Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

The only place to stay in this small town.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to highway, nice lobby
Cons: Owners need to make the most basic upgrades in quality of materials and expected amenities.
Location: Madelia, Minnesota...population 2308. A lovely little town, but literally nothing to do. Only one restaurant open, plus a Subway sandwich shop.
The main desk clerk seemed bored by it all, not really welcoming to us, nor was she forthcoming with answers to our questions or requests. The wifi didn't work in our room. The beds were not too comfortable. The bathroom and sink area lighting was dim, at best. We had poor quality towels. Our window had a broken seal resulting in a "fogged" window that we could not see out of. The breakfast bar did not offer any cereals, and there were very few other choices. The front sidewalk was uneven, as part of it had sunk. Instead of fixing the sidewalk, the owners had just painted "watch your step" on the walk. It just seemed that the innkeepers skimped in every single area they could. Even at the reduced rate from Expedia, we did not feel that our experience was positive at all. But it was the only place in town to stay, so there we were.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Horrible experience. They came in at a reasonable rate and then dinged us with uncharged for everything under the sun. 99.00 room ended up costing us 160.00. The counter person kept saying "I am sorry, but I have no control over this. Turns out she was the manager. I would stay away from this place under all circumstances
3 out of 5
by traveler from Chicago, Il

The only game in town

Posted Feb 23, 2014
This is literally the only hotel in town. Unfortunately it seemed very understaffed which resulted in the room not being very clean and the breakfast area a mess. Add to that the fact that much of the food had expired and you'll understand why I only gave it three stars. It's adequate, but not a hotel I would choose to stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Great get away and pleasant stay. Loved the pool for the grandkids and us. Good breakfast each morning. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So-so but clean

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Many nice, homey features of AmericInn still visible
Cons: Customer service training for staff
Late arrival and was dark. Did not have any visable signage indicating that it was Our hotel. Night staff was very accommodating. Room was quite spacious with a King bed. Bed was quite firm and pillows lumpy and hard. There was an abundance Of towels and hand towels- but no washcloths. At the morning breakfast area, which Was quite nice,when we addressed the fact that the supplies for the waffle maker needed Attention we would recommend that the staff "just fix it" rather than grouse that it was Someone else's job. customer satisfaction-we could live with a so-so sleep but open Disregard for a customer request will likely result in not returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from fort collins, co

Great hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2011
Evening desk clerk Megan was great! Very friendly and knowledgeable about commujnity and where to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Willmar MN

Nice and quiet

Posted Apr 5, 2011
Was a nice place to stay. Small town but has everything needed in a hurry. Close to Mankato. Small town hotel so it was nice and quiet, no people running down hallways. Whirlpool is a good size for 2 but could have been a bit larger. Breakfast was not so good but thats all hotels with make your own waffles and such. Overall was a good experience, I would go back