Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom spain

lovely hotel, could not fault it.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Views, position, staff, food,
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: good location to access restuarants, bus services and trips.
From start to finish had a great time here. The Portugese airline we flew with were good. Maderia is a beautiful island and the hotel and staff were perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham England

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The location and comfort of the hotel. Also the staff and atmosphere around the hotel.
Cons: Our balcony had a wall instead of railings which blocked the wonderful view when sitting on the balcony. Not a major issue.
Location: Funchals architecture and public gardens are brilliant. Observing the fish mongers at the market was really interesting. Cable car to Monte is a must.
This was our first stay at The Cliff Bay and from the time we arrived to the moment we left we had a wonderful experience. The facilities speak for themselves and in my opinion definitely 5 star. The views are wonderful and there are plenty of places around the hotel to sit and observe. What makes it stand out from other hotels, is the staff . All the staff are friendly, pleasant and genuinely want to ensure you have a wonderful stay. There is a lovely relaxed and tranquil atmosphere around the hotel and it appears everything is well managed and organised. We booked B&B as we like to try different restaurants but we did take advantage of the evening meal offer (must book at least 3 nights.) The price I thought was very reasonable as it included half bottle of wine and bottled water. They did a separate deal for my husband who is not a wine drinker. Each day there is a different special offer in the spa and my husband took advantage of this and had a back massage, which he said was very good and relaxing. I broke my glasses whilst away and foolishly forgot to take my spare pair The receptionist was really helpful, she located the nearest opticians, explained opening times and how to get there. The optician managed to do a temporary fix free of charge. They also booked tables at restaurants on our behalf and explained the best roads to use to the various tourist attractions we visited. We would certainly consider staying at The Cliff Bay again. Thank You !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom devizes

Always excellent

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: We had a larger room above the bar, noise does not bother me. the evening sun on the spacious balcony and a great view of garden and Sea just Fab
Location: We dined in the blue lagoon alot as the weather was,increible, asked if some of the selection from the cactus,bar was available, but it was,not.
I have reviewed the Cliff Bay a number of times, as I have now stayed there 20 times. That In itself should speak of the quality of this wonderful hotel and its staff. A new manager and a few small tweeks to check,in and check out, but still five star!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hornchurch. Uk

Beautiful hotel .Very peaceful and quiet.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Location our room facing the sea
Cons: Could provide with a bottle of water on arrival
Location: Good location. Could take good walk. Shops and restaurants nearby
Funchal excellent place to chill out.Very clean.went around most of the places by sightseeing bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Honnef

Tolles Hotel mit Charme

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Schönes Hotel mit viel Charme sehr schön eingerichtet, super Poolanlage und herrliche Lage direkt am Meer. Sehr aufmerksames nettes mehrsprachiges Personal. Das Frühstücksbuffet lässt keine Wünsche offen. Klare Empfehlung!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Hôtel très bien situé. Service parfait. Nourriture excellente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No negative comments - a positive experience

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Good location. Pool areas very pleasant. Lovely room with fantastic view Breakfast on the terrace.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel shuttle to town and local buses nearby. Not too far to walk to town. A good variety of restaurants within walking distance.
Bed and breakfast only. Stayed for a week. 2 active pensioners. Great place to relax by the pool or on room balcony. Good cocktail party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

We will be back!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Comfort, spaciousness, kind and friendly staff, brilliant food, swimming pools gallore and a terrific spa. Don't miss the calm and views on the Captain's lounge. Ideal place for an aperitif. Out of seasin visit is ideal because there is plenty of room and it is quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious break

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a great time. Staff attentive and welcoming, hotel really clean and great views all round! Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

The perfect hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: I think I said it all above - just first class.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: I would not recommend restaurants close by - go on recommendations on trip advisor.
My experience was a first at the Cliff Bay Hotel and it was just fantastic, the hotel ticks all the boxes. Service, facilities, staff and restaurants were first class but without charging over the top as most 5 star hotels do. They have got their customer service spot on and nothing is too much trouble. Without hesitation I would recommend this hotel