Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clara, CA, USA

If everyone knew....

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Fulfills the owners priorities: good coffee, comfortable bed, and great shower! Fulfills guest priorities: clean, safe, and quiet.
Cons: They could provide a bigger trash can or maybe two in the room. And they could provide a box of kleenex.
Location: The location is convenient to the "Big 3" art museums in Madrid. The area seems a bit "seedy" but there is a security door & I never felt threatened
Artrip is a small 17 room hotel that is reasonably priced and in a good location to visit the art museums or take the Metro. The staff members are friendly, efficient, and knowledgable.. We arrived before check-in time and were warmly greeted, offered coffee, and wi-fi access. Our luggage stored, we went to explore the city and upon return our room was ready. The room was cool... the white walls and glass dividers gave off a modern vibe. My friend and I loved the two sinks in our room. counter space to put your toiletries, hooks in the shower area for your towel (the shower gel has a nice scent. I could have stayed in the shower forever if it were not for the even more comfortable bed and luscious bedding. I hope the owner will maintain the quality he has established. I'd return for another stay, but am worried too many people will find out about this gem in Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

great small hotel so-so neighborhood

Posted May 18, 2015
I spent 3 nights at this hotel. Hotel staff was exceptional. Whine I mentioned that it was my birthday they sent up a bottle of wine! The hotel is near the museums which is great but the surrounding neighborhood is iffy. I did not feel comfortable walking around alone at night but the hotel itself is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, U.K.

Punches above its weight!

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Location. Staff. Room.
Stayed for 3 nights following excellent reviews. In a regenerated neighbourhood full of character and two minutes from Lavapiės metro station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mequon, WI USA

Beautiful hotel in a great neighborhood!

Posted May 8, 2015
Just returned from Madrid after an 8 day trip. We were 3 nights in Madrid, 3 in Barcelona and 1 last night in Madrid. Unfortunately, we only stayed at this hotel on our last night in Madrid. Beautiful, 17 room hotel in a great neighborhood. Miguel the owner was fantastic. The rooms were beautiful, the best of our whole trip for 1/2 the price. It's located in a great neighborhood, close to Metro. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel. First class!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent well renovated boutique hotel

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel was located to many attractions as well as the train station. Very walkable to many cafes and pubs nearby.
Cons: The hotel wifi service although free was a little sporadic. As well, there could be some hooks added to hang the bath towels for drying.
The hotel accomodations were extremely well renovated and the location was excellent. The breakfast was well priced and good offerings. The only issue we encountered was the weak wifi which kept cutting out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adirondacks, NY

modernized with retention of old walls.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Modernized, clean, friendly staff, great location
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Easy to walk to area plazas and historic places
Only one night. Delightful. Walked around Madrid from hotel. 3 of us in one room make it economical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Five stars!! A fabulous stay.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Staff helpfulness, location, room layout.
Location: The Artrip's location is perfectly placed for bar and restaurants or simply walking and exploring. A metro station is less than five mins walk away.
This is truly one of the best hotels I've stayed at on so many levels. What it doesn't have in terms of typical hotel facilities, ie. gym, pool, bar it more than makes up for in service, cleanliness and location. Who needs a bar in the hotel anyway when there are so many outside, quite literally at your doorstep. The room was clean, modern and spacious, the level of service was second to none. I applaud Miguel, James and Sarah for their warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness. The two star rating of this hotel is seriously underrated. Bravo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Great staff, nice breakfasts. We had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Well located. Clean and simple. Livelly neighborhood. Will come back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The location of the hotel is good. Most of the tourist attraction points are within 30-minute walk. The breakfast is excellent.
Cons: Nil
Location: Visiting the Palace and Museums is a great experience.
The location of the hotel is near the train station which is about 10-minute walk. The room is clean and the staff are friendly. The breakfast is very good with lots of choices. I will highly recommend this hotel.