Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newbury

5 Stars Well Deserved

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The hotel boasts that 30% customers are returning, and we're at all not surprised. This is our second stay at Cliff Bay, and won't be our last. Hotel is 20 mins walk from Funchal centre, but provides a courtesy bus during the day for those who can't/won't walk. The hotel staff are exemplary in their friendliness and helpfulness. The buffet breakfast is the best spread we have ever seen, really high quality food and plenty of it. We have taken one buffet supper (fish/seafood) in the Rose restaurant - again high quality and plentiful. The Bistro (next to the bar) provides lovely dishes for reasonable prices, again of very high quality. The heated indoor/outdoor pool is served by a snack/drinks bar, and is well furnished with plenty of loungers; in and out-doors. A very good massage was had at the spa at a very reasonable price, whilst an indoor jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are available to all for free in the Wellness Centre. Bedrooms are roomy and comfortable. We can't fault this hotel at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort McMurray, Alberta

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We had a fabulous time at The Cliff Bay in Funchal. The weather was better than expected. Our walks around town were beautiful and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, UK

A fabulous resort Hotel overlooking the Atlantic.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The bedroom, the bathroom, the sea view, the location, the facilities, the pools,the entertainment - it exceeded our expectations and more.
Cons: Perhaps better quality sun loungers at the sea level pool? Complimentary bottled water in the room should be a must.
Location: Close to the Harbour and a little further into town, but walking distance for both. Good bus connections into town outside on the main sea road.
We enjoyed our week's stay there, a great place from which to discover Funchal and wider Madeira. The staff are well organised and efficient and extremely helpful. The Hotel offers so much for everyone, those wanting to relax there or those wanting to use it as a base for touring, or both. The food was first class both in quality and variety and well presented. A leisurely Breakfast on the terrace a particular highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom guildford

Luxury at a good price

Posted Feb 19, 2015
A very well run hotel. Stunning views from our room. The hotel staff were polite and attentive. The food and drink were very good. Delicious locally sourced produce was used. Funchal is a vibrant city, lots to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, Ireland

Nice Quality Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location and a great setting and plenty of lovely internal and external sitting areas throughout
Cons: Hotel itself is a little dated in some respects and in particular the bedrooms.
Location: Nothing really to do nearby - you need to walk a good distance for the old town, harbour and choice of restaurants
We found the staff really friendly and very well trained and a few were excellent. The setting of the hotel is lovely and the decor very pleasant. Breakfast and lunch were of a good quality with a great choice for the breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wien

Zurecht gebucht :-))

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Wir wollten ursprünglich auf die Kanarischen Inseln, könnten uns aber aufgrund mancher unterdurchschnittlicher Bewertungen selbst bei gehobenen Hotels nicht entscheiden. So buchten wir wieder Madeira.2008 waren wir etwas isoliert im Jardim Atlantico (auch sehr nett damals).Diesesmal mit Sohn war mehr Abwechslung nötig daher Funchal. Und hier ein Hotel mit makellose Feedback!! Dem können wir uns nur 100% anschließen. Die Gäste waren zwar sehr überwiegen >50 aber das war nicht negativ bemerkbar Also wenn Funchal dann wieder Cliff bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: A warm and welcoming environment, with great facilities and restaurants.
Cons: Sometimes the music in the bar is a bit cheesy.
Location: There are other good restaurants nearby, the local bus route is on the doorstep or if you wish it's only a short walk into Funchal.
This is a great place to stay; the hotel is sparkling, staff friendly, and food fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Düren

Ausgezeichnetes Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Da alles Spitze war wollen wir nichts herausheben
Location: Beste Lage, aber auch im Umfeld etliches (Restaurants, Bars, Bus ) sind gut zu Fuß zu erreichen
Lage , Ausstattung Anbindung ( kostenloser Shuttle-Bus zum Zentrum) Essen, Zimmer verdienen die Sterne 5+ wirklich. Wir sind begeistert. SEHR empfehlenswert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom wiltshire

Double discount week equals a doubley delighted gu

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: I used the spa alot, it is excellent, the girls are very skilled and the sauna and steam areas were very quiet, so we used the relaxation areas too.
Cons: The shared courtesy bus with the other hotels seemed to be full most days, so book in advance to avoid disappointment.
Location: Walking distance to some fantastic restaurants and a cab down to the cable cars was only 8 euros. Which is a must if you want to taboggan down!
Was upgraded to the upper floors, which was lovely, thank you! The Cliff Bay is a real gem. Spoke to lots of other guests, most of them returning time and time again. This was my 19th visit, so they must be doing something right!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brentwood Essex

Excellent hotel on cliff top with access to sea

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The whole experience was enjoyable - the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic
Cons: A changing cubicle for the indoor swimming pool would be an improvement
Location: Cliff top location with easy access to the centre of Funchal with a walk of about 25 mins (approx) downhill. Several good restaurants nearby
Relaxing and enjoyable stay with plenty of winter sunshine. The indoor/outdoor pool was beautifully warm even when the wind blew. The salt water pool was a little cold in January and so was the sea but it was great to have a quick dip at this time of year in the Atlantic. The bedrooms are spacious with excellent facilities and the view of Funchal bay at night is magical and in the daytime you can watch the cruise ships and sit on the large balcony. There was live entertainment every night in the bar and you could dance if you wished. Overall it was a great holiday.