Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lue from cumbria

Lives up to expectations

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good facilities, lots of secluded areas to enjoy the sunshine
Cons: No improvements necessary
Location: Funchal town a 20 minute walk offers plenty of shops and caf├ęs to sit and watch the world go by. Outdoor activities and excursions can be arranged.
The reviews for this hotel were very favourable and when we arrived we were not disappointed. Our room was ready on arrival before noon, the information given by the hotel was very good. Although a little way out of Funchal it was a pleasant walk in the sunshine in to town (plenty of seating in the park on the way if you want a rest). The hotel facilities were very good, more than enough sun beds for all guests and helpful staff to sort out umbrellas etc. The Spa facilities are excellent and it's worth getting up early to experience a tranquil swim in the heated pool. More than enough choice in restaurants and bar areas, the Michellin Star restaurant was pricey, but as a treat it is worth the extra expense. There are plenty of alternative restaurants around the area and in Funchal town to suit all pockets. Our first visit to the island, we very much enjoyed it and the hotel certainly made the holiday almost perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rod from London

Even in bad weather, a lovely place to spend time!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: I liked the two swimming pools (one indoor but connecting to an outside pool) plus the fact that its possible to swim in the sea from the jetty
Cons: Different rooms come with different services and "extras". It would be useful to have these summarized clearly in the room
Location: The location was excellent. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The free courtesy bus took you to the centre of Funchal in 15 minutes
The staff were exceptional...not JUST doing a professional job of being polite and interested, but genuinely kind and clearly enjoying (and taking pride in) their work. This is true in all areas of the hotel, from reception who went out of their way to accommodate my request for a late check out, to the pool staff who seemed to anticipate your every need I enjoy swimming and had 3 quite different opportunities, which I needed as the weather changed through the week...One glorious day...sea swimming off the jetty. When the wind (and red flag) was up but sun shining, a lovely clear, saltwater outdoor pool. Then one cold and grey day the warmth, comfort and high temperature of the snug and cosy indoor pool. Felt thoroughly spoilt to have the choice. Unlike most luxury hotels there was even a feeling of "good value for money" around Happy Hour! 2 glasses of delicious sparkling wine (served beautifully) in a lovely setting.... with live music for 5 euros? Beat that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cambridge uk

Great hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Space, staff, food
Location: Great climate, not too hot and never cold.
Large rooms, fantastic food, it never felt like there were many people there although there were. It is a well laid out and well run hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ash from Oxfordshire, UK

Hotel on the cliffs with beautiful views

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The amazing views from rooms, gardens and all the facilities. The staff make you feel very welcome.
Location: 10 minutes from Funchal by bus. Plenty of shops in town. Cable car up to Monte and gardens. Lots of great restaurants within easy walking distance.
We paid a little extra for a 'sea view' and had a fabulous view of Funchal Harbour from our balcony. The room was very spacious with comfortable beds. Facilities in the room included free wifi, a desk, mini bar, coffee and tea making, lamps, bedside tables and air conditioning. There were 5 drawers and a huge wardrobe with plenty of hangers. There is also a safe in the room large enough for notebook sized laptops, tablets etc. Other furniture included a sofa and arm chair, office chair, table and also two chairs and a table on the balcony. The bathroom had a nice sized bath, lovely shower, 2 basins, toilet and bidet with toiletries replenished daily. Staff were always helpful and friendly in the hotel and breakfast was amazing, good quality food and lots of choice. There is a courtesy bus into town several times a day, lots of garden to sit in, a spa, pools and restaurants too. I can't find fault with this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiggs from UK

AMAZING RESORT

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything, from the exceptional sea view to the staff. From the pools to the food.
Cons: Breakfast, just didn't have the array I have seen else where. We had a 14yr old with us and were not offered to be seated outside like couples were.
Location: Funchal is a bustling little city and is even busier when the cruise ships come in. Sea of Pleasure Dolphin watching was exceptional.
Perfect stay for our short break. Room was beautiful, with the view over the sea spectacular. The staff were very efficient with nothing being to much of a problem. Reception staff were exceptional booking all of our tours for us after we decided, after sifting through a full range of leaflets we were given on arrival. The courtesy bus was great very helpful, but remember to book it the day before! Food was very good, acceptable standard for a 5* Hotel. Breakfast was mediocre, I have had better in a 3* in South Africa. Although price of drinks shocking as expected, nip down the road for a 6 pack of Coral for the same price as a large one at the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Farnham Common, UK

Best Hotel In Funchal

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Ideally located, within 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes taxi ride from the centre of Funchal. Plenty of local restaurants in the immediate area.
Ideal location, with lots of facilities and a 1 star Michelin restaurant. Staff are incredibly friendly, and the hotel has all the things you will need for a great holiday. Not cheap but good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Devon

Great location, great facilities

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Great location, great facilities
Cons: Difficult to fault anything.
Location: Loads to see and do in Funchal. Good local restaurants - Olives, Med, Funcho Gourmet (all within half a mile of the hotel)
It's perched on a cliff (hence the name), so it's up the hill a bit from the centre of Funchal - but if you don't mind being a mile out of town, we can't think of a better location. Great views over the town and out to sea - and lots of restaurants at all prices and qualities within a 5 / 10 minute walk. The facilities are top-notch. Generously-proportioned rooms, an excellent breakfast buffet, brilliant swimming pool and sun terrace on the cliff top...and ditto at sea level. A decent gym, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janice from Stansted

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Attention to detail is amazing - I can't see how anything could be improved.
Location: Not too far from airport, complimentary bus to the centre and cable car both of which are worth a visit.
If you need a quiet, relaxing break this is the place to come. Beautiful location with lovely views of Funchal. Rooms large enough for three of us (myself and two grown up daughters). Staff all friendly, efficient and helpful. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wantage Oxon

Excellent Hatel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Pool Spa Food
Cons: No
Excellent Hotel position service etc all first class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Stroud, UK

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Its locatyion and great range of facilities.
Cons: It was not easy to book a tour from the reception desk. We found it better to go to a booking agency on the way to town.
Location: It's on the sea, about 200 yards West of Reid's, so close to town.
The room was excellent with a comfortable bed, good pillows and good facilities We paid extra for an upper floor room, and had a large balcony with sea view. The pool facilities, bar and restaurants were to a high standard.