Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tiffanyfrom Janesville

Disappointed

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel services was dry and they were confused about how to answer people's questions. The complimentary breakfast was not consistent and the woman preparing made no attempts to prepare more. The hotel is also getting ready for the remodeling process so they were giving away old furniture and was handled unprofessional and disturbing for guest trying to leave
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Bill W, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm very sorry that you did not receive the friendly and professional service that we have become well-known for. Indeed, we are about to begin a full renovation and we've been doing our best to ensure that this early stage does not impact our guests' stays; I will follow up with the team handling this to ensure that other guests do not have a similar experience, and I appreciate your calling it to our attention. Please be assured that what you experienced is not our standard and I hope you will consider visiting us again when your travels bring you back to Madison. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ted

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James E.from Great Falls, MT

Quaint and Comfy

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the genteel atmosphere, Impressionist art prints and great location of the Dahlmann during our recent visit to Madison campus. We stayed over a holiday when occupancy was low, so the bar service from 5-9pm and dessert from 9-10pm was not available (15% off price was adequate compensation, I thought). The staff was very welcoming, professional and offered to make up complimentary appetizers even though bar was closed and we were only clients in sight. My daughter and I enjoyed playing checkers in welcoming atmosphere of the bar/lounge. The morning staff also helped us get most of the complimentary breakfast even though we had to leave an hour before the weekend breakfast time officially started. A little noise from hallway after bar time was only negative experience. I will stay there again--next time we'll tackle the game of Clue or Risk that lives by the TV in the lounge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Bill W, Hotel Management
I appreciate your taking the time to share the details of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere of the hotel. I'm sorry though, that our bar was not open for you to fully enjoy but appreciate your compliments our staff's service in helping you make a fun evening of checkers and appetizers! I've passed along your additional compliments regarding our breakfast staff and they were sincerely appreciated. I thank you for planning to stay with us next time, and look forward to your visit. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice neighborhood

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
TV did not work properly, dirty towels left in room and toilet was dirty. Hotel staff was great and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Bill W, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and concerns. While I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I'm very disappointed that there were issues regarding both maintenance and housekeeping in your room. These type of issues are definitely not our standard, and I've asked our team to look into what happened. I sincerely hope you will consider visiting us again next time so that we can regain your trust in our hotel. Thank you. Bill Wellman General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here because we were going to a Men's Basketball game at the Kohl Center, ended up being about a 10min walk and we were there. Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lolita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gillianfrom Neenah, WI

Great location! Great room! Great breakfast!

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were extremely friendly. I loved the location of the hotel, and our room was exactly what we were expecting. The hotel was way more beautiful than we thought, and we loved the evening appetizers! The complimentary breakfast was great as well. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bethfrom California

Great for visiting kids at UWisc

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would stay again, not 5 star but comfortable and great location for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randyfrom Mpls, MN

A Good Experience

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for Gopher/Wisconsin football game; it was a bit of a walk to the stadium but we appreciated the proximity to the capitol and restaurants afterward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eileenfrom Hastings

Will be back!

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome location for university events. Room was small but clean and quiet. Breakfast was excellent and had a variety if choices. Staff very helpful!