Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

A good 5 star hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: we used the yellow bus tour at bus stop 16 / 17 Annabel is very helpful and full of ideas ,well worth stopping to say hello .
The food is fabulous rooms were perfect with excellent views,the staff were more than helpful ,very friendly and always happy, something reare ,much appricated thank you all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mt from London

lovely relaxing 5 * resort!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: the range facilities - spa, number of pools, tennis court, gym classes, diving.. nice modern interior and friendly staff.
Cons: perhaps more shade poolside and a range of cooked foods in Japanese restaurant (other than uncooked sushi/sashimi)
Location: well located - close to a large and smaller supermarket and Petit Four bakery for some delicious natas
The best resort on the block by far in terms of modern interior and facilities. A good range of restaurants to choose from for half board. We traveled for our babymoon and it was perfect to relax. Also family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moog from Aylesbury

Spacious room & hotel, great facilities

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Food excellent with plenty of choice, great cocktail bar too. Lovely stay.
Cons: Nothing - we would definitely return.
Location: It was a 20 mins walk into Funchal which we did many times as we wnjoy walking. Bus service inexpensive and frequent - timetables provided by hotel.
Awonderful stay at this great hotel. Staff very helpful and all requests answered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ella from London

Fantastic Location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The views made the holiday for me.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Food not so good.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Cheltenham, Glos

Generally OK but lacks character & atmosphere

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Location & rooms were good. Spotlessly clean (bit like staying in a hospital).
Cons: Liven it up a bit. Ditch the minimalist, futuristic style and add some warmth and atmosphere. Improve the restaurant food selection and presentation.
Location: Plenty of nice looking restaurants nearby, so would avoid half board next time. Short walk to Reids to experience a special night out for cocktails.
Nothing really wrong with this hotel apart from its lack of character and warmth. Location very good; staff friendly & helpful; superior room huge with lovely sea & garden view from 2nd floor. Food in buffet restaurant was lacking in imagination and variety and not really up to 5 star standard. Breakfast selection was better than evening meal. Food in alternate restaurants was far better and is worth visiting these as often as possible. Pool area is like a concrete car park with minimal shade apart from umbrellas. Pools themselves fine, and garden areas quiet and relaxing. No evidence of poolside waiter service or drinks & snack facilities. All public areas, including bar, seemed empty boring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wooodie from Surrey

Good quality hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Excellent sea views, choice of pools and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet choices in restaurant. Efficient lifts.
Cons: Suggest net curtains to prevent incoming mosquitoes! In the bathroom of our accommodation the extractor fan was not working efficiently.Towels thin!
Location: Within comfortable walking distance of Funchal, taxi stand, bus stop, supermaket and other shops. Good seafront location. ,
Good quality hotel with most facilities working. A large very open promenade deck with pools but very little natural shade other than parasols. Need more palm trees or landscaping softening! Looked quite bald!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sigmo from bishops stortford

Great hotel,beautiful sea platform, friendly staff

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, great view, lovely buffet, friendly staff. Spa excellent as was the sushi restaurant. Takes a little time to get a feel for where things are- worth a walk round on your first day! Facilities are worth finding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Room, and view from room.
Cons: Staff sometimes a bit unfriendly
Clean and up together, if a bit "sterile". Half board buffet was distinctly average but Mamma Mia's was very good as an alternative. Building work by the beach side a bit of a disturbance
2 out of 5
by John from Devon

Stark hospital like with no atmosphere.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and efficient the buffet offering was fine
Cons: Rebuild it
Location: 20 minute walk into centre
They may have 5 stars based on facilities but the public areas and pool areas are bleak. We enjoyed Madeira but the hotel added nothing. There was no welcome when we arrived and no interest in our departure beyond settling my bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MAA from England

Excellent base to explore Maderia

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent position, room with view and balcony, spotlessly clean, helpful staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: About 30 minute walk from centre of Funchal. With a car, explored the island.
From the minute we arrived the hotel and its staff lived up to its 5* status. An excellent base to explore Maderia. The staff were always helpful and attentive, the hotel facilities excellent - even the infinity pools in February! - and the food was well presented and used many local recipes and ingredients.