Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prairie du Chien, WI

Nice hotel near our destination for the next day.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The price and the location is what I liked most about the hotel.
Cons: Having a coffee pot in the rooms would be a great improvement. along with having softer beds.
Location: Location was only 15 mins from our destination. We had restaurants within walking distance for my roommates.
The room itself was fine. The bed and pillows were a little too hard. I would have loved to have had a coffee machine in the room without having to go out to the lobby area. I am disabled and it was hard for me to walk that distance all the time to get coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Room smelled awful & bed was like sleeping on box springs.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Unclean.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The shower was good.
Cons: The floor looked dirty.
Location: Convenient for shopping and visiting family.
I stayed two nights. It was a place to sleep, shower, shave, and change clothes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roadstar Inn

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: I was able to sleep during the day when no one was around.
Cons: Everything
Location: I was within a few miles of UW.
I was unable to sleep due to the loudness of the guests inside and outside the hotel. It says no smoking but as I walked down the hall on the first floor it smelled completely like cigarettes. Everything was old. The curtain didn't close completely. The room smelled. The refrigerator and AC were loud.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Not worth the cheaper price.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing. After typing my comments below and being able to put only 1 sentence, you are telling reviewers you don't want feedback!
Cons: Everything - from new door keys (not the old key but the card version) to replacing carpet, to a hair blower (every motel has one), to more lighting.
Location: I had no desire to go out after dark in that neighborhood, even though it was across the highway from a large mall.
I decided not to stay at the location of my conference because of cost and found the Road Star in to be close without having far to travel late at night or early in the morning. What I didn't expect was the condition of the room, i.e, carpet badly soiled; minimal lighting and electrical outlets. The television was of no value because I could not find local stations. When I called the office to set a wake up call for the second morning (at 9:30 p.m.) there was no answer. When I was awoken to loud music and talking outside my window sometime after 1:00 am. and saw a car with open doors and people standing around it I called the office again. There was no one there. By the time I hung up the phone and decided to call 9-1-1, they left - probably because they saw my curtain move (I had not turned on a light but they were right there across the parking lot from my window and looking in my direction). It is true - you get what you pay for. Reading below - does this constitute 'insults'?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brunswick, Maine

Safe, secure, basic hotel with great staff

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, simple, orderly.
Cons: Noise of idling trucks can't be controlled, but location next to the Beltline makes traffic a known factor.
Location: Location handy to West Towne Mall, entrance to Beltline, plenty of casual dining. Close to BrightStar Assisted Living which was the reason for trip.
Professional and courteous staff accommodated request for a second floor room, provided a hair dryer when asked, and dealt effectively with the reservation through Expedia. I was really impressed by the presence of a security officer patrolling the floor in the evening. He was attentive to who was on the floor and whether they were a guest or not. Impressed by value for the cost. I made a reservation right away for next month.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Desperate

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: A roof over my head. The mattress was firm but comfortable.
Cons: I've stayed at worse.
Location: It is immediately off the Madison beltline. Walmart and Sam's Club is across the road, Westown shopping center is just to the north.
It was Homecoming and all the other motels were booked solid. The good news: the desk clerk was helpful, and sheets and towels were fresh. Otherwise, the Road Star can be described as "distressed property" (lumps under the carpet, torn lampshades) but the plumbing worked fine with great hot water. I unplugged the noisy frig. and there was a microwave in the room. For breakfast they had juice, coffee, a variety of donuts, bagels and cream cheese. A god start for the day. You get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
It was a pleasant stay. I would recommend it to everyone
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Old facility but clean

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: If you need a hair dryer -just ask-they have them as well as a microwave which was in the room and unexpected.
Cons: Did not like eating with the cleaning help in the eating area or competing for space to prepare anything in that area. Its just not good to do that.
Everything was clean but just not appealing ie the bathroom was in need of proper repair around the tub. All of the pillows were hard as rocks. For what was needed - it did the job just for us passing through. The food and coffee was not good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Nice hotel close to freeways and reasonably priced

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Proximity to freeways, pleasant staff and good wireless internet.
Cons: General upgrade, particularly the carpets no curtains
Location: Not very far from downtown Madison with several resturant and shopping
No surprises, every thing as was expected. The room was spacious and quite. The breakfast was more than what we expected, very good. The hotel needs general upgrade particularly the carpet and curtains. We recommend it for those who are looking for a cost effective room.proximity to free ways and pleasant staff.