Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Best ever hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Staff. Location. Service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Short walk to town but their is a courtesy bus. On a cliff overlooking a bay as the name suggests.
My wife was taken I'll this trip. The hotel staff were fantastic. Organised doctors and hospitals and made calls emails and texts to insurances. They even rang us from their homes to see how she was. Aside from that the service is superb whilst never being intrusive. Good food. Superb location with sun terraces and pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best on the island

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Even when full, it never seems crowded. It's as if you have the place almost to yourselves.
Cons: The clarity of the menu at the Il Gallo D'Oro restaurant.
Location: ideally located within striking distance of central Funchal
This was our second visit, and will not be our last. Most of the other guests that we spoke to were on the 5th or more visit. This says it all. A great hotel that you'll want to go back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead, UK

Fabulous hotel in lovely setting

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfort of rooms, provision of sunbeds and mattresses, gardens, reception staff
Cons: Dinner buffet was not 5* - needs more live cooking. most nights looked the same, despite so-called theme nights. Must provide pool towels by the pool!
Location: Excellent location. Many good restaurants to go out to within 10 minute walk.
We spent 10 days at The Cliff Bay in September 2014 - our first visit to the hotel. It is an excellent hotel with efficient staff, public areas and guest rooms. It is however let down by the Rose Garden restaurant, whose dinner buffet is definitely not 5* in choice or quality. We were also amazed to find that you cannot get a pool towel from the pool attendant by the pool. You have to get them from the Spa reception, inside the hotel! This is mad. We were disappointed with the Manager's Reception that we were invited to. There seemed so few staff there and none of them came to say hello to us nor the people near us. Free champgane though! The staff were efficient and polite (though sometimes slow in the Blue Lagoon). Full marks to the reception staff though, who were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

AMAZING!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Just less chatty in massage room and hinting about tips etc is very unprofessional!
Location: Perfect.....close to most things
Had a lovely week at The Cliff Bay hotel from 18th -25th August 2014. Everything was great and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Had two spa treatments, both with Sonia, and they were amazing! My husband had two treatment too....his first with Susan/susannah (?) wasn't that great as she was too chatty and also hinting that previous customers had left gifts for her at reception! That said his second treatment with Alex was incredible....the best massage he's had. We only ate the buffet breakfast at the hotel which we found to be superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Magnificant Madiera in best hotel on the Island

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, views, staff, balconies, cleanliness, modernity and room sizes
Cons: hotel, service and location much better than some of the food quality and value for money but even so very good.
Location: Perfection, views, location, climate, things to do from the hotel base
Pure bliss and relaxation in peace and quiet and perfect location and climate with lovely people/staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex Eengland

5star luxury

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The food was delicious served beautifully and so much choice especially at breakfast. The surroundings were delightful, and the Spa!
Cons: The singer in the evening!
Location: Cliff top location overlooking the sea. Near to town and amenities.
Wonderful stay! Staff extremely helpful, felt very well looked after and spoilt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Touch of Class

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: They just get it right in virtually everything they do.
Cons: They did come rather too early in the mornings to try to clean the room.
Location: location is superb. Easy access to town centre for all activities. The hotel can book most sightseeing excursions.
Very orderly, calm and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast is superb.Room sizes are generous and views spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel great location, public areas could do with some renovations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lue from cumbria

Lives up to expectations

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good facilities, lots of secluded areas to enjoy the sunshine
Cons: No improvements necessary
Location: Funchal town a 20 minute walk offers plenty of shops and cafés to sit and watch the world go by. Outdoor activities and excursions can be arranged.
The reviews for this hotel were very favourable and when we arrived we were not disappointed. Our room was ready on arrival before noon, the information given by the hotel was very good. Although a little way out of Funchal it was a pleasant walk in the sunshine in to town (plenty of seating in the park on the way if you want a rest). The hotel facilities were very good, more than enough sun beds for all guests and helpful staff to sort out umbrellas etc. The Spa facilities are excellent and it's worth getting up early to experience a tranquil swim in the heated pool. More than enough choice in restaurants and bar areas, the Michellin Star restaurant was pricey, but as a treat it is worth the extra expense. There are plenty of alternative restaurants around the area and in Funchal town to suit all pockets. Our first visit to the island, we very much enjoyed it and the hotel certainly made the holiday almost perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rod from London

Even in bad weather, a lovely place to spend time!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: I liked the two swimming pools (one indoor but connecting to an outside pool) plus the fact that its possible to swim in the sea from the jetty
Cons: Different rooms come with different services and "extras". It would be useful to have these summarized clearly in the room
Location: The location was excellent. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The free courtesy bus took you to the centre of Funchal in 15 minutes
The staff were exceptional...not JUST doing a professional job of being polite and interested, but genuinely kind and clearly enjoying (and taking pride in) their work. This is true in all areas of the hotel, from reception who went out of their way to accommodate my request for a late check out, to the pool staff who seemed to anticipate your every need I enjoy swimming and had 3 quite different opportunities, which I needed as the weather changed through the week...One glorious day...sea swimming off the jetty. When the wind (and red flag) was up but sun shining, a lovely clear, saltwater outdoor pool. Then one cold and grey day the warmth, comfort and high temperature of the snug and cosy indoor pool. Felt thoroughly spoilt to have the choice. Unlike most luxury hotels there was even a feeling of "good value for money" around Happy Hour! 2 glasses of delicious sparkling wine (served beautifully) in a lovely setting.... with live music for 5 euros? Beat that!