Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Lovely hotel, staff could not have done more for me! Breakfast was good quality and good value. The room was clean and well maintained. Yes the bathroom could have used a little love, this in no way put a dampner on my stay. Great location - as a single female traveller I felt safe at all times
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, below average hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Read the above.
To start with the only positive of this hotel would be the location. Based in the heart of Madrid city with a walking distance of about 5 minutes to Gran Via and Sol. The hotel room itself is very basic. The bed is uncomfortably hard with a thin bed sheet as a duvet. We requested for a duvet and we were provided with a blanket. We had to pay a deposit of £20.00 for the safe key. The safe is not a combination lock. There is no tea or coffee facility in the room. The toilet would randomly smell without even using it. The staff are rude. Avoid this hotel as there are many others around this location.
3 out of 5
by Brendan from Vancouver, BC

Faded Glory

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Interior spaces
This hotel is currently undergoing some sorely needed renovations. The room decor looks like it was last updated in the 90's and is looking worn and dated. Convenient location, but there are plenty of other nice hotels in the area that I would check out on my next visit.
1 out of 5
by David from Llandudno

The Worst Hotel In Madrid if not the World

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Get a manager who cares for his hotel and guests
Location: near to plaza Espania and pulic transport
Terrible.They have apparently acquired the adjacent building and annexed into one hotel.The room levels do not match which it very difficult to find find your room in the annex and route back to reception. Wifi is advertised but does not reach the rooms in the "annex" or at least in room 417 Warm breakfast is a joke Scrambled eggs and uncooked bacon were apparently laid out at &.30 and not changed or kept warm There were no facilities in the rooms or hotel to obtain tea or coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Indiana, USA

Nice hotel, conveniently located to enjoy Madrid.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
I spent a week at this hotel while vacationing with my mother and sister in Madrid. They did a good job at accommodating the 3 of us in a room that was spacious enough not to bump into each other. I highly recommend this hotel due to location, cleanness an their helpful, professional and friendly staff. My only complain is the lack of an elevator at the ground level; I am a petite female and lifting my suitcase up 2 flies of stars is a bit too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J. from Florida, USA

Madrid/Coloso

Posted May 10, 2014
It was a nice room, hard wood floors, granite countertops throughout, quiet, but not a view. However, I was not staying in the room long enough to look out the window. Convenient location, you can walk to almost every one of the most touristy places: Palacio Real, Gran Vía, Templo de Debod! Excellent!
1 out of 5
by Elisha from NM

Too hot to sleep!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The air conditioning was not working. We tried opening the window. There is no air flow to the inner rooms. Hard to explain... just stay somewhere eles. It was like a sauna. Awful. We only slept for 2 hours on and off. We won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you need a last minute hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The hotel is just OK. Location is decent. For the amount of money you pay for the room you would expect a little more. The outside and check in look really nice but the hotel layout is funky and the rooms are blah. Beds and bedding were crap, towels were like hand towels, the hairdryer was broken. All I am saying is I think you could probably get more for your money somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Madrid !

Posted Mar 13, 2014
El Coloso Hotel is in a great location to explore Madrid. As soon as I checked in the hotel front desk staff was very friendly. The room I was given was very clean. The only strange thing about this hotel is the elevator set up. You can either access it through the lobby , then get off on the first floor to get another elevator or you could simply get the elevator by exiting the hotel and using the side entrance facing the street. The Palacio Real and Museo Cerralbo are both within walking distance. If you want to visit the Prado, Reina Sofia , and Thyssen, you can take a short taxi ride to the Prado, then from there you can easily walk to the other two museums. I booked guided tours with Julia Travel and their office is a very short walk from the hotel, probably about 5 minutes. Also next to the hotel is a grocery store in case you want to buy snacks to have in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Sussex

Excellent hotel in city centre.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Quality of food and rooms.
Location: 5 Minute walk to cathedral and Palace. You can walk to anywhere in the city centre. Very close to restaurants and pubs.
Excellent hotel that was clean and friendly. Very good breakfast buffet.