Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ash from Oxfordshire, UK

Hotel on the cliffs with beautiful views

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The amazing views from rooms, gardens and all the facilities. The staff make you feel very welcome.
Location: 10 minutes from Funchal by bus. Plenty of shops in town. Cable car up to Monte and gardens. Lots of great restaurants within easy walking distance.
We paid a little extra for a 'sea view' and had a fabulous view of Funchal Harbour from our balcony. The room was very spacious with comfortable beds. Facilities in the room included free wifi, a desk, mini bar, coffee and tea making, lamps, bedside tables and air conditioning. There were 5 drawers and a huge wardrobe with plenty of hangers. There is also a safe in the room large enough for notebook sized laptops, tablets etc. Other furniture included a sofa and arm chair, office chair, table and also two chairs and a table on the balcony. The bathroom had a nice sized bath, lovely shower, 2 basins, toilet and bidet with toiletries replenished daily. Staff were always helpful and friendly in the hotel and breakfast was amazing, good quality food and lots of choice. There is a courtesy bus into town several times a day, lots of garden to sit in, a spa, pools and restaurants too. I can't find fault with this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiggs from UK

AMAZING RESORT

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything, from the exceptional sea view to the staff. From the pools to the food.
Cons: Breakfast, just didn't have the array I have seen else where. We had a 14yr old with us and were not offered to be seated outside like couples were.
Location: Funchal is a bustling little city and is even busier when the cruise ships come in. Sea of Pleasure Dolphin watching was exceptional.
Perfect stay for our short break. Room was beautiful, with the view over the sea spectacular. The staff were very efficient with nothing being to much of a problem. Reception staff were exceptional booking all of our tours for us after we decided, after sifting through a full range of leaflets we were given on arrival. The courtesy bus was great very helpful, but remember to book it the day before! Food was very good, acceptable standard for a 5* Hotel. Breakfast was mediocre, I have had better in a 3* in South Africa. Although price of drinks shocking as expected, nip down the road for a 6 pack of Coral for the same price as a large one at the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Farnham Common, UK

Best Hotel In Funchal

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Ideally located, within 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes taxi ride from the centre of Funchal. Plenty of local restaurants in the immediate area.
Ideal location, with lots of facilities and a 1 star Michelin restaurant. Staff are incredibly friendly, and the hotel has all the things you will need for a great holiday. Not cheap but good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Devon

Great location, great facilities

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Great location, great facilities
Cons: Difficult to fault anything.
Location: Loads to see and do in Funchal. Good local restaurants - Olives, Med, Funcho Gourmet (all within half a mile of the hotel)
It's perched on a cliff (hence the name), so it's up the hill a bit from the centre of Funchal - but if you don't mind being a mile out of town, we can't think of a better location. Great views over the town and out to sea - and lots of restaurants at all prices and qualities within a 5 / 10 minute walk. The facilities are top-notch. Generously-proportioned rooms, an excellent breakfast buffet, brilliant swimming pool and sun terrace on the cliff top...and ditto at sea level. A decent gym, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janice from Stansted

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Attention to detail is amazing - I can't see how anything could be improved.
Location: Not too far from airport, complimentary bus to the centre and cable car both of which are worth a visit.
If you need a quiet, relaxing break this is the place to come. Beautiful location with lovely views of Funchal. Rooms large enough for three of us (myself and two grown up daughters). Staff all friendly, efficient and helpful. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janice from Stansted

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Attention to detail is amazing - I can't see how anything could be improved.
Location: Not too far from airport, complimentary bus to the centre and cable car both of which are worth a visit.
If you need a quiet, relaxing break this is the place to come. Beautiful location with lovely views of Funchal. Rooms large enough for three of us (myself and two grown up daughters). Staff all friendly, efficient and helpful. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wantage Oxon

Excellent Hatel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Pool Spa Food
Cons: No
Excellent Hotel position service etc all first class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Stroud, UK

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Its locatyion and great range of facilities.
Cons: It was not easy to book a tour from the reception desk. We found it better to go to a booking agency on the way to town.
Location: It's on the sea, about 200 yards West of Reid's, so close to town.
The room was excellent with a comfortable bed, good pillows and good facilities We paid extra for an upper floor room, and had a large balcony with sea view. The pool facilities, bar and restaurants were to a high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Madeira is a lovely island
Brilliant hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent. The location great walking distance of town centre but quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny

Lovely room with a fabulous view of the bay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: It was very spacious it never seemed crowded and there were lots of lovely out of the way places with sun beds
Cons: We were disappointed to not be able to get into the Michelin star restaurant due to the 'route of the Stars ' function going on all week
Location: Many good quality restaurants nearby and the cable car to the gardens in Funchal, also worth a trip around the island were it is far less developed,
We were very pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of our room , with fabulous sea views.