Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

modern designer hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
excellent location. excellent chef. very obliging staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Location: great location, near the main town so lots of restaurants etc nearby. its easy to get to all the buses etc if you want to get around by yourself.
this hotel is absolutely beautiful, the room was comfortable and attractive, the breakfasts were amazing and the staff were wonderful. I would recommend the spa, which is lovely and free to use, and the chocolate massage which was amazing! The restaurant was also really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel!!!! Ever!!!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Everything! Location perfect!
Location: Location perfect to explore Funchal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom belgique

Hôtel situé à proximité du port, parking aisé , pe

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: son ambiance , l'acceuil du personnel , la qualité de la restauration
Cons: tout ok
Location: situé près de la vielle ville, à deux pas du marché des laboureurs et de la rue santa maria où les restaurants sont multiples et de qualités
Hôtel au look moderne, confortable avec terrasse panoramique donnant sur l'ensemble de la ville. Chambre très confortable et de grande propreté. Le personnel de l'hôtel est efficace et très agréable. Au point de vue repas, petit déjeuner excellent et souper de toute grande classe au restaurant situé sur le toit de l'hôtel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom paris

Formidable séjour

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Formidable. Magnifique piscine et jacuzzi sur le toit. Arrivez le plus tôt possible pour y paresser le plus longtemps possible. Réservez le restaurant qui est classé au Michelin et demandez qu'on vous chauffe le bain turc une heure à l'avance. Superbe hôtel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Falkirk

Divine at The Vine

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Charles and Bruno in particular were very helpful with their knowledge of the area, their service and their local tips for places to eat and drink.
Cons: Couple of areas that The Vine could maybe improve on would be their Spa facilities and treatment prices. Good, but could be much better.
First trip to Madeira and we were lucky to stay at the very well positioned Vine Hotel. Just up from the harbor, The Vine is a quirky and modern hotel that sits on top of a shopping mall. This is a little strange, but in no way does it have any effect on the hotel itself. Personally, I felt that our room was a little tired looking, but the overall hotel is pretty well maintained and is very modern in it's design. It's best quality though are the very helpful and friendly members of staff. Professional at every turn. I felt that the staff are the reason the hotel holds a 5 star rating. The rooftop pool is a great addition and was perfect for relaxing at after a day walking through the town. Breakfast is standard fare, but with plenty to choose from. Including champagne should you want it! Again, service at breakfast was excellent! Unfortunately, we didn't have an opportunity to eat at the hotel's restaurant, but from speaking to others I believe the quality is very good. Other than that, I can honestly say that should we visit Madeira again we would consider The Vine as our place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hoylake, UK

Staff fantastic. Room design dreadful.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The staff were wonderful and the dinner we had in the hotel was exceptional.
Cons: The whole design of the room!! Impractical and most uncomfortable.
Location: Location is excellent. In the centre of Funchal with a supermarket and other shops below. Five minute walk to the ocean front.
I really can't say enough about the staff at the Vine. Helpful, friendly and efficient. However, the room design was clearly not designed for the client but was a 'design statement'. Here is a list of the ridiculous features... Lighting was too low to be able to shave or apply make-up successfully. There was no accessible mirror for the same and both had to be done whilst standing and trying to balance make-up etc on the tiny area not covered by an unnecessarily enormous sink. The shower had no hooks for towels and only one tiny shelf for soap and shampoo. The wall of the shower which adjoined the bedroom was glass so making it impossible to shower in private!! The floors of the shower, toilet and sink area were made of stone pebbles which were incredibly uncomfortable on bare feet. There was one small freestanding metal towel rack which did not allow towels to dry. The entire room needs a rethink as it was VERY uncomfortable and definitely not worth the price. One last negative was that often the 'hot' food at breakfast was cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great spot in the center of Funchal

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Very courteous and accommodating staff that helped arrange a taxi for us when our flight was over 12 hours delayed and we arrived at 5am. The place itself is fantastically located a minute walk from the old town market. All of our tour guides knew exactly where the hotel is located which facilitated prompt pick ups. The hotel itself is modern without being over the top. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the view has a great view, and guests have access to apparently the best spa in Madeira.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Trendy Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The décor and the bathroom in the room - really liked the sink. Loved the views from the roof top terrace.
Cons: Tea & coffee facilities in room
Location: Hotel was well situated. Close to shops bars, restaurants, park and marina.
Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the situation of the hotel and the views from the roof top terrace. Staff were very friendly and polite. Roof top restaurant was closed so we could not dine there. Enjoyed the breakfast experience - especially the freshly squeezed orange juice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Very nice modern building, well equipped.
Cons: Hotel food and drink were a little pricey.
Location: Very central location, near to shops, cathedral, marina and cable car etc.
Great hotel, very good central location. The food was very good and bar services were all very good. Friendly and efficient staff. Good facilities in the spa and gym.