Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good hotel with amenities

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Choice of restaurants and bars and the willingness to help with my gluten free dietary requirements
Location: Near to Funchel centre, by Reids Palace Hotel. Central for all tours, walks etc
Staff very helpful, hotel location good with courtesy coach to centre of town. Hotel amenities very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Great Hotel, friendly staff. Looking forward to staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lowestoft

A gem of a hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: The attention to detail from all the staff.
Cons: Water in room on turn down- but really clutching at straws here!
Location: Location is great, easy to stroll into Funchal or get the courtesy bus. Whilst their we tried there'd hop on hop off bus and went on the cable cars
From the glass of bubbly at check in to our departure a week later- nothing was too much trouble. The staff all go the extra mile to ensure customer comfort is their number one priority. The pool and sun terraces always had a selection of available loungers regardless of time of day. The food in the buffet restaurant at lunch and dinner was excellent and it was lovely to be welcomed with a smile by the wonderful restaurant manager and his fabulous team. The location is great with fabulous views over Funchal harbour and a variety of places to eat and stroll in an evening right outside the hotel. This is definitely a hotel I will return to- hopefully sooner rather than later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Well worth a vist

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Super views, immaculate and clean
Cons: Bathroom needed attention. Soft closures on the bedroom doors, as doors slam when shutting - not good if you get an early riser next door.
Location: Excellent location, sea views. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Coastal path walk nearby. Easy bus routes into Funchal and cheap too.
Really lovely hotel, exceptionally clean and a true 5 star. Staff were always polite and courteous, but not as friendly as they could be. Lots of choice for the buffet breakfast and would suit all tastes. Gardens and flower borders are absolutely immaculate. Michelin restaurant available in the hotel, but quite pricey. Bar produces nice meals. Entertainment each night in the bar, but nothing special. Bathroom needs better seals around shower door as it leaked in the corner and flooded the bathroom floor. WC in separate cubicle, but layout a problem, as was situated behind the door. All pool areas spotless and staff very efficient, they even put your towels on the sun beds for you! Also nice play area for children and play pool, although there were no children in the hotel when we were there. Access to sea safe with a guard on duty. Would highly recommend this hotel. Locals say it is the best hotel on the island. Super views too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Superb Hotel with a Stunning View

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Excellent hotel, peaceful, tranquil and civilized with spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean. Very good restaurants with exceptional service, making meal time a delight. Staff very friendly and attentive, meeting our every need. Pools and spa lovely with every detail carefully considered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best hotel on the island

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The setting. The outside areas are beautiful. Lovely staff, very clean, well maintained hotel without being too opulent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideal location. About a mile/mile and a half from the centre of Funchal. Lots of people walk there and back daily. Plenty of taxis and buses also.
The first time we went to this hotel five years ago the taxi driver who took us from the airport to the hotel said he thought The Cliff was the best hotel on the island and I wouldn't argue with that. Been back three more times since then, and most guests do go back, which says it all really. Having said that, it is a quiet and relaxing hotel, so not for anyone looking for something more lively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Amazing hotel

Posted May 31, 2015
Gorgeous setting, great staff, lovely food. Everything we wanted and more. Perfect! :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from spain

lovely hotel, could not fault it.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Views, position, staff, food,
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: good location to access restuarants, bus services and trips.
From start to finish had a great time here. The Portugese airline we flew with were good. Maderia is a beautiful island and the hotel and staff were perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham England

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The location and comfort of the hotel. Also the staff and atmosphere around the hotel.
Cons: Our balcony had a wall instead of railings which blocked the wonderful view when sitting on the balcony. Not a major issue.
Location: Funchals architecture and public gardens are brilliant. Observing the fish mongers at the market was really interesting. Cable car to Monte is a must.
This was our first stay at The Cliff Bay and from the time we arrived to the moment we left we had a wonderful experience. The facilities speak for themselves and in my opinion definitely 5 star. The views are wonderful and there are plenty of places around the hotel to sit and observe. What makes it stand out from other hotels, is the staff . All the staff are friendly, pleasant and genuinely want to ensure you have a wonderful stay. There is a lovely relaxed and tranquil atmosphere around the hotel and it appears everything is well managed and organised. We booked B&B as we like to try different restaurants but we did take advantage of the evening meal offer (must book at least 3 nights.) The price I thought was very reasonable as it included half bottle of wine and bottled water. They did a separate deal for my husband who is not a wine drinker. Each day there is a different special offer in the spa and my husband took advantage of this and had a back massage, which he said was very good and relaxing. I broke my glasses whilst away and foolishly forgot to take my spare pair The receptionist was really helpful, she located the nearest opticians, explained opening times and how to get there. The optician managed to do a temporary fix free of charge. They also booked tables at restaurants on our behalf and explained the best roads to use to the various tourist attractions we visited. We would certainly consider staying at The Cliff Bay again. Thank You !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from devizes

Always excellent

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: We had a larger room above the bar, noise does not bother me. the evening sun on the spacious balcony and a great view of garden and Sea just Fab
Location: We dined in the blue lagoon alot as the weather was,increible, asked if some of the selection from the cactus,bar was available, but it was,not.
I have reviewed the Cliff Bay a number of times, as I have now stayed there 20 times. That In itself should speak of the quality of this wonderful hotel and its staff. A new manager and a few small tweeks to check,in and check out, but still five star!