Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Service at it's very best

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The overall standard of the staff was exemplary, and a credit to the industry they work in.
Cons: Have a I Phone connector to recharge my phone ( had forgotten mine ! )
Location: Everything I needed was at the Resort.
From the Concierge at Reception to the Maids cleaning the room, the attention to detail was really professional and made me feel a valued guest of the Resort. All through my stay the staff could not have done anymore to enhance my stay. I will definitely be back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice Hotel, great views, friendly staff. Good food

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Stayed here for 5nights. When our flight home was cancelled we returned for an additional night, and were stayed in a room on the same floor we were on for our original stay. Very welcoming people & really nice facilities. You must visit the Spa too !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Lovely comfortable hotel. Excellent attentive and courteous staff. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent hotel with brilliant sea views

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, really helpful staff, good value food and brilliant view of the sea.
Cons: Signage in the lower levels to the pool areas.
Location: Great location (see above), definitely worth getting the cable car up to the Tropical Gardens and worth doing one of the island tours for a day.
The staff at the hotel were really very helpful right from check in. Special mention must go to Tatiana, the guest services lady who had brilliant knowledge of the island and the best places to go. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and very clean and the seating on the balcony was wonderful for watching the waves. The hotel was a bit of a labyrinth below the second floor where the pools and spa are and there needs to be better signage. The indoor pool felt like it had seen better days and was not all that welcoming. The food was very good although it took a little while to get used to the staff clearing the plates away so quick....sometimes whilst we were finishing the last mouthfuls of food! Towards the end of our stay there were some waiters who asked if we had finished before taking the plate and that was much better....everyone should aim to do that. The buffets were varied and all in all offered good value for money. I would certainly recommend this hotel whether looking for a lazy holiday by the pool or a more active one sightseeing. It is easy to get into the main town with bus stops right outside the hotel and they are the easiest and cheapest way to get around. It costs under 2 Euros for some way bus ticket. If you can cope with the hills it is a 20 minute walk to town. All in all, great value, really clean, staff were friendly and helpful and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Hotel is very high quality and in a good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, comfortably stylish option

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The hotel is clean and pleasant, in a good location within walkable distance of the town of Funchal. There are are three pools, a spa and lots of poolside areas. Rooms are well sized, big beds, plenty of storage, decent bathroom. Food OK as buffets go - not a huge selection but reasonably well done, though perhaps not great for vegetarians. Staff very helpful and polite and it seems very well run. I would go back and considered it good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A few minor improvements could make it a real 5*

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location ! The bar staff were great.
Cons: Bathrooms need some attention and some of the staff at reception were not always as welcoming as they could be. First impressions are SO important!
Location: Recommendations - Reid's palace for tea. Shopping at the Forum. Ritz in town for lunch. The cable car up to Monte is a must as is a tour of inland.
Beautiful hotel in an amazing location. While the general facilities are incredible, some of the areas are starting to look a bit tired. In particular, the bathroom needs an upgrade in order for a proper 5* rating - towels, shower and lighting would be the first place to start.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Pillow (which was like a bolster) on bed were rather solid. Pool toilets were smelly at times,
Location: 20 min walk into town and harbour area.
Lovely hotel. We were upgraded to a sea-view bedroom which was very nice. The hotel was always kept clean, although pool toilets could of been better. Choice of meals were pretty good. My favourite being the Mama Mia Italian restaurant. There was an Irish bar mentioned in the hotel guide. But this is no longer part of the hotel. It is now just across the road. We had drinks upgrade package which gave you unlimited wine, beer, water or soft drinks with evening meal in any of the restaurants. Red wine was very Dry but the Rose was drinkable. Beer O K. Overall had a good stay and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on-Trent UK

Lovely hotel within walking distance of centre

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and tidy in the communal area's, staff very pleasant and happy to help if needed. Food very good, sea view room lovely.
Cons: From our point of view, nothing
Location: Within walking distance of city centre, close to a couple of bars and other restaurants if needed. Next to sea
Stayed last week in March, very impressed with hotel. Staff very friendly and accommodating, food excellent, something to please all tastes. Enjoyed the "dine around", Mamma Mia restaurant very good. Overall had an excellent holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessica from Brasil

Excelente

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
A estadia foi ótima... Gostaríamos de ter ficado mais tempo. Hotel novo e impecável.