Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Its central position
Cons: Nothing in my opinion
Location: Shops and restaurants nearby. also all the sights. e.g The palace and cathedrals.
Great position, near to all amenities ,shops restaurants , etc. would recommend .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

In the center of everything

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: It was more than adequate. The hair dryer works well and the beds are comfortable. I like the balcony.
Cons: The bathroom is nice, but small. If you don't work the shower doors correctly you practically step into the bidet which is a real waste of space.
Location: Cafes/shopping everywhere; 15 min walk to the Prado and Naval museums. Longer to the Sorolla museum, but so worth it.
I stayed at Carlos V in 2006, and decided to stay there again because I was familiar with the area and how to get everywhere from that location. The bed is comfortable, and the TV gets at least 2 English channels whereas some hotel TVs get all Spanish stations. It also received the station that gets the futbol games, a real plus during World Cup when we weren't watching from the numerous bars/cafes. I knew that Carlos V is located in a noisy location, so I bought earplugs which solved that problem. They arranged for the shuttle to take us to the airport (12 euros each) which was very convenient. Although I am not dissatisfied, if I ever visit Madrid again, I think I will opt to stay in Recolectos area or near the Prado. It seems that Puerta del Sol has gotten rougher and dirtier since my last visit. I was disappointed that they no longer serve serrano or iberico ham for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is ok but has room for improvement

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: It is very well located, rooms are confortable
Cons: Better services for foreing visitors
It should have a proper restaurant, tv sets are very small and out of date. The hotel should facilitate visitors from other parts of the world electrical adapters to reduce from 220 vs to 110.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location at Madrid's center

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Great location to near by places to shop or eat. Also very close to metro and rail stations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2014
first room was noisy but they immediately moved us to a much quieter room the staff was friendly and helpful great location we walked all over the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Green traveller from UK

Central location ideal for visiting the sights

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value and comfortable hotel well placed for access to the city centre and the metro. Friendly helpful service and good choice for breakfast. Loved the balcony overlooking the street and the feel of being in the heart of the city although this meant that there was some street noise. The bedroom and bathroom were relatively small but had all the necessary amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mark from england

Best location in Madrid

Posted May 29, 2014
Superb location, 50 metres from Calle Mayor, main central street but in quiet side street. Stay on 5th floor, rooms have great balconies open to sun with motorized shades. Staff all helpful. very minor downside was that rooms didn't have tea/coffee facility, but you can get by calling reception....breakfast good, the usual mix of english/continental...perhaps small range and was a buffet rather than cooked to order. Good high ceilings, quality fitings. One item to improve, the toilet on 1st floor (off the breakfast area) has a timed light that lasts 30 seconds but no natural light....so you'll be in the dark when it's most inconvienient!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lulu from london

Conveniently located

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor, general tiredness of reception area
Location: Fantastic location.
Friendly, helpful staff and clean room, but in need of a facelift. Decor a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DONALDO from FORT LAUDERDALE,FL

i enjoy it

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: close to
it was amaizing..CLOSE TO EVERYWHERE....AND MADRID IS A BEAUTHIFULL CITY AT ANY TIME.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sg from uk

great location

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked room with terrace whuch is located on 5th floor. Good sized room, bathroom is excellent and the terrace is about half the size of the room and overlooks the street but the air conditioning works but wasca bit fiddly to get it on the right setting and although therecare no tea and coffee facilities you can request a coffee tray free of charge. We thought the in room safe was brokrn but you rent the lock from reception. The cons are there only 2 drawers and the wifi is very poor. The breskfast us good and thechitel is located very aclargecdepsrtmrnt store which has a supermarket in the basement. Andvit onky takes 3 - 4 mins to walk to Callao metro station.