Ratings based on 1,034 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
great location , clean room , staff ok ,can not beat it for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The hotel location is very good. Many places are close. The breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Meh

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Close to Penn Station. Friendly staff.
Cons: Cleanliness. Quite air unit.
Rooms could be cleaner - the carpet wasn't vacuumed. The heating unit was SO loud I had to turn it off to sleep. Beds were too soft. Selected hotel due to convenience of free breakfast and location to Penn Station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location OK Stay

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location primarily
Cons: Appearance and setup of lobby
Location: Very close to Madison Square Garden
We needed a place close to Madison Square Garden because of a concert we were attending. This hotel was within a block and a half, clean and comfortable, so it fit the bill. Overall, the appearance of the hotel is a bit dumpy -- the lobby is quite small and has a transient look to it so it was not inspiring. But everyone was very nice to us, the room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at a great price

Posted Jan 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable and clean!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Awful will never stay there again between the staff the rooms were tiny and no parking and more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Johnson City, TN.

A Winner!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Everything but the lobby which is small and funcitonal but who stays at an hotel in NY for the lobby?
Cons: Maybe new Lobby furniture but that's about it
Location: well the ACE subways are right at the corner and you are one block from MSG and all the subways. You are across the street from Macy's
I was there 5 nights and from the moment I entered until I left 5 nights later, this was a flawless stay. I used to live in NY so I don't need guidance but I sure need to feel respected and welcomed and I got that and more. A great breakfast eery morning, FREE INTERNET THAT IS FAST (I no longer will stay at a hotel that charges for internet) and a friendly staff and cleaning help Room is huge with a micro wave and a fridge and there are Starbucks in both corners and two Dunkin' Donuts on 8th ave. You are also right at a subway stop for the ACE and you could walk a block and access all of the lines. As I left on sunday I thought, I'm coming back here and bringing my family. This is a NY steal Patrick Cronin Professor East Tennessee State University
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a quick overnight.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location was key to my trip.
Cons: Internet service.
Location: 1.5 block walk to Penn Station
Its an ok place, very convenient to Penn Station & mid-town, only complaint was that their internet service didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location, back room are quiet.
Cons: The fans in the bathroom are too loud. They need to be on a dedicated switch not tied into the light. Additional seating for breakfast.
Location: Macy's, Penn Station, Madison Sq. Gardens. Empire State Building
I stay at this hotel because it is centrally located for my business appointment. great especially in the winter. Priced very competitively.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington, WV

Close to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location. Very quiet. Staff.
Cons: Hotel furnishings and carpets are looking a bit aged. Nothing was dirty or broken, just looking a bit run down.
Location: Subway stations at both ends of street. Macy's one block away. Abundance of restaurants. Madison Square Garden two blocks away. Easy walk to show.
The Wingate's staff was extremely nice and helpful. Location made it easy to walk to subway, Penn Station, and Macy's.