sole use of them! Pleasant walk down to town and walk up was made easier by the thoughts of the lovely bar, coffee and cocktails! The food is good, the staff are good and seem happy which makes for relaxed guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Everything is perfect and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. This general manager has found the elusive secret formula for all round success.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
We had a wonderful week in this small boutique-type hotel. The staff were very accommodating to any queries or requests we had. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Good location in a quiet residential area, but easy access to all the sites. As mentioned that the we couldn't fault the staff at the reception, the bar area, cleaning and the spa. However, some of the staff in the restaurant might need further training about dealing with customers, but this didn't have an impact on the overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Our Favourite

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The Staff, a true team, and the restaurant. Nice gardens, comfortable areas, well furnished, big room.Facilities like pools and gym wi fi etc.
Cons: Nothing much, just the usual maintenance and decorating that occurs every few years.
Location: Nice part of Funchal, easy walk down to town, taxi back four euros or use hotel shuttle or walk like we did most days.Buses are also very cheap.
We have visited Madeira four times and while we have visited very good hotels before, this hotel edged it for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen, Scotland

Excellent Hotel close to Funchal centre & Beach

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The hotel has been open 15years and as such areas could be classed as a little tired and should be addressed
Location: Walks and guided tours by the hotel designated taxi's are good
We were made most welcome and the staff could not do enough to make our stay an excellent experiance. The food was excellent with a varied menu. Breakfast was a meal to look forward to every day.