Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Lobby and location
Cons: exercise facility
Location: great locations downtown
The lobby lovely renovation...the staff very good but the exercise room is poor...no exercise machines other than a pulley and hand weights...only one old tired upright bike no recumbent exercise bike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; fantastic staff

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff; the hotel restaurant was amazingly good; the location was great; the work-out facility was very large.
Cons: The ironing board needed to be replaced.
I was visting for business; but I would definitely return for fun as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Stayed for one night. Very enjoyable experience. Lots of things to do. Great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fantastic!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Newly Remodeled and looks fantastic Very Comfortable place in the city.
Cons: Elevators were super busy Friday and Saturday.
Location: Restaurants Galore!!! We had lunch at Old Fashion and was delicious... Dinner at a great place called Hawks bar and Grill.
Stayed at this newly remodeled hotel downtown Madison. Starbucks located right off the lobby. Staff was fantastic and very helpful. We were there the weekend of High School Basketball State Tournament so it was super busy. Close walking distance to everything near State street and overlooks the capital. Near Lake Mendota and Lake Monona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
It is a really nice hotel. If they paid attention to details it would be an excellent hotel. We had a good, comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Appleton

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: noise, cleanliness
Location: Close to State Street, Capital
I was staying there for a special event that required me to get some sleep and get up early. I could hear people in the halls until 4 in the morning. The hotel staff did nothing about it. There response was "oh well." Also upon checking in the room had cereal on the floor from previous guest and toilet was clogged. I was very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Madison

Posted Mar 9, 2015
We stayed on the Governor's club level which offers breakfast and snacks throughout the day. A worthwhile upgrade in my opinion. In the heart of downtown, steps away from Capitol, State Street and farmers market. Large clean rooms. Comfortable beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Governor's Club had us fooled...

Posted Mar 9, 2015
My friend and I planned a trip to Madison to get away from Chicago and enjoy this city. This hotel was not what we were sold. Our Governor's club room was an absolute joke. To admit that we paid over $200/night is embarrassing. Though the bed was comfortable, that was it. The room was tiny. The bathroom only had a shower. Oh, the towels reeks of raw chicken. Yes, raw chicken. We asked for new towels and they smelt worse than the first ones. The lounge had a strong gin and tonic. Breakfast was yogurt, scrambled eggs and Orange juice. For this amount of money, I would not stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISY!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
First of all, the location is fantastic. Convenient to restaurants and shopping. The building has been updated and the staff was very nice. This would have been a wonderful place to stay except that it's incredibly noisy. Both nights of our stay, we could hear perfectly the conversation in the next room. We turned on the fan, hoping that would drown out the noise, but then they started yelling. Also, there are three elevators to service 12 floors. We inevitably had to let 1-2 cars go by before there was enough room on the elevator for us. We were visiting our daughter, who attends UW-Madison, and this hotel is a few short blocks from where she lives. I would love to make this our go-to hotel when we visit, but this stay has left a bad impression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Madison Concourse is always a pleasure.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Location, rooms, beds, lobby, underground parking, Starbucks in the lobby.
Cons: The entrance to the parking garage.
My family and I have been staying at the Concourse for 10 years and have always had a great experience. The rooms are nicely appointed with the most awesome, comfortable beds. The location is the best being by the Capitol and right on State Street. You can spend a day on State Street, shopping and eating then go back to your comfy room and totally relax. There are so many places to eat very near the hotel that making a decision on one is difficult. The room rates are very reasonably priced and often less than a chain motel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Madison.