Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Ambience, facilities.
Location: Location excellent
Upgraded to a very nice suite - very well appointed and great view over Retiro Park. Service throughout hotel exemplary in warmth and efficiency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ramon from Houston, Texas

Amazing Vacation!

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The hotel was perfectly located near the Prado Museum and Retiro Park. One couldnt ask for a more perfect place to stay.
Cons: Maybe the WIFI could be free.
Location: The first thing we did was visit the Prado Museum.
My wife and I had the most wonderful vacation in Madrid. We stayed in the Palacio Del Retiro and it was everything I imagined. The staff and the front desk were a wonderful crew. Yves, was most informant on where we should go eat and visit. I thank Yves for all his help without him we would have been lost!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Great hotel, close to everything one would want to see in Madrid and yet just a bit off the beaten tourist track. Lovely renovated rooms with everything one would need -- even a razor and toothbrush if you forgot them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John McP from EDINBURGH

Great hotel in a good location. V. helpful staff.

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a good looking hotel with nice rooms and in a very central location. Across from a lovely park and close to Madrid's main museums and many other attractions. The staff were very helpful, particularly after my wife had her phone stolen in a bar...advising on contacting the police etc. Don't pay for the breakfast though. Good though it is...there is an excellent cafe around the corner called Harina which does a good, wholesome breakfast for less than half the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great location and service

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Close to museums and serrano shops, as well as park. Fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by FloGod from Michigan, USA

quiet boutique place to stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
My family enjoyed its stay at the AC Palacio Del Retiro. Very nice boutique hotel located in a quiet area of Madrid across the street from an amazing park. Rooms were very nice and quite large, but not overly plush. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful! I liked this hotel because it is smaller and quiet, yet quite close to most places we wanted to visit. Park across street was great for walks / jogging, and Prado Museum was just around the corner. The tour buses had a route out front, and the plaza could be walked to in 15 minutes. Wi Fi access was a bit weak. If you want to be in a busier environment, this is not your hotel. If you enjoy quiet, you will enjoy this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
It didn't make sense to me that they tried to charge me 85 euros per night for an extra bed for my grandson. No other hotel in Spain charged.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building; disappointing service.

Posted May 21, 2013
It did not rise to the level of a 5 star hotel. It was unseasonably cold when we were in Madrid. We asked for extra blankets. It took them 3 phone calls and 1 1/2 hours to get them to us. It took a long time to get our bags as well. Just didn't operate like a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Pride of Madrid

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palacio Retiro is the most pleasant, well situated, friendly and responsive hotel I can remember staying with in fifty years