Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The hotel was very close to pretty much everything. The downside of it was the lack of cleanness and the condition of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, basic facilities

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is fantastic, the room was basic but serviceable, but the walls are very thin and it's pretty noisy. Our room was right across from the elevator and stairs, and we could hear people going up and down and talking most of the time. This was really the only drawback--tough to get a good night's sleep.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

unpleasant experience

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
While my stay, the construction workers made loud noises. You can't get a nice rest in this environment
2 out of 5
by jl from lima

Well located

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Too packed and looks old and elevators were not in good conditions
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ryan from Arizona

Great location, comfortable room

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located near many major tourist sites, and public transportation via subway and bus is very convenient. The hotel is older, but the staff accommodated us very well, and we were pleasantly surprised that the room had a kitchenette, with pots, pans, plates and utensils. There is a market and fruit stand a block away. On the negative side, internet service costs extra.
2 out of 5
by Tony

Partido de football

Posted Mar 24, 2014
No hot water, no air conditioning,too small elevator, deficient illumination, ugly bathroom , and many others bad things
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Hal from Havana

Great possibilities but disappointing realities.

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: See above.
Location: Theatre abounds in this part of the city as do restaurants, although the latter tend to be of the more expensive type.
This apartment hotel is right across from the National Library of Spain, less than one street away from the lovely Plaza Colón, right in the centre of this wonderful city. It is only metres away from the key artery of the Castellana which cuts Madrid north to south in its very middle. It is thus in an admirable situation for those who are looking for a centrally located hotel. In addition, its prices are moderate and rare in such a location. However, what its management have done with those advantages is troubling. The rooms look and feel old, the hot water only comes on after truly long periods of waiting, the staff are often friendly and helpful but seem to change constantly and give answers to questions about service which are often merely wrong or contradicted by other members of that same staff. There is poor telephone service, inefficient key handling and not even the most basic amenities at times, such as an easy method of leaving luggage, even of the smallest kind, in short breaks between stays. While Wi-Fi is officially available it is not so throughout the hotel, works only sporadically, and is expensive. I hope these thoughts will help the management improve things and take true advantage of location and other opportunities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hugo Donan from Florida, USA

GOOD Location & Price... Great Neighborhood...

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good overall experience. You get what you pay for. Not expensive. Not a bad deal after all. I would stay at the property again if I needed to. If on a tight budget, you can not go wrong with the Apartamentos Recoletos option, do not expect glamour and/or extreme comfort..., for that, pay the rates of a 4 or a 5 star hotel...; the place is simple, old fashioned, traditional, and classic; an old building and an old infrastructure; nothing wrong with that.... the pictures you see of the property prior to booking it speak for themselves. I consider it a good bargain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethan from Hereford

Bit basic but good location.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The location is fantastic!
Cons: The furniture and the bathroom suite could be replaced. The air conditioning control unit and electrics could look tidier.
Location: The location is fab-near Retiro Park, Colon Metro station and the trendy Salamanca.
The lifts were quite small and the furniture a bit dated. Also the room was boiling in the evening but the air conditioning helped. Also, due to its brilliant location, there was quite a bit of street noise at night.